We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heianraku

Heianraku
Ranked #2 of 869 Restaurants in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: We don't have a beef. We served chinese & local dishes. Cooking can correspond to vegetarian, vegan, various allergies.
Zeeuws Vlaanderen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Being a vegetarian is extra challenging in Japan. This is a country where some restaurants think fish and bacon are vegetables as well. And although I believe the Japanese got tons of things right what we got very wrong in Europe, smoking in restaurants is clearly not one of those things.

Heianraku is a small restaurant, run by a lovely hospitable family where the atmosphere is great, you won't be gassed to death while enjoying your dinner and which serves tasty food (vegetarian if you wish) for a very reasonable price.

We went there twice and loved it.
If we ever come back to Takayama, we'll make sure to have dinner there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aldiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    30
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We currently live in Tokyo so we try and eat at local restaurants rather than hotels or ryokans when we travel. Using trip advisor we thought Heianraku sounded like the type of place we like to try and it certainly did not dissapoint. One of the best dishes we tasted was a tofu dish which was amazing as was the homemade ginger beer which brought back memories of my childhood in Australia. The restaurant is nice and cosy and has a great atmosphere and we will certainly recommend it to friends when they travel to Takayama. Heianraku should be number 1 on trip advsior however this could be because the restaurant is very small and may be overlooked by international tourists.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner in Heianrsku, Takayama”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Nice authentic and warm resturant. Cooking done in front of the bar in the entrance. Rooms and dining area available.
I enjoyed the food, was fresh and tasty. The owners are couple that operate the resturant in very efficient and charming way. The husband is great Volker and the lady doing great job in serving all the patients in charming way.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dror A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Real food you can eat! Superb.”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Near the Hida store, good parking available nearby.
My wife and I came across this restaurant after not being able to find anything very edible in our hotel.

It's an oasis of warmth and friendliness with English menus that are wonderfully long and not the usual 3 things in English you may have come across in other lesser restaurants.

Husband and wife team and very helpful. The set menu looks good as do all the a la carte options (we had this).

My wife had deep fried chicken, egg fried rice and steamed vegetables. I had the non soupy noodles with vegetables and chicken. Both were excellent, though a word of caution with the deep fried chicken - between 4 and 6 pieces - depending on how hungry you are - they are large pieces on the bone and 'challenging' to eat with chop sticks.

Home made ginger beer and real Sapporo beer for me helped it all go down a treat.

Well worth a visit if you need a break from Japanese food or just want something you know you will like.

Our hill was 4500 yen - roughly one third of what we paid the night before for a terrible Japanese meal.

Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takayama, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time in this restaurant !”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a lovely time in this restaurant ! The place is great, the food delicious and the owners are adorable ! The lady speaks very good english and can help you to improve your japanese ;) and it's also a great restaurant for non vegetarians since they have a lot of dishes with meat as well. We highly recommend it !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMillou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heianraku also viewed

Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Heianraku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing