We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Comfortable and Welcoming”
Review of Hida Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hida Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
New Forest
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Convenient Comfortable and Welcoming”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just a short walk from the JR/Bus Station you can also walk to all the Must See spots in Takayama town easily. Breakfast was a bit of a scrum and we had better "Western Breakfasts" elsewhere but the staff in the "Japanese Inn" within the hotel - next to the shops were very accommodating with special assistance to our "begetarian" group member. Our luggage was waiting for us - a relief as it was the first time that we had relied on the inter-hotel luggage transfer service that is a feature of touring Japan. We did not use the Onsens here as we had just come from a wonderful Ryokan near Matsumoto (the bus trip through the snowy mountains was a treat).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeicSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    215
    79
    12
    7
See reviews for
139
151
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I had a great time staying here. Unlike most tatami hotel in Japan which are very small, the room here is like a tatami suite with a separate sleeping room, a living room, a small separate work area, a nice balcony, separate toilet and bath. One can use one of the two available hotspring baths (onsen) in this hotel. The buffet dinner is also delicious. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryLeong8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Strategically positioned near everything. Rail/bus station, dining, Matsuri routes, morning markets, old town and other tourist spots. Everything can be reached in five to ten minutes on foot except the folk village (need to catch a bus for that but very easy to do, the hotel staff will give you directions in English). Staff very customer oriented! Most speak conversational English, if they can't, they will run to get someone who can, and I mean run! We chose the Japanese style room which was very large (ten tatami size living room with an additional smaller tatami sleeping room). Separate toilet and bath. Large bath had shower area and a soaking tub. Breakfast choice was either Japanese or Western...but the choices were basically the same no matter what restaurant you chose (buffet line had both japanese and western style food at both places).

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exltc2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, enjoyed the lovely clean spacious rooms with good sized bathrooms. Our room had 2 double beds interestingly one was very soft (and a little lumpy) the other very firm. The onsen facilities were not something I took advantage of - hard to get over the western weirdness of group nude bathing but our adult daughter did and thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor roof top hot spring while it snowed.
We were on the 8th Floor and found that with the onsen directly above we had quite a bit of noise, loud thumps on the ceiling etc until it closed for the night. So I guess the middle floors would be much better.
The location in Takayama is grea, but we found it hard to find restaurants not booked out in the town or the hotel itself, Our fault not realising bookings were always necessary. We did eat in the Hotels little Izakiya(?) and thoroughly enjoyed it. It had the traditional ambience, food and attentive service common throughout Japan's little bars.A lovely New Years Eve spent there.
We were very disappointed that there was virtually no english spoken by the reception staff. Made booking excursions, currency exchange and restaurants hard.
We loved Takayama, But I don't think I'd stay at the Hida Plaza again, it was the most expensive place we stayed on our travels and because of that I suppose I had higher expectations of it.
I made a cup of coffee in our room only to discover later that there was a notice in Japanese explaining each cup was charged at mini bar prices (sadly I don't read Japanese).

Room Tip: Mid level rooms would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, nice hotel very close to station. Good choice of eating places within the hotel which you need as Takayama closes early evening so you do not have a choice but to eat in the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Frankie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
218 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Spent two nights in the excellent hotel which is a pleasing mixture of Japanese and western styles. It is perfectly located for both bus and train stations and Takayama's major sites are all within walking distance.

The room was large and comfortable. Only ate breakfast in the hotel and they have a choice of Japanese or western restaurants..

I almost tried the onsen on the roof but my western shyness got the better of me. Still if you are in Takayama I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The room is very spacious with thoughtful amenities. The staff are very courteous and welcoming, make you feel pampered till the time you leave the hotel.

The location is all walking distance. One can go to the tourist sites in 15 minutes.

The shops closed early though at 6pm, but walking around the area can be very relaxing.

The hotel has hot spring baths but we were unable to try it out.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank levyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#8 of 174 in Takayama
749 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 174 in Takayama
509 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Takayama Green Hotel
Takayama Green Hotel
#13 of 174 in Takayama
467 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 174 in Takayama
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hida Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hida Hotel Plaza

Property: Hida Hotel Plaza
Address: 2-60 Hanaokamachi, Takayama 506-0009, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Takayama
#4 Family Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hida Hotel Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
e recommend "Hiten-no-yu," an outdoor bath of own hot spring with great view! Hida Hotel Plaza.Internet connection is available in all guest rooms. A landmark hotel located 350 meters from Hida-Takayama Sta. in Hida-Takayama, 3-star tourist site. Famous for our own flowing "Hiten-no-yu" of Hida-Takayama hot spring. We take pride in our Jacuzzi bath and outdoor bath where you can see mountains during the day and starry sky at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hida Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hida Plaza Hotel Takayama
Hida Plaza Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing