We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great onsen and great breakfast”
Review of Takayama Ouan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Takayama Ouan
Ranked #10 of 175 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I really enjoyed staying in Takayama Ouan. They have great rooftop onsen with great view of Takayama. For those who want to experience Japanese onsen but not daring enough to go public, they have 3 private onsen as well. The other thing that I really enjoyed is the breakfast. The breakfast buffet have many selection of western and Japanese breakfast. They also provide free ramen after 10.30pm for supper.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilsybilsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 811 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

Avery pampering and stylish modern old fashion guest house in the city of takayama., with a walking distance from many restaurant and shops.With romantic onsen for couples, beaytiful elaborate japanese breakfast with western dishes as well. The rooms are not large but very clean and nice.

Room Tip: we have been on the 10 floor and it was vert nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couple59060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Takayama Ouan is conveniently located; turn right out of the train station, walk until you see a very tall building on your right and you're there. In the hotel you take off your shoes and walk around the tatami floored corridors bare-foot which I found quite fun, but even more novel are the rooftop onsen. I've never been to an onsen before, and it's like having this huge hot bath which you don't have to wait to fill up. Which you have naked. With lots of other naked people. Once you get over the nakedness it's actually pretty relaxing. There are separate male and female public onsen and three private onsen which you can use for 30mins at a time. Free ramen is also served from 10.30 to 11.30pm.

The rooms are clean and functional with small bathrooms. My view was of the temple, but also of the train tracks which I could hear from time to time, but didn't really bother me. The staff are very friendly but did make a couple of mistakes, messing up our massage bookings twice. On a side note, the hotel can get really busy so do book in with the massage spa (2nd floor) in advance if you want to have a treatment. On our second day we had to wait a bit before we were let into the restaurant for breakfast.

So on the whole a friendly and novel experience and you can do a day trip to Shirakawa-go quite easily. There's not a massive amount to do in Takayama itself though, so enjoy the onsen, but you probably only need to stay for a day or two.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel was definitely an adventure....not for the faint of heart, but a cool way to experience some of the Japanese traditions. First of all, it's a quick walk from the train station, manageable even when lugging ginormous suitcases like we were, just look for the tallest building in town and head straight for it, you can't miss it. It's centrally located, and although Takayama isn't exactly a sprawling metropolis by any stretch of the imagination, it's nice to be a short walk from all the best restaurants (there is one right between this hotel and the train station with no English name, but it smells SO good just from walking by you can't miss it....you MUST go there for the beef!). Breakfast is pretty exclusively traditional Japanese food, so if you're not into that you're a bit limited. We were given a locker for our shoes and the wheels of our bags were wiped down. Everyone walks around the hotel barefoot or in slippers provided for you, which should have been our first clue to immediately drop everything and head to the rooftop Onsen, but alas, we narrowmindedly went to shower in our room. The room was tiny by just about any standards, and the bathroom/shower were basically one combined unit barely big enough for one person to turn around in a circle, and certainly too small to fit a sink (located instead in the "sitting room" portion of the room, which was easily dwarfed by our luggage). The bed is a futon on the floor, which is kinda cool to try. What we didn't figure out until our third day was, you should instead immediately ditch your luggage in the room and go straight to the spa. The reason the shower in the room is such a joke is because they have this beautiful spa upstairs that everyone spends all their time in, including hot baths on the terrace overlooking the whole city! If you're new to the whole Onsen thing (as I was), just learn the rules quickly (complete nudity is mandatory) and get over it, this place is stellar. Next thing you know you'll be wandering around the rooftop spa in the buff without a care in the world!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRSaarbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

One has to take off your shoes upon entering the hotel. Even your wheels on your suitcases get wiped before you can go to your room. We stayed in room 1212 . My first impressions was disappointing as I expected more for my money. I think your paying for the roof top facilities because you can bathe naked in a public hot spring bath over looking the Japanese Alps .Note - you have to strip off naked to use these facilities as this is Japanese custom.Dont worry; there is a mens and women The 13th floor also has a sauna which includes a huge tv. The room was very small and also the shower room as well . No bath. You don't need a bath anyway's because you have a king size bath one floor up. There is a lockable drawer instead of a safe. The hotel flooring has tatami mats all over. I did change my mind about the overall value for money when seeing the 13th floor. The breakfast was great also. My fist impression was 'WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY' but I changed my mind after using the 13th floor . The 13th floor is open from 6 am right through to 1am in the morning. Location is just a 5 minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don-Chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is about 200m from the train/bus station (simply turn right after you exit the station and its straight ahead). When we entered the lobby, it was a little chaotic, part boutique, part spa, part reception. We were quickly checked in though, given keys to a locker to store our shoes and the wheels on our suitcases cleaned.

Our room was reasonably sized, with two twins mattress on tatami mats (impossible to push together to form a king, though). There was also a couch and table to watch tv. The washroom was tiny, but functional. The real treat is the onsens on the upper levels. Both public and private baths were lovely and a treat.

We didn't eat at the hotel (seemed a little pricy), but found lots of food in the historic district. The historic district is about a 10minute walk away (back towards the station and then take a right across the main road and walk towards the river). I'd recommend going early to catch the morning market, along the river or at night, when an almost festival like atmosphere is created by all the stalls selling food and drinks. I do think one day in Takayama is probably sufficient to see the highlights.

Anyways, back to the hotel; it was clean, comfortable, but maybe a little expensive and a little dated,but the onsens make up for these little gripes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing town (not the railway tracks)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CANINLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is very close to the railway station and a short walk from the old part of town but the immediate area is not very appetising as it’s in a bit of an industrial zone, next to the railway tracks and close to busy roads. I was also wasn’t expecting a fairly new 11 storey hotel. Having said that the style of the hotel is unique, with the Tatami flooring and residents wandering around in traditional gowns. The rooftop baths are great, but only if you don’t mind going unclad. The best thing about this hotel is the food. If possible have dinner here. It’s fantastic. Breakfast is brilliant also. Downsides are small rooms and no Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NKW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 175 in Takayama
549 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 175 in Takayama
469 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hidatakayama Onsen
Takayama Green Hotel
Takayama Green Hotel
#13 of 175 in Takayama
502 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 175 in Takayama
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takayama Ouan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takayama Ouan

Address: 4-126 Hanasatomachi, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 175 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Price Range: $105 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Takayama Ouan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Takayama Ouan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Takayama Ouan Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing