We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ryokan Seiryu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ryokan Seiryu
Ranked #47 of 173 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
“Lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We got a very warm welcome when we finally arrived. Staff is so friendly they try to help you as much as they can even though they can't speak english. Good location for morning market and old town. Everything is great except the onsen bath is too small and the room wall is too thin.

Room Tip: I'm not sure about another floor but i got the second floor. It located on the same floor as res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowkrabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
35
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

I guess I would recommend this place to others, but having said that, I would stay at another place if I go back to Takayama again. Not that this place was bad, just that it wasn't good enough that I couldn't imagine a better place. Its just OK! Not great, but not bad either. It is a modern Ryokan, not a traditional one, so its really just a Japanese style hotel. If you want the "quaint" ryokan experience this is not for you. Personally, I'd rather something a bit more traditional and "old world" Japanese.

The location was pretty good. Easy walk everywhere from train station to centre of town. Not easy to find, but thats often normal. The reception lounge was nothing special but who stays somehwere for its reception? The rooms were smallish, but not too small. They were clean and the toilet, whilst small, was also clean. There was no view in the room so it felt very much just a room. It had some form of character, but only in that it was Japanese style. We stayed in much better ryokan rooms that felt more special and had alot more character.

We didn't eat here, but the food that we saw being shuttled to other rooms looked and smelt fantastic!!! The staff were friendly and helpful. The staff spoke English well enough for us to get by too, but if you want the staff at your accommodation to be able to really communicate with you then probably stay somewhere else.

Conclusion: Nice place to stay (no regrests) but I would look around if I went back to Takayama. There is probbaly a nicer place. I suggest you look around, but if this place is the only one available then it's by no means a bad choice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
128 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

• Ryokan Seiryu in general feels very outdated and old, but in a tacky 80’s kind of way. The ugly foyer, old shabby lift & hallways are off putting, but once in the rooms themselves it’s not as bad.

• Rooms and bedding were quite dusty and dirty. Not cleaned to a satisfactory level.

• Walls are paper thin, you can hear conversation’s on either side of your room at night, not sure if this is normal in ryokan's in small towns but it sure has a communal feel to it.

• It's in a good location....once you find it. We were really stuck and couldn't find it until we came across an English speaking local who directed us. We'd walked past the alleyway numerous times already. It's not well signposted & isn't obvious on the exterior either.

• The staff do not speak a word of English which proved to be very frustrating, especially when checking out and trying to communicate that we’d already paid a deposit on the room. It was impossible! We just paid the given amount and hoped they got their calculations correct, which they did thankfully.

• The staff also did not understand us even when we spoke to them in Japanese. Perhaps our accent or pronunciation threw them off. We could not communicate with them at all, in most cases we just gave up trying and had to work things out ourselves.

• It’s not an authentic ryokan and is quite westernized, which could be a good thing or bad thing depending what you like. It’s good for those travelers who have never done ryokan before and aren’t quite prepared yet to take the full traditional ryokan yet. But for those wanting a proper ryokan experience, you won't get it here.

• In general it was very overpriced for what it was, definitely not good value and due to the language barrier I can't say the service was adequate.

  • Liked — Location (once we were able to find it)
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms, non-English speaking staff, outdated & very worn feel throughout ryokan
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

This place is not charming, not traditional and not worth the price. All interiors is in shabby condition. The toilett in our room had an odeur quite simular to how you would expect an old man to smell after not washing up for ten or twenty days.

The food we had was for the pice we paid the worst we had during three weeks travel in Japan.

The staf however are very nice and helpfull. But this will not compensate the fact that this Ryokan? past its prime for over twenty years ago.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Stinky toilet and uninspired food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank per-martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

The staff speaks very little english and although they provide an email address on their website, they will not reply it. The only way to book is to call them directly.

The Ryokan is not extremely luxurious, it's simple and comfortable. The private bathroom is very very small. The length is when u stretched out your arms and the width is about half that. But they still managed to fit in a bath tub, wash basin and western style toilet. It's kept very clean and new.

The hot bath is indoor-style and from the glass window, you can look out to a very small garden. In order to beat the crowd, I took the bath both times at around 10pm and I was alone. But by night fall, you wont be able to see the garden, just the reflection of the hot bath room.

It is a very accessible place, mid point from the Takayama station and major sight seeing areas. But on both nights, I was woken up by cars driving by at about 3am in the moring.

I met a Hongkonger tourist while I was in Takayama Jinya. Her Ryokan sounded more luxurious w an outdoor hot bath and the price is not that much different. It is however not as accessible as Seiryu but she said the boss will pick the guests from the Takayama Station.

I can't say that I was wowed by my Ryokan experience in Seiryu but I dont have much to complain as well. Like I said, it is a simple, comfortable and conveniently located Ryokan.

  • Liked — Near the Takayama Station and major sight seeing areas
  • Disliked — Perhaps I would really like to have an outdoor hot bath instead.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank esprit2die4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2008

This accommodation was in easy reach to the JR and bus stop and all the main attractions. As it is traditional Japanese accommodation the futon only comes out at night. The staff were very friendly and it was a comfortable place to stay. Just make sure to put out the do not disturb sign if you don’t want people walking into your room. We had this happen a couple times by staff wanting to provide new sheets etc. I would recommend staying here. They also provide breakfast and dinner however there are some very good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zagoogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2008

• Very lovely Ryokan about 10-15 mins straight walk from JR Takayama station
• Instant welcome from staff, english speaking
• Green tea served in your large room, well heated
• Dinner and breakfast excellent and recommended
• Has a private bath and shower
• Location in a a lovely town

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank innit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#10 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hoshokaku
Hoshokaku
#21 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Ryokan Asunaro
Ryokan Asunaro
#5 of 173 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no yume
Oyado Koto no yume
#3 of 173 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Ryokan Tanabe
Ryokan Tanabe
#4 of 173 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Hodakaso Yamanoiori
#28 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Seiryu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Seiryu

Property: Ryokan Seiryu
Address: 6 Hanakawacho, Takayama 506-0015, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryokan Seiryu 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ryokan Seiryu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Seiryu Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing