We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Takayama to experience traditional Japanese hospitality”
Review of Ryokan Tanabe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ryokan Tanabe
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed in ryokans before (traditional Japanese Inn) and this one is above the standards even for a ryokan. It is within easy walking distance from the train and bus station: 5-7 min, depending how fast you walk. The train and bus station are side-by-side. The front door of the ryokan is very discreet; I walked by initially and had to walk back 2 blocks because I had not started looking for it yet after leaving the train station.

I was greeted by the owner herself. Mrs Tanabe is a charming lady and makes you feel at home. Her way to say "I was expecting you" made me feel like a guest of honor, not just a passing tourist looking for a stop on his way to another stop. She knew of tour I had booked for the next day and reminded me that my private guide would be there at 8:30 to take me for a tour in town.

The staff took me to my room where I was served hot green tea and a Japanese sweet. Dinners are served in the room and are quite filling. Breakfasts were a bit more reasonable. The staff doesn't speak much English but will easily understand you if you use your hand a little bit.

There is free Wi-fi and a computer for the guests in the lobby. No internet access in the room because it would disturb your rest.

Highly recommended if you are in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ottawadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 517 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

All it takes is one impeccably groomed ryokan to surpass the standards of luxury hotel chains. Not a speck of dirt, gentle touches of Japanese design elements accompany you from the entrance right into your room, spring flavours of Japan introduced through exquisite dining and feminine colourful yukatas are available for my picky self. The best part comes when you visit their outdoor bath - chilly spring air runs pass your skin while you dip into 40 degree celsius spring water. That experience must be re-visited again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinnieMouseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed at this ryokan as part of a group of six last week and could find no fault with anything at this amazing place. The rooms, value for money, onsen facilities, food and location are second to none. The proprietor was the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered anywhere in Japan. Top marks from me and the rest of our group.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaschmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Well located about 7 mins walk from the station/bus terminal and about the same again to the old town, this is a lovely, well run traditional Japanese inn. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The small garden near the lounge area was snowed on while we were there and was charming to sit by. The meals are a highlight, we could not finish our dinner either night, every dish was delecious. Breakfast is a traditional Japanese meal with miso soup, rice, fish, vegetables etc as well as a small ham and lettuce salad - all fresh and tasty. The inn is very clean and warm and was a wonderful place to spend Christmas. A trip to Shiarakawago, about 50 mins by bus is a must.

Room Tip: All rooms have showers but the Japanese bath is communal. If you are a bit shy reserve a room with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gisabel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We've stayed in several Ryokans and this is amongst the best. It's a newly refurbished place v(2010 I'd guess) with en-suite facilities and modern. The location is great just 5 minutes from the station in the centre of Takayama near the markets. The onsens are mid-size and modern with shower facilities. Dinner was great, breakfast was nice, but more modest than some places we've stayed. Best of all were the hosts Aikko Tanabe and her husband who really couldn't have been any more welcoming and lovely.

I'd highly recommend this for a place to stay in Takayama.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nondom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We decided to stay an extra night in Takayama - we loved the fresh air and calmer pace of life after the coastal cities - and decided on the Tanabe Ryokan after inspecting it first. From the lovely old lady who proudly showed us the rooms to the beautiful Japanese garden adjoining the downstairs reading area it was just perfect. The room had all the traditional touches but also some modern conveniences like our own bathroom. Dinner, on the floor table in the room was an absolute highlight - I counted 13 dishes, all of them wonderful and many local specialties like strips of Hida beef and plum wine. Breakfast was okay, again about a dozen courses, but breakfast in Japan isn't an easy thing for Westerners!

Room Tip: Make sure you take the meal option for one night - it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DA_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Takayama is well worth vistiting and Tanabe Ryokan is a very good choice of where to stay. It is centrally located in town and an easy walk from the station. The room itself was functional and warm (important in January), though the bathroom facilities were a little dated. The food is a notable feature and we weren't dissapointed. It is served in the room and later, when it is cleared away, futons are laid out on the tatami mat floor. We found Tanabe to be well managed, clean, comfortable and afforded a good nights sleep.

There is a series of temples up on the hill beside town that are well worth seeing and you will find these along a well marked walking trail that weaves across the hill.

As a travel tip, the front of the first class train carriage has a glass partition to the driver's cabin and therefore affords a terrific view to the front, as well as the sides. The driver's choreographed hand movements are surprisingly entertaining too. The trip up valley from Nagoya is nice, but not as pretty as the train trip through the gorge running down to Toyama.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skiculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#11 of 187 in Takayama
836 reviews
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#15 of 187 in Takayama
557 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 187 in Takayama
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#2 of 187 in Takayama
540 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Ryokan Asunaro
Ryokan Asunaro
#3 of 187 in Takayama
277 reviews
Oyado Yamakyu
#4 of 187 in Takayama
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Tanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Tanabe

Address: 58 Aioi-cho, Takayama 506-0014, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Takayama
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
Price Range: $128 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryokan Tanabe 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, JAPANiCAN and Priceline so you can book your Ryokan Tanabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanabe Ryokan Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing