We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Japanese hotel and great experience!”
Review of Takayama Ouan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Takayama Ouan
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Japanese hotel and great experience!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights.
The hotel is located about a 4 minute walk from the train station. It is outside the city center, which is about a 10 minute walk away. Not a problem though, Takayama is very small and walking friendly!
Right outside the hotel is a foot bath, perfect after a long day of walking! The hotel entrance and lobby are very pretty, with a 5 star feel. Tatami mats cover the lobby floor. For a few hours in the afternoon, there is a little 'stall' right next to the restaurant, where you can get free rice balls on a skewer. The hotel also has complimentary Ramen noodles between 10:30-11:30 PM.
Once you check in, you must remove your shoes. You can take them to your room, or put them in a little locker beside the check-in desk.
On the 13th floor, there are Onsen baths. They have public ones, as well as private. You can't reserve the private ones, but if you go late in the evening one should be available (they have 3). Note the 30 minute time limit and don't forget to bring the basket with the towels, which is in your room beside the sink!
Most people walk around the hotel in the provided Samue. You can get replacements (or a different size), in the rack outside the elevator.
The hotel staff are extremely polite, friendly and helpful. We don't speak Japanese, but had no problems communicating in English.
I had a single room. It was probably the smallest room I have ever stayed in, except for Hong Kong! However, it was so pretty and totally Japanese style, plus spotlessly clean as usual. The big bed took up most of the room space. It was super comfortable though! If you have 'joint' problems beware: The bed is very low, almost on the floor - basically 1 step up from Tatami mats! Also, if you have a lot of luggage you may have a problem. There is just no space to put anything! Best to ship your big suitcases to your next destination and come with just a carry-on suitcase! There was a large AC unit on the ceiling. It kept blowing cold air directly at the bed, even at the lowest fan setting. It was uncomfortable and the directions were only in Japanese, so I couldn't figure out how to change the direction of the fan. Unfortunately the windows didn't open and it was hot out, so I had to use it.
The bathroom is interesting. There is a stall shower (which I was very happy about!) and an enclosed toilet. The sink is in the main room. Don't turn on the tap very much, the faucet is too short and water splashes all over the counter. Decent counter space and the usual provided toiletries. Only 1 towel was provided, which I assume I was to use in the Onsen AND shower? No problems asking for additional towels at the front desk though!
The hotel has 2 restaurants, but we didn't eat at either. The food anywhere in Takayama is great and not expensive (unless you want it to be!). The whole town is wonderful, very small and you can walk everywhere. It's almost impossible to get lost! There is a lot to see and English directions everywhere (on the way into the old part of the city, look on the sidewalk for directions carved on grey stone - very original and fits in perfectly!).
Just an FYI: Takayama is very close to Shirwakago (the little town with the grass covered farm houses). Perfect stop on the way to Takayama, or as a day trip.
We loved Takayama and really enjoyed our first real Japanese (no business hotel) experience!

Room Tip: Single rooms are tiny, don't bring a lot of luggage. Make sure to visit the Onsen on the 13th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    329
    91
    33
    16
See reviews for
185
339
65
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Booked through booking.com which says our 3 year old daughter could stay in a twin room with no additional charge. We were charged 2100 yen per night for our daughter when we checked in which was unexpected.
The room was small, but relatively comfortable. No much room for a family with a young kid. Air condition was terrible as the temperature was constantly changing. The ritual of taking shoes off at the lobby was a bit odd at first, but it makes all sense that it does keep the room clean.
Loved the private bath on the roof top.
Don't eat at the restaurant, over priced...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I spent two nights here in April. It's a Japanese-style hotel, unlike any other place I stayed on my trip. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the train station. Takayama as a whole is very easy to navigate on foot, so the location was fine. There was a hot foot bath outside the entrance, and inside the lobby the shoes came off, deposited in little wooden lockers. The hotel was all done up in tatami matting and very unique. My Japanese-style room (double) was very spacious and well-appointed. The hotel had great Japanese-style baths on the upper floor, including open-air baths. The breakfast buffet featured a lot of Japanese options. There were complimentary noodles served in one of the restaurants every night at 10:30. There was no wi-fi, but computers with internet access were available. There was a bit of a language barrier at the front desk, but nothing insurmountable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaykay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a great hotel. I loved the reviews so booked it based on these and the fact it was a 5 minute walk from the train station. From the moment we walked in I knew that we had made a great choice, easy check in (I can speak basic Japanese) and after leaving our shoes locked up downstairs loved the room and the view of the snow capped mountains.
The public and private onsens were great, I would rate the private onsens overlooking the town as the best I have ever experienced.
Breakfast was amazing and I recommend to book a rate that includes it. A walk to everywhere and a hotel/town that we really enjoyed and will go back to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0astieb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and is our first time to Takayama. Wanted to stay in a ryokan but we do not like sleeping on futon so this hotel is more inclined towards our needs since they provide futon bed instead.

1. Location
- 5 to 10mins walk from JR Takayama
-15 mins walk to Takayama Jinya and 18mins to Sanmachi
- accessible to many areas by foot since the town is small however you need to take a bus to Hida no Sato which takes just 8mins
- this is one of the better hotels near the train station

2. Rooms
- nice decor (Japanese theme)
- futon bed
- seating area
- one complaint is the bathroom since there is only a standing shower area and no bath tub. We chose to bathe in the private onsen area with a great view!
- small if you have more than 2 luggage
- great views of the Japan Alps and town from the room

3. Service
- very polite but few staff speak English
- the hotel offers many perks like free Sarubobo doll bracelet and strap for young children, free umbrella during rainy days, free foot bath at hotel entrance, free tea and flowers upon checkin, free onsen/private baths, free ramen at 1030pm, free apple juice at bath area!!! So many free items that make you feel pampered:)

3. Others
- private baths are amazing in structure and views. You have 30mins each time and they are extremely good for families, couples and shy folks.
- we didn't take their breakfast and dinner. There are simply too many great eating places in Takayama in fact the beef restaurant between the hotel and station is amazing! Great food at valued prices! Please try it.
- the hotel seems to be offering many items for sale eg facial/moisturizers, tea, wagashi, souvenirs, umbrellas. I guess they really target to increase the penetration into the wallet share of their guests...however I think is unhealthy for other retailers who then lose their business to such hotels.
- no wifi so is good for those who just want to relax and get away from work emails
- this is a shoe free hotel so put your shoes in the locker provided and put on socks to keep your feet warm and clean

Is a very popular hotel with even locals so do book early to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catteaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is very near to the train station and well maintained. It has the comforts of a modern hotel with clean toilets and showers and a normal bed yet retains the charm of a Japanese Ryokan with tatami mats and an onsite onsen. Typical of a Japanese ryokan all guests have to take off their shoes and placed in a cabinet before entering the hotel. Beautiful.

The dinner is excellent: a Japanese kaiseki. So daintily presented and yet so delicious.

Enjoyed my stay there even though the spoken language is in Japanese and a little English to get by.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel for help as to how to use the electrical appliances as they are all in Japanese.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soohiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed two nite, 5min. Walk from the Takayama station, breakfast have very good spread, that's include small portion for the western like bread & salad,,,, of course the Japanese b/fast even much better, as we booked the 4 in the room, just enough for us, very clean & comfortable. The Onsen on the 12 floor was great, with indoor and outdoor, when we were there, it was lower than 10 degree, when you dip in the outdoor onsen, it was real real feeling good! In addition, they serve ramen from 1030 for one hour FREE, it's true,, I can't find any fault, do not know how many star for
this hotel, I grade them FIVE !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickyYukari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 174 in Takayama
434 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 174 in Takayama
509 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 174 in Takayama
481 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Takayama Green Hotel
Takayama Green Hotel
#13 of 174 in Takayama
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takayama Ouan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takayama Ouan

Property: Takayama Ouan
Address: 4-126 Hanasatocho, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Takayama Ouan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Takayama Ouan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Takayama Ouan Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing