We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but well worth the splurge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Midi

Le Midi
Ranked #11 of 869 Restaurants in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expensive but well worth the splurge”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A well-appointed French bistro at the center of Takayama. I shared an exquisite Hida beef sirloin steak, french style with a friend. Steak was tender and tasty, and I think, better than the Wagyu beef I had in Kyoto. The bacon that came with it was the killer. It was an expensive meal but, in my opinion, well worth the splurge. The set menu came with soup, gelato and coffee. Made of Hida cow’s milk, the gelato was wonderful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    67
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I hadn't done much research regarding eating while we were in Takayama .. so I am very pleased we decided to do Italian while here .. well Italian with a Japanese twist.

We had the set menu (salad or soup, bread, pasta and gelato) it was simply wonderful. The place is tiny (like my bad pic will show).. it only seats 12 or 13 but if you have to wait then just do it. The Hida beef stew with pasta was perfect, pasta just the right 'el dente'. Hubby (a fussy eater) said it is some of the best italian he has had.

Service was with a smile and perfect english.

I don't recall exactly how much dinner cost us but it wasn't that shocking to get the bill at the end.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FionaJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent steak and brilliant service”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our first time trying Hida beef and Le Midi didn't disappoint. Good value from the set menu which offered soup, steak, gelato and coffee. The service from the owner and her staff was impeccable and it was an added bonus that they spoke very good English. The meal was beautifully cooked and presented and I wouldn't be surprised if this place gets a Michelin Star at some point in the future. Amazing meal and one we won't forget in a hurry.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a dinner at Le Midi. We took the 3500 set meal and the 5500 set meal. The meal was excellent! The beef was great (the 5500 beef is special indeed and worth every yen!) and so was everything else. It's expensive but worth it! One of the best stakes wer'e ever had. Also, the service was very kind and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The taste of Hida beef”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Visiting Takayama is not complete without having enjoyed a good piece of Hida Beef. As the meat is very tender and special one must pay the price. We went to 'Le Midi' to have the experience. It was worth it: Fantastic meat, good side dishes (potato soup, small green salad and rice), good enough wine, and attentive service. The atmosphere is not very japaneese, but they understand basic English, so that you can order properly. It is cheaper at lunch time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Midi also viewed

Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Le Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing