We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hot spring facilities”
Review of Hida Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hida Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Reviewed March 5, 2010

The room is quite ok, clean and comfortable. The shower in the bathroom didn't work very well, the water temperature was not consistent.

I did enjoy the hot spring facilities. Complete set of toiletries were thoughtfully laid out. There was a nice open air rooftop with individual hot tubs. Lovely experience.

Didn't really like the shopping mall, all th usual touristy stuff.

The service was almost perfect until a counter staff gave me the key to the wrong room.

Otherwise, it was a pretty nice experience

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SINGTRAVELLER_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 469 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2009

The location of this large hotel is excellent -in the town and close to all ammenities. The hotel has hot spring bathing facilities - rather strangely on the roof!
We stayed in this hotel for two nights during the festival so the hotel was pretty full. It was an interesting expereince - not a great many westerners around since domestic tourism in Japan is thriving and the festival draws large crowds - understandably, since it is spectacular event well worth attending.
I was travelling solo within a group so had the ubiquitous single room - always a potential downside and no different in this hotel. Although I had a double bed the room and bathroom were small the bedroom area strangely divided using the bed facing the window. However, it was fairly comfortable if somewhat cramped - this always seems to be the case with single rooms and is a particular gripe of most single travellers.
The hotel has an interesting shopping area designed to look like a typical Japanese street - interesting if you understand the nature of most of the goods on sale!
The staff in this hotel are friendly and very helpful.
Breakfasts here are very disappointing - very little selection and what is on offer is poorly presented and usually cold. You need to like scrambled egg!!
It's billed as a first class hotel but I feel it needs to improve in several areas before it achieves this accolade.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LausanneFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

During my stay, there was a video game room across the street where you can play Pachinko, we went to try our luck but won none, anyway we took 1 steel ball home as a souvenir. The room we stayed in was of average size, try the mini snack (red bean cake) free, most hotels we stayed in japan provide it ! You can also purchase it home from the gift shop at the lobby. There is also a free internet desktop just behind the reception. We went to the heated swimming pool but was told we need to pay a fee to use it, so we didnt tried it. You might wanna try the hot baths/jacuzzi at the top floor. There isnt much shopping around & the shops closed early around 4pm..Be sure to visit the tourist hotspots around the hotel.. take a slow walk to the Morning Market & Old Private Houses, buy home some "Sarubobo Charms" which is the icon of Takayama, easily available.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank climsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

The Hida Plaza is within easy walking distance of the main tourist area in Takayama. The staff were always helpful and courteous. In comparison to the other hotels we stayed in in Japan this one was the smallest. The bed and pillows were rock hard and as the other reviewer said - don't touch the mini bar unless you are intending to buy. The room was always clean, but how they managed that when our 2 suitcases took most of the remaining floor space remains to be seen. The absolute best thing about this hotel was the hot baths. There were downstairs and upstairs. Highly recommend the upstairs. There is option of indoor pool with large glass panels - so great view across Takayama, then outside pool - very refreshing in the cool November evenings (it was hot, just the air was very cold), and finally the spa at the very top. Always felt so relaxed after the full treatment. Really well stocked area for drying hair and moisturising etc. To relax would recommend lounge area in the foyer - not comfortable in the room. Internet was available - but excruciatingly slow - only use if absolutely necessary. Breakfast was not great. It was a large western style breakfast and both tea and coffee not to be recommended. We preferred to go to one of the many coffee shops in Takayama for breakfast. There is some excellent Japanese fare to be had. Overall, good value for money as long as you don't plan on spending too much time in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hoppyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Managed to be given a combination room which was quite large with a long corridor with wooden floor boards. Bathroom is a normal (not plastic) huge shower and seperate bath. Bedroom has sliding door with wooden furntiture. Beds were hard which I liked but the pillows were torture!!!
Be carefull with the fridge as the mini bar is automatic, if you move items it will be charged to your account.
There also 2 sets of lifts depending on which side of the hotel you are on.
The french/western restaurant is quite pricey but the food is okay. The chinese restaurant is a much better choice for dinner, or better yet, go out of the hotel!!
The buffet breakfast is not great, tea is awful, and I heard the coffee isn't much better. there is cooked, and toast, but very little fruit and no cereal etc.
Hotel walking distance to most touristy areas of takayama.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelgypsyisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 室温が、コントロール出来ない。エアコンで、20度に設定したのに、室温が28度表示にしかならない。空気清浄機が部屋に常設されて無いのも良くないですね。
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank セタタクロ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: なし。広くてとても良かったです。
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 河孝
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#10 of 175 in Takayama
811 reviews
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 175 in Takayama
549 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hidatakayama Onsen
Takayama Green Hotel
Takayama Green Hotel
#13 of 175 in Takayama
502 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 175 in Takayama
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hida Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hida Hotel Plaza

Address: 2-60 Hanaokamachi, Takayama 506-0009, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Takayama
#4 Family Hotel in Takayama
Price Range: $150 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hida Hotel Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
e recommend "Hiten-no-yu," an outdoor bath of own hot spring with great view! Hida Hotel Plaza.Internet connection is available in all guest rooms. A landmark hotel located 350 meters from Hida-Takayama Sta. in Hida-Takayama, 3-star tourist site. Famous for our own flowing "Hiten-no-yu" of Hida-Takayama hot spring. We take pride in our Jacuzzi bath and outdoor bath where you can see mountains during the day and starry sky at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hida Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hida Plaza Hotel Takayama
Hida Plaza Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing