We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking essential”
Review of Heianraku

Heianraku
Ranked #2 of 1,069 Restaurants in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We don't have a beef. We served chinese & local dishes. Cooking can correspond to vegetarian, vegan, various allergies.
Reviewed July 2, 2015

There is not a lot I can add to the reviews here. This is an excellent place and if you have a vegetarian in your party, you will struggle in beefy Takayama. So book this restaurant. We were lucky to get in on our first night and on the next 3 they had a Fully Booked sign up for lunch and dinner. We had wanted a second visit but had not got ourselves organised enough. We had simple, cheap, delicious food cooked in front of us and with plenty of chat from the delightful hosts.
Look out for the empty sake bottle on a string which helps to close the door. " Japanese technology " as the owner/chef told us.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 281 of 540 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2015 via mobile

We ordered tofu, dumplings and stir-fry style noodles all dishes were among the best we've had so far on our trip...prices are more than reasonable, restaurant owner who was dressed in an elegant Japanese robe which added to the charm of the restaurant, she was super friendly and spoke pretty good but english, she had us taste local tempura vegetables and sake which we did not order....overall great experience, we highly recommend!

Date of visit: June 2015
1  Thank Ilagam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015

We were very pleased by the food quality and the service. The food was authentic, homemade and delicious. The fried rice and vegetable were very tasty.
The owners were extremely friendly! We appreciate the time they took with us to talk and explain things to us. For example, they served a little sake servings explaining the differences between both bottles . Even if they speak some english, this place isn't at exclusive for tourists, locals also come in. So you're sure the food is authentic.
It's a must in Takayama.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LMCrampon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2015

Very different style of Japanese food, a lot of choice for the vegetarian diet. The host and hostess are very welcoming and entertaining. It's only a small place so get there early 5.30 to 6pm or later after 7pm to avoid disappointment, or get your hotel to book. Best Gyoza we have ever tasted we got the fried ones. Best Sake as well try the 'aged in ice', or the hostesses favourite before it runs out.

Date of visit: June 2015
1  Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

This place gets top ranking on TripAdvisor for Takayama and sometimes that puts me off, but I'm glad we tried this one as it was really great. It was hands down the best gyoza I have had, and we eat gyoza often. The karaage was delicious, and my husband's chili tofu was also really nice.
To top it off we had a bottle of the most delicious sake I've ever drunk, smooth and slightly fruity.
The hostess was what made the night perfect though as she chatted to you and gave recommendations and was genuinely interested in where you came from and what you thought of Takayama and of Japan. She gave us a free sample of sake so we could decide which bottle to have and she hands out her favourite chocolate at the end of the meal.
This is a small place so I recommend going early to ensure you don't miss out!

Date of visit: June 2015
1  Thank JulieLee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heianraku also viewed

Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Heianraku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing