We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and great waitstaff!”
Review of Restaurant Le Midi

Restaurant Le Midi
Ranked #11 of 878 Restaurants in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great waitstaff!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were greeted at the restaurant by a woman who turned out to be our main waitress for the night who had extremely good english. We were led to a table upstairs where we were the only couple for the majority of the night, the option of having the privacy was very well received and not forgotten - excellent initiative and consideration from the staff.
The food here was incredibly good, I have a Hida beef fillet and my partner had the A-5 class Tobi beef.

While these were the most expensive steaks that either of us had ever eaten, they well out-performed anything we have had in the past as well. Just remarkable. The wine selection is impressive and we had an excellent red from Bordeaux, complimenting the beef. While the size of beef cuts are on the small side when compared to cuts in Australia - where we are from - we left the restaurant feeling very full and satisfied. I don't think we will be able to find anything of that sort of quality in Australia and that every steak from here on out will be a disappointment for us. Congratulations to the chef and the excellent waitstaff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndiaDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    70
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A winner in all respects.”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has winning ambience, great food, obliging helpful staff, and great location. The best of Western cuisine and local Hida beef. My best culinary experience in Takayama.

Helpful?
Thank unlimitd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Does Justice to Hida Beef, Great All Rounder”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We decided that the only way to experience Hida Beef was french style so we visited Le Midi for lunch.

For starters we had the escargots and foie gras. Then Hida Beef steak done medium rare for mains.

The food was excellent, our compliments to the chef. Everything was done at the highest possible standards. Even our non-English speaking waitress recommended a perfect wine to go with the beef.

And finally, we also appreciate the fact that the chef whipped up a gourmet katsu-don (pork cutlet with rice) for our young child.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlvinChanJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“So fabulous, we ate there twice!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a wonderful find in the charming town of Takayama. Its Hida beef specials are not to be missed, although it is expensive (a fact the restaurant even acknowledges at the bottom of its menu). The beef is melt-in-your mouth wonderful and comes with delicious side dishes. We had a green salad that was equally top-notch. And service was perfect too....So much so, we decided to return there our second night, knowing we couldn't find a better place in town. We were not disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vatravelingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Chose this restaurant in order to taste Hida beef and definitely not disappointed. Range of dishes on menu was very good and wine list was good too. The Hida steak that I had for my main course was the best steak I have ever enjoyed. All food was very well cooked and the service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Midi also viewed

Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Restaurant Le Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing