We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Takayama
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
319
70
14
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
319
70
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lock the door overlooking the river morning market japanese breakfast hot bath elderly lady matcha tea fantastic hospitality elderly couple two nights traditional experience traditional futon highlight of our trip own bathroom historic district minute walk from the train station limited english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 406 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2020

This was our first trip to Japan, and our first ryokan. We were very keen to experience the local flavor, and check out Takayama. We also spent half a day at Shirakawa-go, which was well worth it. Antique Sumiyoshi Ryokan was fantastic, with a central location and superior service. The proprietors/family who run the inn were very helpful. They don’t speak much English, but we got along very well. Our conversations in pidgin English/Japanese/hand-waving were very amusing and sometimes downright hysterical for everyone. We opted in for the Japanese breakfast and dinners for two nights, and are very happy that we did. The food was incredibly tasty, and we had lots of small plates (a dozen tasting plates for each meal). We have no idea what we were eating in many cases, and still don’t, and probably never will know. The accommodations were traditional, and since we booked the one private room with an en-suite bathroom, we had plenty of space. The bathroom was dated (and cold, since we were there in winter), but really, we didn’t care. We were too busy enjoying the view of the river. The only downside is that the walls are thin. We got lucky, and had one night of snow, and it was so beautiful. The onsen is big enough for 2-4, and you lock the door while using it. Highly recommend packing warm socks during winter. Lastly, the Sobo/grandmother is so strong and spry, and has a fantastic personality. We should all be so lucky at 71!

Room tip: One room has an en-suite bathroom and a view of the river
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2019 via mobile

This has been my favourite and most memorable experience so far! The ryokan is incredible inside, and so peaceful since it looks out onto a little river. The onsen was also fantastic and relaxing. The meals was amazing! The food was perfect and I could not rate it higher. Most importantly, the staff were absolutely incredible. They were so kind and friendly, going above and beyond to make your experience perfect. I would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in Takayama!!!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 515jodym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2019

We arrived to a lovely welcome and we immediately knew that we were going to enjoy our stay at this lovely ryokan.
The room was clean, roomy and comfortable. The food was delicious with a great variety of local fresh fish. We would definitely recommend this ryokan to other travellers.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SomersetShe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2019

A highlight to stay in a real ryokan, run by 18 family members, who also live on site! We were served primarily by the lady of the house, who spoke little English but made up with it in smiles. Serendipitously we got an upstairs room with a private bath overlooking the river. How sweet it was to sleep with the window cracked and listen to the water flow. We opted for the kaiseki the night of our arrival, a multi-course Japanese meal, starting with raw snails peaking out of their shells. Yep, we ate them. We enjoyed the baths downstairs, very hot and private; they open at 4 p.m. The futon sleeping is comfortable and the pillows more of the U.S. soft variety. Breakfast is also served on a low table in your room, though it would have been nice to have met other guests (you can hear them through the walls so keep your voices down.) The location can't be beat. You can walk to all the sites including the Morning Market right across the river. Tip: There is a saki store right at the corner that sells local craft beer, but do NOT buy the wine unless you are a fan of the sweet Japanese variety. We found an imported French wine at a little shop on a street a few blocks away. Also, save yourself for some snacks at morning market. Because there was so little English spoken here, and we speak exactly four words of Japanese, found the Google translator worked great to ask directions and get clear on etiquette for the baths.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank TravelbeeSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is traditionally Japanese it's run by an elderly couple very friendly nothing is a problem the room is of Japanese theam you sleep on the floor on a mattress and quilt you also sit on the floor to eat breakfast and dinner what a fantastic experience our room had a tv safe fridge bathroom and separate toilet we had a veiw of the river where coy carp swim freely the hotel also have Japanese colonial baths we also had free gift on departure got to say the experience was one of the best

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank michaelv401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews