We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveler rating
448
129
49
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
129
49
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private bath japanese breakfast green tea hida beef little touches train station ryokan experience wonderful ryokan old town moment you arrive dinner one night minute walk room was large convenient location public onsen stayed here for three nights traditional room
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 637 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2015

We absolutely loved this place. This is our third family trip to Japan, and our third stay in a ryokan - and this one has been the best yet. Service was impeccable, our room was roomy and comfortable (the faint aroma of tatami mats is just lovely - we slept extremely well), and the food was plentiful, very fresh, and beautifully prepared. The location is also quiet and yet quite central. We rented bikes each day from a small place across the street for a (very) nominal fee and really enjoyed pedaling around town. You will not be disappointed (and once you factor in the food, you'll find the rate to be a very good value as well).

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank apatontheback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2015

I've never stayed in a "real" traditional ryokan so I can't really say if Oyado Koto no yume is really traditional, however by the end of our stay it didn't matter at all. We found this place very welcoming, comfortable, and above all very charming. The way they do things there is just different enough from a regular hotel to classify it as a different experience and in a way it was sort of home-like. Being able to sit in the lobby and drink tea before going up to the room was a nice touch, and when I say "lobby" don't think of a regular hotel lobby, it was more like being in someone's home, with bookshelves along the wall and an interesting fire pit with a curious apparatus above it: a kettle with a large metal fish that was ornamental but also served some function, I'm guessing it was a sort of counterbalance that lifted the kettle away from the fire. You can see the photos here on tripadvisor. Anyway, there's also a private bath you can reserve that was extremely relaxing, it wasn't fancy but it was nice, and it was everything it needed to be. The food was pretty good and was served in the Japanese fashion of many small portions. There was a small amount of the local beef that was supposed to be a big deal, what we had at this hotel was far better than what we'd had at a local restaurant.

The town of Takayama, where the hotel is located, is fairly touristy, but not nearly as obnoxious as any other tourist trap I've been in and it was a relaxing change of pace from Tokyo. Don't get me wrong, I love Tokyo, but being away from it for a bit was nice.

Service at Oyado Koto no yume was excellent, everyone was extremely friendly and spoke english well. We came in contact with several staff members during our short stay and everyone was super nice.

I really don't have any bad things to say about this place and I don't see how anyone would have any complaints about it, unless they were expecting a luxury hotel or something. As I said, the place is very welcoming, comfortable and charming, what's not to like? Arigato gozaimasu, Oyada Koto no yume!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2015

What a wonderful experience!   We loved every moment From the arrival greeting to our departure.  On arrival we were treated to tea and explanations of what to expect.  Our traditional room had a modern twist with free wifi, tv, coffee and private bathroom.  The public bath was clean and very relaxing and enjoyable.  The service was above our expectations!

We had a traditional Japanese dinner in the hotel.  We wore the hotel Yakatas to dinner with help from the staff when dressing.  The meal was amazing from start to finish;  creative and delicious keeping our dietery  requests in mind.  It was an event on its own.   I highly recommend to eat in the hotel restaurant if staying at Oyado Koto no Yume.

Room tip: Don't miss the opportunity to enjoy authentic Japanese hospitality. Our room on the 5th floor was amazing!
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank longtimetraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2015 via mobile

I don't give that title lightly, I've lived in Japan and travelled a fair bit throughout the country and this hotel is definitely my favourite, and here's why...
1. The staff are amazing. So friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble, you're never left hanging or wondering what to do. Several of them speak English, but if you know any Japanese they love it when you try it out!
2. The rooms are fresh and comfortable but also feel like a traditional ryokan room should. Enough space to spread out if you're there for a few days.
3. The food is delicious. We had breakfast there each of the four says, but dinner only once. We alternated between the western and Japanese breakfast options as they were both delicious. The last night we had dinner there for something a bit fancier and we weren't disappointed.
4. It's conveniently located. About a four or five minute walk from the train station and a five minute walk further on to the old houses district. Not much further to the temples and the float exhibition hall. You couldn't ask for a better location.
5. They have a public Onsen and a private one (available to book each day, for an extra 1100 yen). We did both and I think the public one is just as nice, so unless you like your privacy, just stick with the public option.
6. Free wi-fi. Although a lot of hotels have this now, it's still a nice extra.
7. Wear a yukata out on the town on your first night, free. They'll help you pick a yukata and obi and help you put it on if needed.
So if you are planning a trip to Takayama definitely look at this hotel as your first option for accommodation. You won't regret it.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
4  Thank JulieLee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2015

Excellent accommodations, delicious breakfasts, great onsen baths, and a very helpful and friendly staff added up to a wonderful three nights stay. This is the only ryokan we have ever stayed at that allows you to handpick your yukata and obi from a very extensive and colorful collection; a nice additional touch indeed. Koto No Yume is but a short walk from the train station and many of the historic sights, so it is a great base of operations for a stay in Takayama. Highly recommended, with the understanding that is more expensive than the typical ryokan (but worth every yen!)

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirginiaMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews