We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - big rooms, gorgeous view and good staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Ranked #7 of 173 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel - big rooms, gorgeous view and good staff!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

As the shuttle bus pulled up at this hotel we were impressed as we were greeted with a very large and beautiful foyer and inside great staff - all friendly, looked after our luggage (didn't have to lift a finger) and keen to help. The receptionist spoke okay English and were able to give us recommendations and answer any questions we needed help with.

My boyfriend and I stayed in a deluxe twin room. The room was very very spacious! I loved the size of the room.The decor was a little bit outdated but that doesn't matter. Rooms were clean. And having two bathroom sinks was good for getting ready.
Each twin bed was large enough for two people.
The most impressive thing about our room was the view from our room on level 14! Through the large window, we overlooked a view of takayama and the gorgeous snow capped mountains surrounding the town. Definitely try to get a mountain view room.
The Beds were comfy.

Breakfast was included and consisted of Japanese breakfast, western style breakfast (pastries, toast, fruits, cereal, eggs, sausage , bacon etc etc). There was even beer available.
We would eat at 9am and the buffet was still full of food and the restaurant was not so crowded.

Wi-fi in our room was very weak but seemed better on the couch close to the window.

We visited during the two days of the takayama matsuri and the shuttle bus tended to get full quite quickly, however they did adjust the times so that the bus was more frequent during the festival days. The last bus was at 9:15 but even if you miss it a taxi isn't too expensive.

I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone planning a trip to takayama!
Love this hotel and would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    295
    69
    15
    7
See reviews for
193
220
23
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was a bit concerned as some reviews had pointed out the hotel's large coach parties impacting on their stay but when we arrived the reception staff suggested we avoid breakfast before 8am and so the larger parties had no impact on us at all. Plus there's really no need to start your day too early as Takayama is a pretty little town which can be completed at a gentle stroll in a leisurely day. Breakfast was varied and fresh but we didn't have dinner as there's plenty of choice in town. It's a slight faff planning your day around the hourly shuttle but it worked out ok. The views are beautiful over the mountains and we had a huge room with super comfortable beds. Staff were attentive and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
983 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

One of the most beautiful hotels I've stayed in. View toward the mountains is impossible to accurately describe. You DO want a room that faces toward the highest mountains. Stunningly beautiful.

Breakfast very nice - and even beer is available at breakfast. Convenient free shuttle into and from downtown area, which is very interesting.

Has (separate) hot baths, beautiful (though not inexpensive restaurants). We were here as part of a group so I can't speak to how individual travelers not part of a group are treated.

Pretty good free wi-fi in rooms (reception sometimes better if you sit next to window.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room facing the snow-capped mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seniordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed 3 nights.
Convenient concierge service. I dropped bags at railway station to start my day exploring city without checking-in physically.
Very large room. An old-style luxury hotel but wallpaper and toilet marbles show no sign of aging. Super clean. Public bath with 6 different pools serves long hours.
Room key and control panel not electronic; meaning guests have to turn on/off every lamp/TV when entering/ leaving room.
Enjoy sitting next to big window watching changing weather.
Well connected to town by regular shuttle service.
Breakfast inclusive in plan. Restaurant staff very cheerful. Took dinner downtown before returning hotel because tripadvisors warned of expensive meals and full occupancy by tour groups in hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor not that close to carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

After looking at the hotel's web site my wife and I had high hopes for our stay. Unfortunately the hotel didn't live up to our expectations. The room was very good, high up in the building with good views of the city. However, the hotel appears to cater for tour groups and coach parties so if you are an independent traveller it may not be for you. Our main disappointment was the food. There is only a buffet which suits the hotel as regards the groups, but our meal was cold and even when new, supposedly hot dishes were added to the buffet they were still cold. I suspect they had been hanging about in the kitchen for some time before being put out. It was also disappointing that there was no bar. OK you could get a drink in the cafe but not after 3.30 p.m. And you could get one with your buffet dinner but it was hardly the best environment for a relaxing drink with coach parties rushing to get their food.
A disappointing stay that could have been so much better as it is a well appointed hotel in many ways. I suppose the group and coach parties are where the hotel makes it's money so it is unlikely to change.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bennySouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato, Japan
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a very modern hotel, just a bit away from downtown, however, they have shuttle buses to and from the station. It is also one of the few hotels that has a hot spring spa which is nice compared to the small bathtubs provided in the rooms. There might not be many English speaking staff but they do try hard to provide guests with what they want and need. The view from this hotel room is also very nice.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views of the mountain range
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_and_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

it's a very nice hotel,but a bit far away from downtown. it is kind they have shuttle bus every 30 mins. from hotel to downtown(in front of the takayama JR station)and from downtown to hotel.
there is hot spring in the hotel open from 6am to 1am. so you can enjoy it very early or very night!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tungwawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#10 of 173 in Takayama
721 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#11 of 173 in Takayama
409 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Hotel Takayama
#14 of 173 in Takayama
485 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Takayama Green Hotel
Takayama Green Hotel
#13 of 173 in Takayama
444 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no yume
Oyado Koto no yume
#3 of 173 in Takayama
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Associa Takayama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Associa Takayama Resort

Property: Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Address: 1134 Echigocho, Takayama 506-0033, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Takayama
#3 Romantic Hotel in Takayama
#4 Luxury Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Associa Takayama Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Rakuten, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Associa Takayama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Associa Takayama Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing