We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely time in bicycle with Satoyama Experience”

Satoyama Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.04*
and up
Takayama Food and Culture Walking Day Tour
More Info
$68.46*
and up
Hida Biking Day Tour
More Info
$44.14*
and up
Short Bike Tour of Hida
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have many programs in which you can experience rural culture and history inherited in satoyama. Especially, HIDA SATOYAMA CYCLING, ART & CULTURE, TOWN & VILLAGE WALK are very popular guided tours in HIDA-TAKAYAMA!Please enjoy the special time you can have only here through the tours connecting daily lives of local people with your travel.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We visited Gifu region (Shirakawa, Hida, Takayama and surroundings) in April 2014. It was easy to make a reservation on the Internet a few weeks before our arrival in Japan.

Our guide has been the kindest, the ride was exciting and plenty of things to see and discover as we stopped by every now and then to listen to him telling us about the culture and traditions of the people living there. The cup of tea, the pictures and the lovely thank you email sent from Satoyama Experience after the ride ... we could not have been treated better, in such a respectful and friendly way.

A memorable ride we recommend to whoever is willing to enjoy both the countryside and culture of Gifu region !

Thank Guillaume F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satoyama, マネージャー at Satoyama Experience, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you so much for joining in our cycling tour.
I'm so happy to know you enjoyed everything we offered. When we did the tour, the weather was so warm and just perfect for cycling. We could see the beautiful mountains and the fantastic scenery of the countryside.

I hope you have enjoyed the rest of your trip in Japan as much as you did here.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Hisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 485 of 744 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We did the standard tour 28th March and really enjoyed ourselves!
Misa the young girl who took our tour was very knowledgable of the local area. She was very chatty and happy to listen to all our travel stories. Her English was excellent!!
When we got back to the office the owner (I assume) and other staff were there and the owner made a speech that it was Misa's last day working for them and they wanted to present her flowers in front if her final tour group. Misa got upset and I had a few tears myself as it was an emotional moment :-) :-)
It was good she still put do much heart into her job right up to her final moments.
Good luck to you Misa on your future, your a lovely girl and your great English will definitely help you with your future :-) :-)

Thank 30thenew20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satoyama, マネージャー at Satoyama Experience, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your comment.
It's really wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the tour and to have you on her last tour. She was one of our best guides. It's sad to lose her, but we wish her successful future.

Thank you very much for sharing the time with us.

Hope you had a great time in Japan for the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The lovely people at Rural Japan Explorer helped arrange a beautiful, mostly self-guided tour for us in the Japanese Alps.
We started with some serious pampering in a beautiful, old ryokan at Fukuji Onsen - who knew lazing in a hot spring bath amidst snow covered mountains and forests, waiting for amazing meals could be so much fun!
Then on to Takayama and another great ryokan. While there we also did a day trip to Hida Furukawa. Hida Satoyama Cycling's Hisa gave us a fascinating tour of the carpentry museum and the town's old wooden houses and temples. We enjoyed learning about the traditional crafts and festivals (and he kindly didn't mention that we delayed his lunch for over an hour with all our questions!
After that we left for Shirakawa-go's incredibly picturesque thatched houses deep in a snowy valley and from there on to Kanazawa. Our only regret was not staying longer.
Shiho, Hisa and Mayumi arranged everything perfectly and were happy to give us lots of advice and assistance with ways to pass our days at each place. They booked great places to stay and got us excellent seats on trains and buses, including the trips to and from Tokyo.

Thank tarostra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satoyama, マネージャー at Satoyama Experience, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
It's great to know that you enjoyed everything we organised for you.
Ryokans, Onsen and Japanese meals are all good things to try. Happy to hear that you liked all of them.
The town, Furukawa, has got many things to show you. Our guided tour is a great way to see them. Thank you for mentioning about his lunch time. It wasn't a big problem for him. I'm just glad that you enjoyed visiting this small town.

Thank you very much for writing the comment about everything.
All the staff are very pleased that we could make your stay great.

Hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Did the whole day tour in Oct 2013.
The route was great, absolutely beautiful.
Misa our guide was trying to explain as much as possible and also keeping the group together.
I would recommend this tour to everyone - my only feedback would be that for the price (which is slightly steep) of the day tour I would request them to improve the quality of lunch provided.

Thank suhritk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satoyama, マネージャー at Satoyama Experience, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you very much for joining in a Ride and Hike tour.
We really appreciate your feedback. We will think about what we can do to improve the tour.

I hope you will come back and try other tours in different seasons.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We met the lovely people at Hida Satoyama Cycling through their Rural Japan Explorer website www.rural-japan.com and they helped arrange a wonderful, mostly self-guided tour for us in the Japanese Alps.
We started with some serious pampering in a beautiful, old ryokan at Fukuji Onsen - who knew lazing in a hot spring bath amidst snow covered mountains and forests, waiting for amazing meals could be so much fun!
Then on to Takayama and another great ryokan. While there we also did a day trip to Hida Furukawa. Hisa gave us a fascinating tour of the carpentry museum and the town's old houses and temples. We enjoyed learning about the traditional crafts and festivals (and he kindly didn't mention that we delayed his lunch for over an hour with all our questions!
After that we left for Shirakawa-go's incredibly picturesque thatched houses deep in a snowy valley and from there on to Kanazawa. Our only regret was not staying longer.
Shiho, Hisa and Mayumi arranged everything perfectly and were happy to give us lots of advice and assistance with ways to pass our days at each place. They booked great places to stay and got us excellent seats on trains and buses, including the trips to and from Tokyo.

We're definitely planning to go back and try the cycling tours they offer!

Thank tarostra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satoyama, マネージャー at Satoyama Experience, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your great review.
You mentioned all the things we did for you. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed what we organised. Seeing the mountains withe deep snow and soaking the body in onsen at the old ryokan sound so good.
I enjoyed taking you for the walking tour in the town and showing what the town had. Answering all the questions was a part of my work, so it wasn't a problem for me to have lunch late.

There are so much to see in Hida region. Winter is one of the beautiful time of the year, but other seasons are also great, too. I hope you will get a chance to come back.

I'll look forward to taking you for a cycling tour next time.

Thank you very much for taking time to write this review.

Hisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satoyama Experience also viewed

 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Satoyama Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing