We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Little Family Run Coffee House”
Review of Coffee Don

Coffee Don
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Little Family Run Coffee House”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The friendly family greet you warmly in their cozy and comfortable coffee hose and serve you excellent coffee in nice cups. We came back again and again and we thought their latte was among the best we had tried in Japan.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    63
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, cool little cafe”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We went here this afternoon. The best coffee I've had in Japan (not exactly known for its proficiency in the cappuccino department), not Australian standards of course, but better than you might expect. It has a large menu for drinks/cakes and some other food (sandwiches etc.). A really nice cafe in Takayama.

The staff are lovely - they even took a photo of us with a Polaroid camera and wrote the date on it and handed it to us. Very friendly!

Very easy to find with a map.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great coffee and light meals”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Even though we were only in Takayama for a few days, we visited Coffee Don three times during our stay. There is an English menu, and a comprehensive range of coffees and drinks to choose from.

Aside from coffee and a nice welcoming place to watch the world go by (take the front seat near the window for optimal viewing), Coffee Don does an excellent serve of jam toast ... seriously, the best jam toast I've ever had!

It was great to enjoy a coffee at a place that is obviously popular with the locals, and has warm service to match. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We loved this place. Good coffee, great service and good prices. It's like stepping back in time! The only negative thing would be the smoking at the bar but most places in Japan allow this. Other than this, it is definitely worth stopping by.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CCfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
658 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Coffee Don's is a family run restaurant with good food at good prices. We went for breakfast and coffee/cake in the afternoon. The restaurant is located on a arcade type street where you can stroll and window shop.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Don also viewed

Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Coffee Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing