We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Takayama
Ranked #14 of 186 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel was a very short walk fro the station and quietly located off the main streets. Room was a large twin, overlooking the rear of the hotel, and was therefore peaceful. Took breakfast at the hotel -- modest selection of buffet items but entirely adequate. Staff were all very helpful and efficient. Recommend this hotel highly.

At the station, there is a good little coffee shop ("Scenery") which is run by the Takayama Assoc Resort hotel (part of the JR group). Good coffee, open from 8am to 6pm with a small selection of cakes, toast, small meals. Excellent and friendly service. Had excellent steak meal at Mieux restaurant in city centre.

Enjoyed a couple of relaxing days in this small city. The procession floats were spectacular.

Room Tip: We chose a twin room at the back -- good size and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bart09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 557 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is very close to the train station. It is well managed. The room are spacious for japaneese standard. It has one restaurant where one can eat the famous Hida Beef. The breakfast buffet is rather simple both for werstern and japaneese selection. In the second floor there is a jacusi and a good foot massage place. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are large and clean. The beds are cosy and the rooms are warm. Can not complain. Would stay here again. Breakfast had lots of variety. Didn't eat at the restaurant because we wanted to experience the local cuisine.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaxsBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great location in this charming town. Very clean and modern room. Enjoyed the set dinner and paid cash but wrong room number on receipt. Went back to reception and staff very apologetic and issued a fresh receipt with correct room number on it. At check out time we were asked to pay for our dinner. Despite showing the receipt it was an embarrassing five minutes or more trying to explain to the receptionist that we had paid. Finally she went to speak to another member of staff and came back to say it was all in order. Not nice to experience this in front of our whole tour group. Breakfast was not very substantial and the buffet was not replenished as often as it should have been. Very small room couldn't accommodate the number of guests staying.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as a side trip from Osaka. As I am in a wheelchair, the hotel was in a great location as it is close to the JR station and yet still close enough to the centre of town. The centre of Takayama is quite flat so not too difficult to move around.
The disabled room is a twin room which cannot be converted to a double, but is quite small so the beds are next to either other, just not joined. The bathroom has grab bars but no roll-in shower (bath only), there is a large floor waste so I was able to shower in the bathroom (see photo).
The breakfast was average, it was not hot and there was not alot of variety, part of the buffet is on a raised platform which I could access (my husband collected some options).
Being that Takayama is the Hida beef epi-centre, my vegetarian husband did struggle with options for dinner, I would strongly recommend Heianraku (close to the motel) as they have vegetarian options and are very hospitable.
We struggled to find options to get to Shirakawa-go and in the end we walked to the Hida Folk Village (this is a long walk and is very steep at the end - my husband pushed me the whole way) - there is an accessible bus but the staff at the bus station were not informed of times and in fact told us we had missed a bus, which we then saw but were too far away to stop.

Room Tip: Room # 309 is the disabled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IntrepidTravellersOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Would definitely recommend this hotel for its location, great value and modern facilities. Breakfast and free wifi are included in your room price. We paid around $190 for 2 adults and 1 child. The breakfast is ok with both Japanese and some western choices.

The main centre of town is about 10 min walk and if you have the budget definitely go to dinner at Le Midi French / Japanese restaurant for the best Hida beef. It is actually cheaper than eating at best western's restaurant. Also, the pumpkin ice cream around town is delicious.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank theleavers_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after a night in an expensive Ryokan down the road (couldn't afford 2 nights) and it was great.
The staff upgraded us to a bigger twin room (with the beds put together) because they knew we were checking in with our toddler and thought we could use more room. We were upgraded for free. When we unexpectedly needed to stay another night, we were able to book the same room at the same price.
The location was great the buffet breakfast included was good, although a little Luke warm.
If you are looking for a good western style hotel in Takayama, I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Rachiebee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#11 of 186 in Takayama
836 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 186 in Takayama
490 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#2 of 186 in Takayama
540 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Ryokan Asunaro
Ryokan Asunaro
#4 of 186 in Takayama
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Takayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Takayama

Address: 6-6 Hanasatocho, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Takayama
#15 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range: $94 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Takayama 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Takayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Takayama
Takayama Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing