We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hida Hotel Plaza
Nearby Hotels
Takayama Ouan(Takayama)
$202
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Ryokan 
Hoshokaku(Takayama)
$239
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Best Western Hotel Takayama(Takayama)(Great Value!)
$140
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Ryokan Asunaro(Takayama)
$165
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
$399
$196
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Takayama Green Hotel(Takayama)
$135
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanosato(Takayama)
$549
$484
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
$672
$415
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveler rating
140
264
98
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
264
98
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth wingold townwalking distancethree wingsextra taxfascinating townnice hot springhida beefjapanese restauranttrain stationwestern itemsmorning marketfloor restaurantentire citywestern breakfastbig hoteltwo double beds
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 528 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2010

The room is quite ok, clean and comfortable. The shower in the bathroom didn't work very well, the water temperature was not consistent.

I did enjoy the hot spring facilities. Complete set of toiletries were thoughtfully laid out. There was a nice open air rooftop with individual hot tubs. Lovely experience.

Didn't really like the shopping mall, all th usual touristy stuff.

The service was almost perfect until a counter staff gave me the key to the wrong room.

Otherwise, it was a pretty nice experience

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SINGTRAVELLER_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

The location of this large hotel is excellent -in the town and close to all ammenities. The hotel has hot spring bathing facilities - rather strangely on the roof!
We stayed in this hotel for two nights during the festival so the hotel was pretty full. It was an interesting expereince - not a great many westerners around since domestic tourism in Japan is thriving and the festival draws large crowds - understandably, since it is spectacular event well worth attending.
I was travelling solo within a group so had the ubiquitous single room - always a potential downside and no different in this hotel. Although I had a double bed the room and bathroom were small the bedroom area strangely divided using the bed facing the window. However, it was fairly comfortable if somewhat cramped - this always seems to be the case with single rooms and is a particular gripe of most single travellers.
The hotel has an interesting shopping area designed to look like a typical Japanese street - interesting if you understand the nature of most of the goods on sale!
The staff in this hotel are friendly and very helpful.
Breakfasts here are very disappointing - very little selection and what is on offer is poorly presented and usually cold. You need to like scrambled egg!!
It's billed as a first class hotel but I feel it needs to improve in several areas before it achieves this accolade.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LausanneFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

During my stay, there was a video game room across the street where you can play Pachinko, we went to try our luck but won none, anyway we took 1 steel ball home as a souvenir. The room we stayed in was of average size, try the mini snack (red bean cake) free, most hotels we stayed in japan provide it ! You can also purchase it home from the gift shop at the lobby. There is also a free internet desktop just behind the reception. We went to the heated swimming pool but was told we need to pay a fee to use it, so we didnt tried it. You might wanna try the hot baths/jacuzzi at the top floor. There isnt much shopping around & the shops closed early around 4pm..Be sure to visit the tourist hotspots around the hotel.. take a slow walk to the Morning Market & Old Private Houses, buy home some "Sarubobo Charms" which is the icon of Takayama, easily available.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank climsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

The Hida Plaza is within easy walking distance of the main tourist area in Takayama. The staff were always helpful and courteous. In comparison to the other hotels we stayed in in Japan this one was the smallest. The bed and pillows were rock hard and as the other reviewer said - don't touch the mini bar unless you are intending to buy. The room was always clean, but how they managed that when our 2 suitcases took most of the remaining floor space remains to be seen. The absolute best thing about this hotel was the hot baths. There were downstairs and upstairs. Highly recommend the upstairs. There is option of indoor pool with large glass panels - so great view across Takayama, then outside pool - very refreshing in the cool November evenings (it was hot, just the air was very cold), and finally the spa at the very top. Always felt so relaxed after the full treatment. Really well stocked area for drying hair and moisturising etc. To relax would recommend lounge area in the foyer - not comfortable in the room. Internet was available - but excruciatingly slow - only use if absolutely necessary. Breakfast was not great. It was a large western style breakfast and both tea and coffee not to be recommended. We preferred to go to one of the many coffee shops in Takayama for breakfast. There is some excellent Japanese fare to be had. Overall, good value for money as long as you don't plan on spending too much time in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hoppyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Managed to be given a combination room which was quite large with a long corridor with wooden floor boards. Bathroom is a normal (not plastic) huge shower and seperate bath. Bedroom has sliding door with wooden furntiture. Beds were hard which I liked but the pillows were torture!!!
Be carefull with the fridge as the mini bar is automatic, if you move items it will be charged to your account.
There also 2 sets of lifts depending on which side of the hotel you are on.
The french/western restaurant is quite pricey but the food is okay. The chinese restaurant is a much better choice for dinner, or better yet, go out of the hotel!!
The buffet breakfast is not great, tea is awful, and I heard the coffee isn't much better. there is cooked, and toast, but very little fruit and no cereal etc.
Hotel walking distance to most touristy areas of takayama.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelgypsyisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews