We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! Stay If You Can Get A Room!”
Review of Sumiyoshi Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sumiyoshi Ryokan
Ranked #1 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great! Stay If You Can Get A Room!”
Reviewed October 8, 2007

A memorable Ryokan. Tucked back off of a quiet alleyway and situated right on the river, this quiet, beautiful Ryokan with its amazing helpful people is a must if you want an authentic, Japanese experience in Takayama. From the moment that the host dashed out to meet us right up to the gift of beautiful lacquered chop sticks as we left, we felt nothing less than full, hospitable generousity. Delicious delicious food. Minimal English but very workable.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Edna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    65
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
61
204
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

Sumiyoshi in Takayama was absolutly incredible - beats any five star hotel!! We arrived during a thunder storm to be greeted and pampered with hot green tea, heated seats, luxurious bedding in a cosy room over looking the river!

Dinner was a feast - course after course of fresh, exotic food - the food just kept on comming! Japanese breakfast was far different from western style - but worth a try.

The shared baths are beautifuland comfortable, nice and modern - western style heated toilet!

The ryokan is located across the road from a market which is great for shopping - and walking distance to everything.

The only downfall was the size of the room - table and seats are shifted in the evening to make room for beds - so your unable to have a nap after the long train journey.

Sumiyoshi and Takayama made us feel like royalty!

  • Liked — It was all outstanding!!
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dzire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

I stayed at the Sumiyoshi Ryokan in Takayama for two nights in May 2007 and loved it. It's not luxurious, but it's clean, quiet, and very well-located. The staff spoke very little English but between that and my very-very-little Japanese we managed to communicated pretty well. The owner and his staff are extremely warm-hearted and welcoming.

If you stay, make sure to have dinner at least one night, and Japanese breakfast at least one morning. Both were terrific, and a really good value too.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2006

We stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Sumiyoshi is a traditional ryokan full of antiques. Our room was overlooking the river and the morning market. Although the decor was a little tired everything was spotlessly clean. The hosts and staff spoke little English but were extremely friendly. The food was fantastic and very plentiful. I've rarely eaten anything better. I would definitely go back there

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — no ensuite bathroom but that was to be expected in a ryokan
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flossie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

I loved Sumiyoshi. The staff were incredibly nice and accomodating and the location is excellent: everything's in walking distance and the ryokan's setting over the river is delightful. And the food was very good (especially the Hoba miso and sukiyaki).

However, Sumiyoshi is a casual place, almost more of a minshuku than a ryokan, so if you're looking for a formal ryokan experience, you won't find it here. Also, as with almost all traditional inns, the rooms do not have private baths. But if you're okay with both those things then I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2006

My friend and I who stayed here were very pleased. The room was spacious and clean with a beautiful view and the staff was very nice and helpful, even though they only speak a little english. The bath was new and a highlight. The food was pretty good-- definitely a good way to experience regional dishes. It was a LOT. Ten courses for dinner, I think. I think most people staying there were tourists, and I would note that I thought it was a little pricey, considering we paid much less at our ryokan in Tokyo. (21,000 yen for the two of us-- but they do have cheaper rooms, as opposed to the 13,500 we paid a night for our Tokyo room). Like I said, it was good for us, but I will also add that the Japanese couple (parents of a friend) who dropped us off there seemed awfully concerned about the age of the place. "Antique" is an apt description, because we noticed that the paper on the walls was peeling, the rice paper in the doors was a little tattered, and the futons were not as comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chatneuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 21, 2004

Such a warm and sweet and awesome place! A cozy, clean, comfortable and friendly traditional ryokan, but the best thing must be the food! Amazing. A great way to sample all the regional foods and dishes. Great location - a little away from the train station (which is good), right on the bank of the Miyagawa river, with most rooms having river views. The hosts were amazingly hospitable and warm, as were the sweet staff. A great place for a first-time ryokan visit - it was ours and they were extremely patient and obliging! Great facilities, great size room, bath facilites were great. Highly recommended - Takayama is awesome!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#8 of 174 in Takayama
753 reviews
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 174 in Takayama
515 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 174 in Takayama
440 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 174 in Takayama
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumiyoshi Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumiyoshi Ryokan

Property: Sumiyoshi Ryokan
Address: 4 Hon-machi, Takayama 506-0011, Gifu Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
#13 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sumiyoshi Ryokan 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional merchant house style Ryokan built in Taisho era. (1912)SUMIYOSHI RYOKAN located MIYAGAWA riverside and central TAKAYAMA city.Ideally located for sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sumiyoshi Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumiyoshi Ryokan Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing