We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Takayama
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
319
70
14
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
319
70
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lock the door overlooking the river morning market japanese breakfast hot bath elderly lady matcha tea fantastic hospitality elderly couple two nights traditional experience traditional futon highlight of our trip own bathroom historic district minute walk from the train station limited english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 406 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2019

A highlight to stay in a real ryokan, run by 18 family members, who also live on site! We were served primarily by the lady of the house, who spoke little English but made up with it in smiles. Serendipitously we got an upstairs room with a private bath overlooking the river. How sweet it was to sleep with the window cracked and listen to the water flow. We opted for the kaiseki the night of our arrival, a multi-course Japanese meal, starting with raw snails peaking out of their shells. Yep, we ate them. We enjoyed the baths downstairs, very hot and private; they open at 4 p.m. The futon sleeping is comfortable and the pillows more of the U.S. soft variety. Breakfast is also served on a low table in your room, though it would have been nice to have met other guests (you can hear them through the walls so keep your voices down.) The location can't be beat. You can walk to all the sites including the Morning Market right across the river. Tip: There is a saki store right at the corner that sells local craft beer, but do NOT buy the wine unless you are a fan of the sweet Japanese variety. We found an imported French wine at a little shop on a street a few blocks away. Also, save yourself for some snacks at morning market. Because there was so little English spoken here, and we speak exactly four words of Japanese, found the Google translator worked great to ask directions and get clear on etiquette for the baths.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank TravelbeeSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is traditionally Japanese it's run by an elderly couple very friendly nothing is a problem the room is of Japanese theam you sleep on the floor on a mattress and quilt you also sit on the floor to eat breakfast and dinner what a fantastic experience our room had a tv safe fridge bathroom and separate toilet we had a veiw of the river where coy carp swim freely the hotel also have Japanese colonial baths we also had free gift on departure got to say the experience was one of the best

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank michaelv401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2019

This ryokan was one of the highlights on our two week trip. When we decided to spend a few days in the alps I came upon this listing in Booking.com. The reviews were amazing. Now I see why. We were greeted with a big smile and a warm welcome by an elderly lady. She gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us to our room. She immediately served us dinner. We ate a multi-course Japanese meal that truly tasted home cooked. We got to broaden our palate and try things we normally wouldn't get. My husband and I went on a walk and when we returned the dining area in our room was changed to our beds with low lighting. The ambience of the place was truly magical. Our room had a view of the river and you could hear the rushing water. It was so relaxing. The private onsen was amazing and very unique. It is an older building but the charm was amazing. The elderly woman was extremely loving and we could feel she loved what she did. We left feeling like we had gained so much more than we would have if we had stayed in a Western hotel.

Room tip: The room with the river view was wonderful (lots of natural light and the rushing water sound in the background)
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookeCu888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019 via mobile

It was absolutely amazing, true traditional Japanese experience.

The rooms are very nice, we even had a small balcony facing the river. There is an air conditioning in the room. Dinner and breakfast are amazing. You will be eating on the floor at a low table and be served in your room.

The owner is absolutely cool. An energetic elderly lady that is full of life and jokes.

There is an onsen that can also be used by a couple in private.

The food was very good and very very much. 10 courses or so.

Be prepared: this is a traditional ryokan: you will sleep on a mattress on the ground; the mattress will be rolled and taken away during the day; you will eat basically kneeling on the floor.

There is also a curfew at 23:00.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ToniTijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019 via mobile

We loved our stay .. from the lovely balcony overseeing the river to the amazing host who is so kind and friendly and although knows just few words in English, tries to accomodate you in every possible
way. Expect her to tell you how to eat, how to properly put a kimono, wake you up in the morning for breakfast. We loved the food - its an outstanding experience and it‘s super fresh and a lot of variety. Make sure to book both breakfast and dinner! And there are rooms who have toilet inside - ours was like that. The onsens were also super nice and you can have it all for yourselves.
Reading across the other reviews,
I feel the urge to highlight that the ryokan is an authentic experience and part of what you pay a higher price for is eating at a table on the ground, slipping on futton beds that are rolled out during the day and having a minimalistic interior. In fact, the room we had was not smaller than the one we had in Tokyo and we found it perfect for sleeping and eating ( during the rest of the day we were out in the city) That being said, if you have back pain, want to relax on a bed during the day, want to have a room where you could take all your clothes out of the luggage, do yourself a favour and book a hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank martinab381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews