We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for one night- wouldn't consider it a resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Associa Takayama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Ranked #8 of 173 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good for one night- wouldn't consider it a resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

I was able to get a room here without prior reservations, and the room was huge and very clean and quiet. The spa area is beautiful but the water is chlorinated, not true hot spring water. The restaurants were attractive but the food dull. This hotel is large and has pretty views but I found the feeling of the place made me want to check out asap in the morning, it just wasn't welcoming, warm or friendly. I don't think it is great for a solo traveller, though it was very safe and the baths were very beautifully done. The lobby, restaurants and baths are so huge and spacious I felt I really stood out as the only solo traveller I saw and it was so big that there was no chance for even a minimal conversation. A couple might find this a nice stop, and I did see a tour bus full of English speaking tourists, and the tour guides who use this hotel for their tour groups.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank touristwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    291
    69
    15
    6
See reviews for
192
215
22
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

This pleasant hotel sits on a hill top with a nice view of the valley behind Takayama. A hotel shuttle stops outside the small train station often, making the 10 minute journey up the hill or down. The best thing about the hotel is the onsen - wow! There is an indoor and whole range of outdoor pools of different shapes and characteristics - even an infinity hot pool allowing a great view across the valley. The regular spa is very good too but of course pricy. We tried a private outdoor onsen under the stars and a massage for two which was a real treat. The long hallway to the public onsen reveals a large indoor/outdoor lounge area for both men and women with the onsen's down stairs. In the lounge area you can buy full meals, liquor, drinks or icecream. You choose and pay at a machine then pick up your meal or treat in the kitchen. A tatami dining area is available to eat in. The choice and prices beat the main floor bar/dining room. Watch the times though, the dining room is not open continuously but there are always treat/drink machines. If going to the Hida Folk village (recommended) take a taxi from the hotel rather than from the town. It is closer. It is a very interesting 2+ hour visit if the weather is good - pretty setting.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventurelady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

Nice Hotel, Nice big Rooms & Nice Onsen. Though a distance from the main City, these is a shuttle bus from the hotel & the train station. You can get some snacks from the convenience store just next to the train station.

Stayed May 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

I was looking for a nice hotel in Takayama with a good onsen. After reading the ratings & reviews by others on Trip Advisor, I selected it. I was not disappointed in the onsen as there were 2 floors (alternated for men & women on the 2 nights I was there). I chose the tatami room and enjoyed the total Japanese experience. I did have a look at the Western style room as well and thought it was very nice too. The Japanese breakfast was delicious and the Western buffet breakfast quite substantial. The only "not-so-convenient" part of the hotel is that it is quite far from town (on a hill) although the hourly shuttle bus provided by the hotel helped.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wong15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

I stayed here with my partner in April for 2 nights. The hotel is located about 5-10 minutes from the main town but a hotel shuttle bus leaves regularly to deliver you to town and back. I was amazed at how big this hotel was, the service is not fantastic, not like you would get at a small boutique hotel, but i guess because its so large they see so many faces.

It's hard to fault this hotel, the rooms are huge, the views are great and it's very clean. The food can be expensive, but with so many options in town its not even worth thinking about eating at the hotel. If you take the time to walk around town you will find some cute little french bakeries for breakfast in the back streets. One in particular was located very close to the station, take the street Ekimae Chuo and then turn first left and its on that street (the street is only very short)

We had a very comfortable stay here and i would definitely recommend it to friends, although it was the most expensive place that we looked at. The only reason we picked this resort is because everything else was booked out in Takayama! But a great choice regardless.

Also, the outdoor onsen is amazing! Very classy. If you have the opportunity, make the effort and use the onsen. .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkpeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
186 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

We stayed here for one night. Our large room had comfortable twin beds, two armchairs, a footstool, a desk and chair, and a flat-screen TV (on which we could find no English-language broadcasts). There was no good light for reading. The small bathroom has the standard Japanese electric toilet, adequate towels and toiletries, but it was the only hotel we stayed in during out visit to Japan that did not supply washcloths.

We did not use the Japanese baths, which had indoor and outdoor pools filled with water from the local natural hot springs. Bathing was only in the nude.

Our group had a private room for breakfast, which was truly a magnificent repast, adapted to our special dietary needs.

Both the hotel lobby and our room were very esthetically pleasing.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

This hotel is so-called the best quality in the area, but probably not the service quality. Can't really tell if there's some cultural difference or what, the staff didn't seem friendly (yet still quite polite) I've stayed in many hotels in Japan, and felt the service was just below their own standard. I wouln't recommend the hotel as I really care about the service quality. Other than this, everything seemed flawless.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#9 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#11 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Hotel Takayama
#16 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Takayama Green Hotel
Takayama Green Hotel
#13 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no yume
Oyado Koto no yume
#3 of 173 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Associa Takayama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Associa Takayama Resort

Property: Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Address: 1134 Echigocho, Takayama 506-0033, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Takayama
#3 Romantic Hotel in Takayama
#4 Luxury Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Associa Takayama Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Associa Takayama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Associa Takayama Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing