We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Takayama
Ranked #15 of 175 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Best Western in November 2012. We were arriving by Train, and found the hotel easily and is only a short walk from the station. From the hotel it is a bit of a further walk into the main tourist attraction areas of Takayama, but its not a difficult or unpleasant walk.
The room was very clean, spacious, and comfortable. It was actually one of the better nights sleep that we had whilst in Japan.
The staff were helpful with very good english, even offering umbrellas for us while it was raining.

We didn't have breakfast included in our room rate so can't comment on any of the restaurant options.
At 17,000 yen it was on the dear side but we had heard this about Takayama in general in terms of accomodation, and we certainly had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcnicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 547 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

At less than 10000 yen per night, it's difficult to be too harsh. The location was just perfect, a short walk from the train station.
However, the room was very warm and small. I understand that there was no way of cooling the room down. All we could do was open the window by a few inches and hoping for the weather to cool down. (it did start raining during the night).

We had no high expectations for breakfast. There was a choice of a Western breakfast or Asian breakfast. Unfortunately, the eggs and meat were all cold and not kept warm, but it was good enough for pastries and coffee. (breakfast was included).

We loved Takayama and were extremely lucky to arrive on the 2nd day of the Autumn festival. The town is very charming with great sight-seeing in the old neighborhood and good shopping and places for lunch. It really slows down after 6pm and most of the shops and restaurants close.

We also rented a car for a half-day with Toyota. We actually had to call from Canada to make a reservation. The half-day was more expensive than renting a full-day with Tocoo. (Tocoo wouldn't list that car rental on their web site).
We drove to Shirakawa and Gokayama to visit their villages. It was just beautiful. The drive from Takayama to Shirakawa was a bit uneventful with lots of tunnel, with one that was 11km long.

Anyway, going back to the Best Western in Takayama. It's a great option if you can get a great deal. If you pay more than 13000 yen, it would be overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcgraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Best Western, has never let us down in many locations around the globe, and this was no exception! The rooms were large and beds comfy- They are a little lower than American beds though- so if you have a hip or knee problem, as I do, a bit challenging to get up from! They are a block behind the train station, which was nice with our luggage. Shopping abounds all over the city and the sights are worth going there for at least 1 night. The breakfast was included, and offered either a full American or Japanese breakfast, which was more than enough for us. We kept our luggage there the next morning,while we toured around before moving on around 1:30pm to our next stop.The staff was very polite and helpful and marked our maps with all the places that we wanted to go to.(exact marking too!, which was very easy to find, considering we were asking about restaurants that I had read about!) The town has many little quirky streets to navigate around-all with no names, so that was a huge plus for us! The bus is very convenient, as well, to the Hida Village outside of town-which I really recommend seeing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parkdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located about two minutes’ walk from the station. Takayama is only small so you can explore the whole town on foot easily from the hotel. The hotel is a pretty generic best western, with no Japanese character, but it is perfectly fine for a night or two. The room was quite small, and the bathroom was tiny. It was quite comfortable and had TV and tea/coffee facilities. There is free wifi. Breakfast was included and was a mix of continental style and traditional Japanese items. The staff were helpful and welcoming. We wanted to have a drink in the hotel bar, but it was inexplicably closed both nights we were there. There wasn’t much else by way of nightlife and somewhere to have a drink, and most places were deserted or seemed to be closed, but this might just have been the time of year we were there. I would recommend this hotel if you want a predictable, western style hotel that is good value, however if you want a more unique experience, or traditional Japanese, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last week on our 2 week "Return to Japan" holiday. Very good location on street back from Takayama station, which is extremely helpful when you're carrying luggage around. It's also close to a convenience store (Family Mart) and about 10 minutes walk to the main sightseeing district across the river.

We paid approx AUD125pn which was an extremely good rate for what we got - clean, decently sized (for Japanese standards) western hotel room. The reception staff spoke good English and it seemed to be very popular with other foreigners.

Our only minor gripe is that the bed was hard and the furnishings a bit dated, though it looks as though they had done a minor renovation recently. Otherwise, we were very pleased with the Best Western and would stay again when we return to Takayama.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

After a couple of rather traditional Japanese business hotels, I decided to give the BW Takayama a try. We found exactly what we expected with (for Japanese standards) huge rooms, soft (!) beds, and the perfect location for trips by car and on foot. Parking in the hotel tower garage was efficient and for free. The breakfast was buffet style with many western and Japanese options. All was very clean and in very good shape - I cannot confirm an earlier review describing the rooms to show great wear, The A/C was efficient even for an American taste while not being noisy at all. The staff, from front desk to maid services was friendly, helpful, and accommodating at any point in time.

The true value, however, presented itself after our rental car battery died in the hotel garage tower. The staff was immediately trying to call a car service to have this fixed but a supervisor (?) jumped in and took control of the situation. One employee took off with a bike and was back with a set of jump cables within five minutes. Another employee was getting his private car out of the garage and repositioned it for a jump start. In about 15 minutes, our previously dead rental car was jump-started, luggage was loaded, and the car was driven in front of the lobby by the staff so that we only had to get in and drive off. All at no charge or even at the slightest request of going such distance in customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank super-grobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Great location, 200 meter from train station and easy 7 minutes walk from historic center.
Rooms are very large, compared to the Japanese standard. Breakfast is extremely good and varied including both western and Japanese dishes. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#9 of 175 in Takayama
804 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 175 in Takayama
466 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 175 in Takayama
521 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hoshokaku
Hoshokaku
#20 of 175 in Takayama
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Takayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Takayama

Address: 6-6 Hanasatocho, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Takayama
#15 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range: $107 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Takayama 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Takayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Takayama
Takayama Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing