We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sumiyoshi Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sumiyoshi Ryokan
Ranked #1 of 173 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Sumiyoshi is a wonderful charming experience. The hosts have limited English but this in no way detracts from their hospitality and generosity. We booked through the Japanese Guest Houses Web site and they proved to be excellent. We had requested a River View room with private toilet and that was exactly what we got. The room was large with a private balcony and very comfortable.

The two meals we had - dinner and breakfast - were just incredible. The number of dishes and their quality and complexity was overwhelming. A Western breakfast is available but we went the local and were not disappointed. Unlike many Ryokans they remain open until 11PM so it is possible to enjoy a sumptuous meal and still go out to explore the town afterwards.

The morning market is directly opposite the inn on the riverbank, and the old preserved town streets are a 5 minute walk away. It's worth getting a taxi from the station and back, as it is within flagfall distance and they deliver you right to the door which could otherwise be tricky to find.

Although there is not a true Onsen (hot spring) there is a delightful bathroom with a huge deep hot tub that you can use privately. Highly recommended for a relatively inexpensive Ryokan experience and some of the best Japanese food around.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Beefheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    63
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
198
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

During our staying in Japan we decided to spend one night at a traditional kind of pansion, a ryokan. Ryokans are not cheap, on the contrary it was our most expensive choice in that trip. For sure it was worthy. Traditional way of living and sleeping (think it twice if you have back ache) and a really tasty japanese breakfast gave us a great experience in a lovely place. Our room had a nice river view ( small fall) and the staff though didn't speak english were really helpful and kind. I strongly recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stavroulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

We spent 2 nights in this wonderful traditional house. Located nearby the morning market. The owner are incredibly friendly and funny. We had a really great time over there. Our room was spacious and decorated with antiques with an acces to a charming garden. Hotsprings are lovely and the food is delicious.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanyParisParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

Quite unassuming in looks and decor this ryokan is in a good position in town. The rooms face out onto the river and although the view is nice i wouldnt say it was anything special. The things I liked best about the ryokan was the wonderful hot bath and the fantastic food they served.
We booked using Japanese Guest houses without any problems, and although it was expensive I'd say it was worth it for the experience.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

The proprietors of Sumiyoshi greeted us with big friendly smiles. The hotel is right in the middle of everything in this lovely town, and we had a nice room looking right over the river.

The dinner and breakfast were amazing. The wonderful women who served our meals spoke virtually no English but communicated well through big smiles, sweeping gestures, and laughter.

  • Liked — The great kaiseki meals
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProNomad33062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2008

I loved the Sumiyoshi ryokan but must comment that I also got bitten by fleas or sand flies pretty badly. But the bites didn't come up till the next day so technically it didn't ruin my stay! I am particularly susceptible to any insect bites so if you aren't usually bothered by them you may get lucky. If you do generally tend to get bitten, cover up as much as possible when you go to sleep. I wore pajamas and I wish I'd worn bed socks too and then I may have avoided them.

Other than that, the rooms are lovely. I travelled on my own and was catered for very well. I ate the evening meal and Japanese breakfast and was very pleased with both. The bed was comfortable, the view pleasant and although the western style toilet was shared I never had to wait (at this stage in my trip I wasn't brave enough to experience the japanese style toilet there!)

The staff are incredibliy welcoming and friendly. My Japanese is extremely basic but we still muddled through and had a giggle. Overall, a great experience.

  • Liked — Food and clothes lent to look the part
  • Disliked — eek, the fleas, but please don't be too put off.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosasaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

As many have said the dinner served in the room is a highlight when staying at Sumiyoshi. I'm not a big fan of Japanese food though enjoyed it all and the lovely ladies who served it with great humour and grace. I choose the Western breakfast and my husband had the Japanese. I was very happy with my choice as the Japanese breakfast seemed quite similar to the dinner. We had a view of the river and could see the morning markets from our room. Each room has a fridge and safe. There are two bathrooms so no problem having a private wash.
The owners are very friendly and helpfull. We hired bikes from the shop next door which we enjoyed very much. You cover so much more ground using the bikes so we fitted everything in we wanted to see in our 24 hours in Takayama. The bikes can be hired from 1hr to 1 day (1000yen). The 1 day is not 24hrs it only includes the day you start your hire. They open at 9am and close at 8pm.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wylma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#10 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no yume
Oyado Koto no yume
#3 of 173 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Oyado Yamakyu
#2 of 173 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumiyoshi Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumiyoshi Ryokan

Property: Sumiyoshi Ryokan
Address: 4 Hon-machi, Takayama 506-0011, Gifu Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
#13 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sumiyoshi Ryokan 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional merchant house style Ryokan built in Taisho era. (1912)SUMIYOSHI RYOKAN located MIYAGAWA riverside and central TAKAYAMA city.Ideally located for sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sumiyoshi Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumiyoshi Ryokan Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing