We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Takayama is a small town so you better stay in the strategic location so I'd say to choose J-Hoppers.
Rooms are basic & clean. We stayed at the traditional room and it's so big!
overall I love my stay at Hida-Takayama. People there are very polite & friendly.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank sarahanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 329 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Jhoppers Takayama is a 5 minute walk from the station. Rooms are basic and neat. Toilets are available in each floor with hair dryer and sink. However, shower area is located at the ground floor which I find it inconvenient. There is no lift so if you are carrying a rolling luggage and your room is on the 4th floor like us, this will be a challenge.

The reception area is closed at a certain time of the day so when we arrived around noon time, no one was available to answer queries. We had to leave our luggage and come back late in the afternoon to check in. I find that the only plus points of this guesthouse are the location, the free wifi and the price. I would probably look for a better hostel next time.

Room Tip: No lift available. Pick 2nd floor rooms if you have wheeled luggage.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We loved our stay in Takayama ! The guesthouse is really well located and the traditional room was great! The staff is super friendly (for the record we forgot clothes and they sent them to our next hotel). We also recommend the trip the Shirakawago and its lovely Gassho-style houses!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninjashoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Convenient location 3 minute walk from station. Staff spoke English well which such a plus in Japan be many hotels have little to no English speaking staff. Friday we had a Japanese BBQ amazing food all you can eat for only 300 yen. Town is nice but not much to really do. Takayama pretty much a ghost town the four days we were there. Recommend the onsen at green hotel, which is a ten minute walk. There's also a large supermarket other side of train line on the way to green hotel. You can get great groceries for great value.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenneygunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I had a great feeling about the place when I stepped in. The staff was friendly, there are numerous posters and flyers with information about the area, and there are plenty of pictures of happy travellers on the walls. There was a very friendly and laid-back vibe about the place. We didn't really hang about the common area much but it seemed clean and tidy enough. Overall, the place seemed very well-maintained.

We had a room with ensuite bathroom. It was a traditional Japanese-style room and the smell of tatami was wonderful. The bath and toilet are clean and the room was very spacious for two people. There was TV and fan in the room, but if you wanted to use a refrigerator, you have to use the one in the common room. One great thing was the free WIFI in the rooms. However, I was very disappointed by the fact that the a/c didn't really work (in fact, the fan was better!). It was really warm and humid and because of that, I could hardly sleep. Another thing I didn't quite like about the place was that we had to put on the sheets for the futon and the duvets ourselves, and then bring it downstairs on the day we check-out. Still, I'd try staying at J-hoppers in other Japanese cities next time.

The guesthouse is pretty near the Takayama station as well as the old town (easy access to the morning markets!). One point to note if you are driving though, the guesthouse doesn't have any parking facilities. Your best bet would be the paid parking lot across the street (It's not so pricey if you park between 8pm - 8am).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alienshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We got a decent night's sleep here. The hostel is conveniently located to the train/main village area and it is clean and tidy. The staff is adequately friendly. The price is fair. There are loaner rain boots and umbrellas which came in handy more than once during our short stay.

What we didn't like as much...
The showers were on the 1st floor, we were on the 3rd floor... not great.
The slippers were made of a slippery pleather that was hard to keep on my socked feet when I went up and down the stairs! I slipped once and that wasn't fun.
When we arrived in the early afternoon, the front desk was closed during those hours so we could not check in and had to leave our luggage in an unlocked room next to the lobby area while we went out and killed time. Everything was safe, but we didn't love needing to wait over an hour for our room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avideno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The room was small, but clean and comfortable. Also liked the photo's on the wall,it gave the place a nice touch.
The girl on the front desk was very nice and helpful and free wifi is a plus in my book.
Too bad they didn't have showers on every floor. Our room was on the fourth floor, so we had to go down to the ground floor for a shower. That was a bit inconvenient, especially with the hot weather during our stay in Takayama.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Cylanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#10 of 175 in Takayama
783 reviews
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 175 in Takayama
533 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Country Hotel Takayama
#18 of 175 in Takayama
364 reviews
K's House Takayama
#2 of 28 in Takayama
267 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#2 of 175 in Takayama
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guest House

Address: 5-52 Nadamachi, Takayama 506-0021, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty lodging in Takayama
Price Range: $24 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing