We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I stayed in this J-Hoppers property for 2 nights during the new year of 2013. It's one of my favorite J-Hoppers thus far. The room is pretty spacious; toilets and shower stalls are in good condition. It was pretty cold when I visited Hida-Takayama, but my room was warm and cozy. Super friendly and helpful staff; good food recommendation! I also joined the J-Hoppers tour to Shirakawa-go, which was totally rewarding!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzysnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    136
    37
    5
    0
See reviews for
39
70
82
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

J-Hoppers is conveniently located close to the JR train station and bus station. Takayama is a walkable city but you can also rent bicycles from J-Hoppers. The hostel has a nice big kitchen, comfortable dorm rooms with plenty of space to put your backpack, plenty of bathrooms, 2 chill-out rooms and a small backyard for smokers. They have snow boots for winter that you can use as well for free. No breakfast but they do provide coffee and tea.
There's a supermarket 10 minutes away. Staff is super friendly and helpful. If you stay 3 nights you get a 300 yen discount on the 3rd night! Great base for Kamikochi and Shin-Hotaka. There's a tourist center right outside the train and bus station that can tell you about discount tickets for the surrounding attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I don't easily give out five "bubbles" on Trip Advisor, but this place earned it for its excellent combination of value, facilities, and last but not least awesome staff.

The place: I stayed in a Japanese style private room with tatami mats as the floor, a comfortable bed, and ample space, all for about $35 USD per night in May 2014. Everything about the room was great, including the thick curtain you could pull because it gets light at 4:30 am in the morning in Japan in May. The bathrooms were shared, but this is not an issue for me. As to location, Takayama is small enough where it really doesn't matter where you stay because everything is within a ten minute walk. JHoppers also had a big kitchen for cooking, a movie room, and a beer vending machine onsite.

The staff is what really set it apart in my mind, however. Within three minutes of walking in the door the nicest manager ever was sharing songs with me off her iPhone that she were playing in the background. You got the same type of friendliness from the other staff as well - they were always up for chatting. The guesthouse also organized a dinner on the Saturday night I was there and about 15 of us all went out and had a great time. To top it off, I got a hug when I left. I can't say enough about how welcoming they were at JHoppers.

Don't stay anywhere else if you go to Takayama.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It was really near the Takayama st. Only 10-15 minutes walked. The staffs are very helpfull, could speak English very well. Like the room very much. It has traditional touch (tatami matress) but compact with modern shower. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you have a big suitcase, please asked for 1st or 2nd fl. I got floor on 4th fl. But since I'm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

For my one and only night i stayed at Jhoppers.
It was really near the station that is really convenient!!

The staff is really nice and helped me to print some documents for my next destination.

Come to Jhoppers!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thao89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The staff here are friendly, the place is cheap, clean and very well located. We stayed for 2 nights and slept very well in the female shared dormitory.

The downside for us was the slightly difficult showering arrangements - trying to get dry and dressed inside the shower cubicle was very awkward indeed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodle4hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

For one of my teenage daughters, this was a first hostel experience and it was very positive. We stayed in a triple share, Japanese style room . The room, kitchen and bathrooms were very clean and comfortable, and the location between the station and historical area very convenient. But the highlight was the incredibly helpful staff who went out of their way to assist.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travellingpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#9 of 174 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Country Hotel Takayama
#18 of 174 in Takayama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 174 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#13 of 174 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
K's House Takayama
#2 of 25 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guest House

Property: J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guest House
Address: 5-52 Nadamachi, Takayama 506-0021, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty lodging in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing