We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Experience!”
Review of Sumiyoshi Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sumiyoshi Ryokan
Ranked #1 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle WA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our 3 night stay at the Sumiyoshi Ryokan was one of the highlights of our trip to Japan. This was our first ryokan experience, and it won’t be our last.

The ryokan is well located, in an old house (was a merchant’s shop) on the river right across from the morning market and historic district. It is about a 15 minute walk from the train station. The town has covered sidewalks, so walking to the station with our luggage was not a problem, even when it was raining.

When booking, due to availability, we scheduled a room without a private bathroom the first night and with private bathroom for the succeeding nights. We had thought we would want a private bath, but learned, after our first night, that sharing was not a problem. The toilets and sinks were just down the hall and we never had to wait. We also discovered how great it is to soak in the giant hot bath, an experience we had never had, though it is somewhat like a hot tub. We found it so relaxing we soaked every night before going to bed.

We did not know how we’d do sleeping on the floor and eating at the low table. We discovered we could actually get a good night’s sleep on the thick bedding. Eating while sitting on a cushion on the floor was a bit challenging for my husband who has bad knees, but he managed okay and enjoyed the experience. The room had a little sunroom type area with a small table and western chairs, which we sat at when not having meals.

We had 2 dinners and breakfast each morning in our room (One night we had dinner in the town). The dinners were fabulous – with course after course of excellent Japanese food (local specialties), beautifully presented, and special house sake. I tried the Japanese and continental breakfast. The Japanese breakfast was huge and delicious. The western breakfast was different each day but basically eggs, a meat, fruit, coffee, toast.

The hosts are very friendly. We felt like house guests more than like “hotel” guests. When we came in with sopping wet shoes after a bike ride in the rain, our hosts greeted us and asked if they could put our shoes in a special shoe drier. Thank goodness, but who would have expected that? As others have noted, the older woman who serves a lot of the food and transforms the room from dining area to sleeping area is delightful. She doesn’t speak much English but manages to communicate and we shared laughter together.

A great experience!

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor facing river have nice views. I don't think it's necessary to have a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CascadiaPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    65
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
204
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This ryokan lies in a quite part of Takayama (though then again is not whole Takayama quite). Its arround 15 minutes walk from the train station. Its a very small ryokan with only 8 rooms and shared bathrooms / toilts. And even all other reviews already emphasis it I have to do the same: Very friendly staff, helped us call another ryokan to make a booking and draw exact maps for us where to get of the bus to reach it. Dinner and breakfast where nice, but not extraordinary (Though much better than most japanese food you get outside Japan). All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneFitsNone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

stayed 2 nights in Oct. 20013. three couples touring Japan. Owner and stuff went all way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The place is a gem. Sleeping on the floor is not as uncomfortable as it could seem. As a matter of fact, I had a stiff neck and was almost fully cured after sleeping on the floor.
The dinner and breakfast were rich and exotic. If you are staying for more than one night , just for a change you can find a fancy place for one dinner somewhere - Takayama is a big place .
We left some not very valuable items behind. The owner immediately sent us an e-mail with photos of items (!) which we received while still in Japan and was ready to sent them to us to wherever we indicate.

Room Tip: big room without toilet is interesting - a lot of space but it is not really a room: no door or key...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Absolute gem, tucked away,packed full of antiques, collections, sculptures, prints and decorative objects in absolutely every room. a must-see visit, a small terrace on second floor as well as a garden on main floor, large dining room for groups, some rooms have toilet and sink. some rooms have a view of the river. everything spotless of course, even the shared sinks room had curios full of sculptures, wooden molds for cakes and warrior armours!!!
Family staff was generous, courteous, helpful You will think you are staying in a museum!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were a little unsure about this place as we were travelling as a family with an 8 month old baby, and we didn't know if the shared bathroom and small spaces would work very well, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hosts were amazingly accommodating to us - they entertained our son and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. It is in a perfect location to look around Takayama, which is a charming town to visit, if only a bit crowded with tourists. But there are lots of historical sights to see. The shared bathroom works well, as you can lock the door, and we never had to wait despite the hotel being relatively full. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay with this hotel. The dinner experience was great too, although I would only do it for one night and try one of Takayama's great restaurants for another night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottBodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We are an older Australian couple and it was a lovely place to stay. Even the Futons were comfortable. The service, the food and the room with an ensuite was terrific we only wish our stay was longer than three nights. The view from our room was relaxing after a long day being tourists.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I would 100% recommend Sumiyoshi Ryoken. We were travelling around Japan for 2 weeks, and this was the highlight. Our room was overlooking the river, with an ensuite bathroom. The food is bought to your room and is absolutely amazing, both dinner and breakfast were delicious local food (definitely have the Japanese breakfast). The staff are so nice and helpful, and speak good english (they helped me when I put my Yukuta on the wrong way). They have 2 nice mini-onsen, which is good for 2 people, and you can lock the door. Overall our stay in Takayama was fantastic, and a peaceful welcome break from the big cities!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Lisa919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#8 of 174 in Takayama
753 reviews
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 174 in Takayama
515 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 174 in Takayama
440 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 174 in Takayama
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumiyoshi Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumiyoshi Ryokan

Property: Sumiyoshi Ryokan
Address: 4 Hon-machi, Takayama 506-0011, Gifu Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
#13 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sumiyoshi Ryokan 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional merchant house style Ryokan built in Taisho era. (1912)SUMIYOSHI RYOKAN located MIYAGAWA riverside and central TAKAYAMA city.Ideally located for sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sumiyoshi Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumiyoshi Ryokan Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing