We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”
Review of Ryokan Asunaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ryokan Asunaro
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Lovely ryokan in the heart of Takayama. Spacious Japanese-style rooms with small vestibule and bathroom. Spotlessly clean and very quiet. Kimonos are provided. Cozy small onsen. Possibility to choose Western or Japanese-style breakfast (book in advance!). Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    72
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
58
127
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at this ryokan with our 2yr old son and overall it was a pleasant experience. The staff was friendly and helped accomodate requests related to travelling with a little kid. Food was excellent and served in a traditional fashion. The onsite onsen is very convenient! It would be 5 stars if not for the price, which we found to be on the higher side.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pavel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Right from the moment we stepped into the ryokan with luggages in tow, there wasn't an inkling of typical Japanese hospitality. The owner, dressed in a formal business suit, was quick in hurrying us to our rooms, even stopping us midway through the hot soya bean tea they served to new guests. Unlike other ryokans, there was no bed-making performance every evening (the futons were laid out and table shifted to a corner already when we checked in). The heater in the room also takes hours to be warmed up - thank goodness it was springtime so temperaturs weren't dipping till ground zero.
The best thing they offer is the lovely public bath downstairs. With pretty wood furnishings and cosy ambience, we can easily be re-charged during the bath.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sams45
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I went to Japan in the Summer of 2010, and am now just getting around to reviews (i know). My friend and I had an awesome time in Takayama and we stayed at this ryokan for two nights. It was a really great place, and we enjoyed it. Definitely the best dinner we had compared to any of the other ryokans around japan we stayed at. I fully recommend this place.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sams45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We came to love Japanese hotels. This one was especially nice, the room was spacious, and the public bath really a great treat after a day's sightseeing. Check the web site for directions from the train station - it's not too far a far walk, near an old pagoda.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoviki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights at Ryokan Asunaro with my 12 year old daughter in April 2011, during the Spring Festival. It is a big guesthouse, with many rooms on each floor, but it was quiet and easy to relax in. Our room was large and comfortable, the staff were kind and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious! We also had a private dinner one night, which was superb. The onsen was very clean and great fun to use. There is also free wireless internet and 2 computers with free cable internet in the lobby area.
Asunaro is very easy to find and is about a 5 minute walk from the station, From the station, walk left along the main street. Turn right at the fourth street. Walk one block, turn left, and you're there. It then takes only a few minutes to walk into the main part of town.
We loved Takayama and staying in such a charming ryokan definitely contributed to our enjoyment. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumPlusOne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

I'm really surprised by the negative reviews for this ryokan. This was the nicest place I stayed in my trip to Japan. The room was spacious and light, the bathroom was fine, the staff were all friendly and helpful and the free internet in reception was a bonus (especially as there was a general election in the UK when I was there and I was trying to follow the results!). I had a traditional meal there one night, which was simply amazing. I am usually really picky about food, and I don't eat fish, so I was worried about what I might be given. Stupid me. I ate the most delicious beef I have ever tasted - if you'd said to me before I went that I would eat raw beef, I would have laughed, but I did, it was that good. The rest of the meal was great too, and it was fun (if slightly nerve-wracking) to have a lady watching what I was doing to make sure I didn't eat the wrong thing at the wrong time or use the wrong sauce! And did I mention the onsen? This was probably the least atmospheric of the three I used in Japan, but was clean and large and it was wonderful to get in it after the huge meal (well, not immediately after it!). Takayama itself was a really atmospheric place, very photogenic and great restaurants. I highly recommend both the ryokan and the town.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#8 of 174 in Takayama
753 reviews
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 174 in Takayama
515 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 174 in Takayama
440 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 174 in Takayama
488 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Ryokan Tanabe
Ryokan Tanabe
#4 of 174 in Takayama
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Asunaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Asunaro

Property: Ryokan Asunaro
Address: 2-96-2 Hatsudamachi, Takayama 506-0008, Gifu Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Asunaro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asunaro Inn is a traditional style building made of 200-year-old materials brought from the historic Echigo area of Niigata Prefecture. I welcome foreign tourists to my inn with our warm hospitality and homely atmosphere, and I would like them to learn about Japanese traditions, culture, and cuisine. Whenever you come to Takayama, please consider Asunaro Inn as your premier choice. Thank you very much. The building where the lobby is used to be an old landlord's house in the village on the mountain of Niigata prefecture and is built with thick Keyaki wood. This house was built without nails to withstand the high humidity and 4-5 meters of snow the area receives. Our lobby has a great reputation because it displays the consistency, simplicity, and serenity of the Japanese architecture style. We will preserve this cultural site. We are sure that all our guests will be pleased with the beauty of the old Japanese architecture. We promise you will feel relaxed and at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ryokan Asunaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Asunaro Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing