We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ryokan Tanabe
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Hoshokaku(Takayama)
$417
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
$265
$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Takayama Green Hotel(Takayama)
$354
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Ryokan Murayama(Takayama)(Great Value!)
$157
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Takayama Ouan(Takayama)
$172
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Wanosato(Takayama)
$553
$466
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hida Hotel Plaza(Takayama)
$278
$139
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
Okada Ryokan Warakutei(Takayama)(Great Value!)
$203
$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
$184
$94
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveler rating
332
163
32
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
163
32
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towntrain stationbreakfast and dinnermorning markethida beefwooden bathtwo nightsjapanese bathjapanese hospitalitysized roomtraditional stylemain sightssmall dishescoffee machinetraditional dinnerold ladytraditional experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 540 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Was not too difficult to find our Tanabe Ryokan.
A petite, hunched elderly woman by the name of Akiko (Tanabe) welcomed us so passionately, we felt like hugging her. She was so cheery, so full of positivity, she turned our weariness into readiness to explore Takayama. With God's blessings, we were there to absorb the beauty of sakura flowers which were just at the peak of their blooming stage. Refreshing. Breathtaking. Gentle. Calming.
Tanabe Ryokan is virtually at the center of the "resort" which boast easy access to the prefecture. Our 'serving lady' taught us how to wear the yukata before we headed downstairs to the onsen area. Unique experience as we had to bathe on a small stool stark before dipping into the pool. The water was really hot. I could feel my heart beating faster and there was an outdoor tub as well which felt better as the outside weather was cooler. Barely 10 mins, I got out and prepared myself for dinner!

Dinner was heavenly. Our table was filled to the brim. In fact, there were no space left to place our dessert. Our kaiseki dinner came with mixture of cold and hot dishes, 1 serving of Hida beef where we had to also grill it, 1 bowl of sashimi, soba noodles, chawanmushi, braised and grilled squid, chicken...let the pics do the talking!

Overall this is one place I will be back which give us great memories and experience Japanese stay. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was traveling with a friend in Japan, and we wanted to experience a traditional Ryokan and Onsen. Our travel agent suggested this place (and booked it, so I don't know how the prices range), and we were delighted to see the spacious rooms and excellent service during our stay. It was a quiet period, so we got the onsen areas to ourselves most of the time (curiously enough they switch the women's and men's areas in the morning and afternoon, so make sure you check what the sign says before entering ;-) ). Our room also had a private onsen.

The food was amazing, and I don't have the number for how many different dishes we were served. I don't think I will get used to the feeling of the extremely polite staff kneeling on the floor, making our beds and serving our food in the room, but it definitely was an amazing experience, which I'd recommend to anyone wanting to try out a traditional Japanese Ryokan.

The Ryokan is in the center of the city, with walking distance to everything, just two blocks away from one of the morning markets. Even though it's a very central location, Takayama is a small an quite town, so you wont be disturbed with traffic or noisy nightlife.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Tanabe for 2 nights.
Our room was on the second floor in the new wing of the ryokan.
We enjoyed the experience so much. I was worried about sleeping on the floor but the futon was definatly sufficient and the quilts are great! The rooms are Japanese style but have modern amenities, eg. New bathroom and A/C.
We also had the banquet dinner in the room 1 night and it seemed like quite traditional food, some of which I hadn't seen.
The owners are incredibly accommodating and with limited English still managed to make us feel very welcome and comfortable.
Wi-fi in the lobby only.
Amazing experience and we loved staying there.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_cedar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I loved this experience. We stayed for two nights. This was the perfect amount of time to tour the area and enjoy a Japanese Ryokan. We were in the new wing and the room had a small private garden and onsen.

It was so much fun sleeping on the futon and enjoying the meals served in our room. It is very romantic. The proprietor Ms Tanabe understands the sensibilities of foreign tourists and is a wonderful hostess. She has found a way to blend the traditional experience with some modern touches. Put it on your itinerary and enjoy. The area is also wonderful for dining and touring.

Room Tip: New wing and dinner maybe one night so you can enjoy a nearby restaurant as well. With limited bags a very easy walk from the train station.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOL305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were a bit nervous for this reservation, not knowing what to expect. We arrived early, but no worries, they ran up to us to grab our heavy bags and asked us to come back in an hour....perfect...allowed us to stretch and have a nice walk after our train ride.

1 Hour later we returned and were welcomed warmly. We had upgraded to a room with a private onsen just in case they had issues with my tattoo....they did not, so I would not worry about this and save the money as its easy to find the time to use the public onsen solo.

ROOM: Very traditional, simple, clean. It has no wow factor, but its obvious to everyone that this is how its suppose to look...traditional. The little sitting area was nice in the sun. The bathroom was very simple, just a typical bathroom, not much to comment on.

FOOD: Well, this is where the majority of your money is going. We opted for the dinner and breakfast. Its literally a 16 course dinner and 10 course breakfast... they lay it out in front of you all at once and leave for you to cook and enjoy it. The problem is, most of the food is too traditional for most haha. There were things like raw squid, assorted sashimi, weird salads, fish skin, etc. We had a tough time finishing most of it, but pushed through and did our best. The experience is whats its all about, and we enjoyed every second of it. The effort of the staff showed as well.

BED: Looks uncomfortable, but we slept great....very quiet and warm.

ONSEN: Its good, the 2 tubs outside fluctuate in temperature, at times going from lukewarm to scalding hot! The main pool area is a bit to shallow imo, would be awkward with more then 3 people in it.

LOBBY: The only reason I did not give them a 5/5 is because of the lounge. There is only one little corner to sit in. While we were there, one of the guests would always come here to smoke...so it pretty much ruined the area. Very hard to socialize here...never saw anyone! The complementary coffee though was great! There is a open stove tea room, but we never saw it in use and wondered what it was really used for.

Overall, I would recommend this ryokan if in the area. The town is easy to walk through in one day, and the location of this ryokan is convenient. Its a bit expensive, but the experience was worth it.

Room Tip: We had a room just off the main road and still did not hear a thing.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlechilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews