We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast and Private Onsen”
Review of Takayama Ouan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Takayama Ouan
Ranked #10 of 175 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the excellent Trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Stayed here for 2 nights last July and thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast which has a sumptuous variety and the private onsen on the top floor (which was the main reason we chose this hotel as we were very shy to use the public onsen). There are 3 private onsen (single, couple and family) and a public onsen (one for male and another for female). Outside the onsen, there is a place to chill out and free yakult-like drinks which you can help yourselves after the bath. There is also a free laundry room so you can put your clothes to wash and meanwhile, use the onsen, We even got delicious free mochis (2 pcs) stocked inside our room fridge every day (nice surprise as we were hungering for mochis). :P

It was lovely to walk around the hotel dressed in yukata and socks as the place was covered with tatami, which made us feel very much at home and Japanese. There is also a free internet station on one of the floors for use. The hotel is located within a short walking distance to the train and bus station and nearby eateries. We took a bus from here to the nearby Hida Folk Village and Shinhotaka Ropeway.

If you want recommendation on meals, check with the reception. They recommended us to a nearby Takayama Ramen shop round the corner and it was pretty good and also a dinner place opposite the train station, which we frequented 2 nights. Lovely hotel and great service.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room at the top floor for better view.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank lmllim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 811 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

it's quite expensive to me but the room was comfortable and the onsen are wonderful. The staff speaks really well English & the thing i like most is u r able to walk in the whole hotel (except lobby of coz) in barefoot or with socks coz it's covered in tatami (yes, even lifts also tatami), so jus wear the hotel provided clothes n socks then u can go down for breakfast..they also have private onsen (if u r shy) but i went during GW so neva got the chance to try, the public onsen is great, with an outdoor onsen as well (if u r shy like me then propose u go near/aft midnite n very early in the mornin where it's less crowdy) ..oh yes, there's also a ashiyu (foot bath) outside of the hotel .. it's near the train station so be prepared of the densha noise, inform staff to select a quieter room if u mind

Room Tip: the hotel is just beside train track, if u r a light sleeper then do ensure u inform the staff to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meiyih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. The establishment is very well maintained and clean. Love the onsen on the top floor with an outdoor pool as well. The view isn't fantastic but the room was lovely. Love walking around in just socks and the Japanese clothes (2-piece garment, forgotten what's it called). They have a thicker coat you can wear in the winter when walking around the hotel. There's complimentary ramen *yum* in the evening and complimentary yoghurt drinks outside the onsen baths. Close to the train station and within walking distance to the old town.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Pros:
- location is a short walk from Takayama station.
- new hotel.
- nice indoor and outdoor onsen.
- great breakfast - variety and quality of the Japanese food was impressive.
- free ramen for supper after 1045pm.

Cons:
- having to leave the shoes in one small locker per room at the ground floor with only one key.
- lifts were rather slow.
- limited car park lots.
- low mattress was not very comfortable.
- service from the receptionist was neither warm nor helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SingaporeSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I arrived in this small town in the evening. It's so different from the other big towns. The hotel can be reachable by walking to the right from the train station for 5 minutes. Every spot is covered with mattress so you'll need to take off your shoes, clean your bag's wheel.

Inside the room, it's so nice that I've jumped and took several pics to let people easily know that I'm in Japan :) You'll wear the sleeping kimono. At the top of the building, there's this nice 'onsen' /hot pool to enjoy yourself after walking a full day browsing the town. When I did the spa, it's so quiet, only me and the relaxing night view outside. It's so memorable as when I close my eyes now, I can still picture the situation. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BambangKaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

What a unique experience for a Japan newbie, and so different from Tokyo. As others have said, it's five minutes' walk from the train station - walk outside, turn right, follow the road until you see a tall building on the right. It's not signposted in English but impossible to miss. What you may miss is the footbath right outside the entrance - wish I'd seen that earlier.

When we checked in, we were given the drill by the friendly, English speaking staff. Remove your shoes and use the key they give you to the foot lockers just past reception to store them. Wipe the wheels on your wheelie bag with the rag next to the foot lockers so you don't get the tatami floors dirty. There are three private onsen on the 13th floor - they are first come, first served, and they explain how you can tell if they're occupied. If you find an empty one, you can use it for 30 minutes. You scrub yourself down before getting in (naked). Then enjoy the peace, serenity, warm water and lovely view of the town from 13 floors above. (Ours was open air but with a roof, so we could enjoy the rainy day from our peaceful bath.) We didn't try the public onsen.

The rooms are small - bit of a challenge finding space for luggage - but cozy. Very pleasant. No English speaking TV but my husband enjoyed sumo wrestling. Inside you'll find onsen-wear, which you can wear anywhere inside the hotel, including breakfast - pajama style top, bottom and socks. Very comfortable.

And then there's breakfast. (We didn't bother with dinner - too expensive anyway.) Breakfast was included and was from another world. All sorts of tiny dishes, mostly Japanese, including the local "weeds" (you'll hear the story), fish, meat-on-a-stick, etc. Very exotic to a westerner.

As others have said, there are laundry facilities on the 13th floor (same as the onsen rooms) - wash is free and dryers are metered at 100 yen for 20 minutes. We bought detergent at a local Family Mart but I wouldn't be surprised if it was sold at the hotel.

Anyway, what a lovely place and a unique experience.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor facing the tracks, and we slept well. It's not like the trains are pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pezworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel is very close to the train station. I spent a night here on 10th floor with moutain view. A room is not big but adequate, normal size for Japan hotel. An onsen bath on the top floor is so good. They have many onsen baths, a private room is so nice for a couple, an outdoor onsen has a great city view, an indoor one has a private section where you can laydown your back after travelling. Buffet Breakfast is very nice with variety of foods. There is a small shopping corner on 1st floor as well. The only thing is that you just need to stay on high floor 'coz the noise from railway may bother you if you open the window. The city and moutain view is a plus. Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request for a higher floor with moutain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOkura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 175 in Takayama
549 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 175 in Takayama
469 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hidatakayama Onsen
Takayama Green Hotel
Takayama Green Hotel
#13 of 175 in Takayama
502 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 175 in Takayama
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takayama Ouan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takayama Ouan

Address: 4-126 Hanasatomachi, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 175 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Price Range: $105 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Takayama Ouan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Takayama Ouan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Takayama Ouan Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing