We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality in every aspect, and Affordable ”
Review of Hidatakayama Kyoya

Hidatakayama Kyoya
Ranked #12 of 1,040 Restaurants in Takayama
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Very, very friendly servers. The chef himself likes to meet and greet customers! I recommend making a reservation, although it's not required.

Price: approx $20-50 depending on what course you order- or if you want additional sides. I ordered the Premier Hida Beef course- plenty for one person

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 397 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

We've found it thanks to a friendly Japanese man because at 20pm every other restaurant was closed. It was perfect and very professional! 2200 yen each

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank giulia_scafetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

We came directly from the station and it has been a wonderful experiencie. We order twice!!! fantastic staff and hida beef.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank SevigneItoiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

Came here my second night in Takayama. The food was very good (I had the Hida beef with miso set). The waitress even helped cook it for me at my table, as I had no idea how it should be done. Everyone was very friendly, and it was definitely one of my favorite dining experiences in Takayama.

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

We ate here for both of our nights in Takayama- the staff was attentive and the gentleman who works there is so friendly and loves to talk to travelers. The atmosphere is genuine, the cost is reasonable, and the food was the best we had for 2 weeks in Japan- the Hida beef melts in your mouth, the beef cooked with miso paste on a magnolia leaf is not to be missed. Our son loved the pork as well. Of course cooking it ourselves at the table was some fun in itself and our teens had a blast. Don't worry, they will help you if needed. Cost about $15-30 per entree with plenty of food.
We were given small origami gifts when we left both nights which was a nice touch as well. You will not be disappointed if you like sukiyaki!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelingagain08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidatakayama Kyoya also viewed

Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Hidatakayama Kyoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.