We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value,very tasty”
Review of Kotaro

Kotaro
Ranked #17 of 893 Restaurants in Takayama
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very close to our hotel. Very clean ,small restaurant.food very tasty,I ate a fish and vegetable tempura which was excellent.friendly couple running this restaurant.

1  Thank AnnaLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 85 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Great food, nice portion, lovely service and quite authentic! We really enjoyed our dinner here. The cheese Tonkatsu was particularly nice.

1  Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This pace is great! We came here 5 years ago with our son. Two years ago our son returned with his girl friend. Today we went to Takayama (which is a must visit little town at the beginning of the Japanese alps easily accessible from Nagoya by limited express train free with JR rail pass). Part of the reason is that we wanted to go back to eat at this restaurant. We knocked on the door and the owner (husband) opened the door and explained they were closed as it was Monday. We explained that we came 5 years ago and our son and girl friend came 2 years ago. Although he was closed, he welcomed us in and served us some of the delicious sushi that he prepared for a family birthday party later that day. It was delicious. Although we could not order a meal here on this trip, we'll look forward to coming here next time. The owner was extremely gracious and we can say from our previous experience that the food was outstanding. He has been in the same location for 30 years. It's on the Main Street that runs from the middle of the train station a few blocks down toward the Ebisu preservation district on the left side of the street on a corner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank emptynest1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I go to Takayama once a year and make it a point to visit this place at least once. It is a small place with a seating for around 15 people only. This place is run by a couple, the husband cooks and wife is the one who serves. The specialty is pork cutlet in different style. They do have a dish or so with chicken and beef, but they are famous for their pork. They pork set is a complete meal consisting of rice, miso soup, main dish and salad. The menu does have a variety but they are great at what they serve. They do serve bottled beer and sake, which goes well with pork cutlet. And they do have an English menu.
I took my friends who prefer not to eat pork as they don't like the taste. I told them just to try this place out and now they want to go there all the time. They asked for their business card so that they can find the place without my help.
Only one thing to keep in mind is that Takayama is like a countryside and all the shops close early. Please try to enter before 9pm or it might shut down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank superdoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kotaro also viewed

Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Kotaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing