We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Suzuya restaurant

Suzuya restaurant
Ranked #8 of 1,043 Restaurants in Takayama
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The premises in which "Suzuya" folk restaurant is set are scaled-down models of solid, integrate,sound and beautiful houses completed through generations in this Hida Takayama district. For we want you to appreciate thi architectural masterpieces of Hida Takayama and enjoy the atmosphere that comes out of them. Simple and clean interior with minimum decorations will make you feel calm and relaxed while you are sitting at table. "Sansai Teisyoku"or wild plants table with much mountain and fluvial products,"Hobamiso" or pastoral Miso, "Shabu-Shabu" and "Misotakinabe" or selected vegetables and meat served in the hot pot,and other kinds of Hida dishes elaborately relished to each season-- we are looking forward to serving you with these dishes. ※Hida takayama= this area ※Sansai=edible wild plant ※Teisyoku=set meal ※Hoba=magnolia leaf ※Miso=Source fermented soybeans
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

Went to this restaurant on the recommendation of the travel agent and Trip Advisor. What a bust! They were very friendly and welcoming, but that's the only nice thing I can say. I did not try the Hida beef sirloin for $60+, but did spend $37 on their Hida beef strips grilled on a leaf by you at your table.

They serve it, suggest taking your picture with it, then disappear. (Forget more than 5oz of water every 30 minutes.) But worst, for that price we got tough, stringy chuck roast cut in strips. I don't think it even was a brisket grade.

We left hungry and shaking our heads -- they asked us to please rate them on Trip Advisor.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzuyaTakayama, マネージャー at Suzuya restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2016

Robert R様
寿々やへのご来店まことにありがとうございました。

まず初めに大変な思いをさせてしまい大変申し訳ございませんでした。

大変恐縮ではありますが、料理を配った後に、すべてのお客様にお伺いをしており、皆様は美味しいと言ってくださっておりましたので、気が付く配慮が欠けておりました。

もう一度貴方様のアドバイスを元に考慮いたします。

この度は大変申し訳ございませんでした。

 寿々や 白川哲平 拝
to Robert R
Thank you for coming to Suzuya restaurant.
The beginning we apologize you about our service.
I'm terribly sorry; I come around after serving each person. Then everybody said “tasty” in that time. So it was my lack of consideration.

We will try considering by your advice.

We are sorry about fall short of yours expectations.


Suzuya restaurant
Teppei shirakawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 280 of 644 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2016

got there about 2pm for a late lunch and the hosts were so hospitable, had a bbq meal of hida beef and a separate dish of pork and vegetables done in a sort of hot pot but not quite, both very very delicious (oishi des), started with a sapporo beer and mojito followed with a glass of red each. had the freshwater fish as an appertiser to share (so tasty). both meals came with rice and miso and pickles. beautiful meal and no dinner required tonight after having had brekky at the hotel at 8am. AUD$75 for two.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bahgallahCasterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzuyaTakayama, マネージャー at Suzuya restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

EmilyS S 様

寿々やにご来店頂きまして、まことにありがとうございます。
まず、素晴らしいコメント、高評価を頂き光栄でございます。

お客様の事はよく覚えております。すごく楽しそうにランチを召上がって、過ごされていたのが印象的です。
飛騨牛のBBQはお客様ご自身で調理するので、より一層美味しく感じたのかもしれませんね。ちなみに豚肉の料理ですが、こちらはここ最近出てきたブランドで「飛騨ポーク」という品種です。柔らかく、味もしっかりしておりますので、喜んでもらって嬉しい限りです。
トリップアドバイザーを見て、コメントするよとおっしゃって下さり、そしてすぐにコメントを頂けて感謝いたします。

それでは素晴らしい日本の旅行をお過ごしください。

 寿々や 白川哲平 拝


EmilyS S
Thank you for coming to Suzuya restaurant.
At first we honored you gave us a comment and high evaluation.

I remember you well, you had stayed with lunch looks very happy. You were very impressive man!

You ate hida-beef BBQ, this is tasty, because you cooked yourself. I think it was the reason. And the pork meal, the pork was born recently that is new brand. We call Hida pork, soft and juicy. We recommend it too. We are happy you were satisfied by our meal.

You checked trip ad visor and came here. We appreciate you, you said I will write trip ad visor. That was very quickly.

Thank you very much.

Please have nice Japanese travel.

Best regards.

  Suzuya restaurant
   Teppei Shirakawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016

As a vegetarian, good Japanese is hard to find and I definitely didn't expect it in Takayama. I had the Tofu Hobayaki and it was excellent. Service staff were incredibly friendly, food came in a reasonable amount of time. No complaints, would definitely go again.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 88w0rldtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzuyaTakayama, マネージャー at Suzuya restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2016

88w0rldtraveller88様

寿々やにご来店頂きまして、まことにありがとうございました。
コメント、高評価を頂けて嬉しい限りです。

高山に来ていただいて、そして予期せぬ思い出が作れたようで作った甲斐があります。

元々朴葉焼きという物は、朴の葉に、味噌、薬味等を乗せて、食べる代物だったのですが、近年、飛騨牛が登場してから肉を乗せる傾向が強くなってきました。勿論、私達も提供しておりますので、愛称は良いですね。

しかしながら、元の料理から色々なバリエーションが出来てきたので、原点に立ち返る為、野菜のみを中心とした朴葉焼きも作成した経緯でございます。
この利点は、値段を抑える事が出来る、基本的に万人が食べる事が出来るといったものがあります。

一期一会という言葉があります。お客様は我々と少しの間でも接点を持つことが出来、我々も良いサービスを提供できた。良い出会いでございました。

それではまた来ていただける事を願いながら、お待ちしております。

どうぞ素晴らしい旅路をお過ごしください。

寿々や 白川哲平 拝
To 88w0rldtraveller88
Thank you for coming to Suzuya restaurant.
We are very happy because you gave us a comment and high evaluation.
That is valuable, you get unexpected event when you had come to Takayama.

Originally, although Hoba-yaki (magnolia leaf cooking) is very simple meal, just put vegetable and spice on leaf.
Recently, there is several kind of variation by Hida-beef appearance.
Of cause we also serve hoba+hida-beef meal in our restaurant, that is good combination.

However we checked origin and remake it as one of process. This advantages are cooking low cost and everybody can eat like vegetarian, and any more.

Japanese has a proverb we call “Ichigo Ichie” the mean,” The encounter is once-in-a-lifetime”. I do not regret, it this time is last moment with you..
The above sentence is first translation, I would appreciate it if get to know the feeling.

OK we hope you will come again.
Please have a nice tirp.
Best regards.

Suzuya restaurant
Teppei Shirakawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at this authentic Japanese restaurant. Your Hida beef is grilled with mixed vegetables on top of a magnolia leaf in a Japanese pot. The flavors were delicious, the beef tender and the staff delightful. If you want an authentic Japanese meal, do not miss Suzuya!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank voyager81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzuyaTakayama, マネージャー at Suzuya restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2016

voyager81様

寿々やにご来店頂きまして、まことにありがとうございました。

まず初めに、返信が遅れまして大変失礼いたしました。

朴葉みそ(mixed vegetable with beef on magnolia leaf)に使っている味噌は、寿々やでブレンドをした特別な味噌です。
多くの方々に気に入ってもらえて、リピート率も高いです。本当にうれしい事です。

そして飛騨牛の肉汁が、味噌の旨味を引き上げますので、個人的には味噌+飛騨牛の組み合わせが最高だと思っております。

そして、我々のモットーはお客様により親切に接客するという物を持っておりますので、voyager81様が喜んでいただけたのは幸いです。

それでは、貴方様の日本での旅が良い思い出になるよう願っております。

ご一読誠にありがとうございました。

寿々や 白川哲平 拝

voyager81

Thank you for coming to Suzuya restaurant.
To the beginning, we are sorry our replying is very late.

We use miso paste with Hoba-yaki(mixed vegetable with beef on magnolia leaf) that is our special blend of miso paste.
We inherited miso paste’s taste 4 generations. Many of people ate and said tasty. Customer adoption rates are high.

And hida-beef’s juice pull up more tasty. I think that is personaly, miso+hida beef are best combination.

Our motto is more kindness to customers, we are happy you are satisfied by our service.

OK well we hope your Japanese trip would be good memory for you.

Thank you for reading.

Suzuya restaurant.
Teppei Shirakawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

The food was ok but really overpriced compared to other restaurants à bit more Off the beaten tracks.
To avoid if you want to experience authentic Japanese away from groups and tour operators.
The service was both overfriendly and rude.
I had back pain and when i asked for a table with chairs, they told me to stay on the mat.
Beware of the numerous advices, they play the full TripAdvisor game...

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank MGpariiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzuyaTakayama, マネージャー at Suzuya restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

MGpariiis様

寿々やへのご来店まことにありがとうございました。
まずは様々な点でご迷惑をお掛けしまして大変申し訳ございませんでした。

このアドバイスを貰った後にスタッフと共に話し合いをさせて頂きました。
1価格について、ここはもう少し改善できる余地を探し、無駄を省き料理の量、質を高めようと思います。
値段は申し訳ございませんが、現状維持をさせて頂きます。

2店内の客層について、 このところ多くの外国人観光客が増え、日本人客と外国人客の比率が逆転しております。
我々のモットーとしては「たくさんのお客様に来ていただきたい」という思いでやっております。主に4月、5月、9月、11月が最も外国のお客様がいらっしゃる時期ですので、もしも海外の方が多い時期は苦手という方には、上記以外の季節をお勧めするようアナウンスをいたします。

3フレンドリーについて、これは私の事ですね。もう少し感情を抑えた接客を心がける様に致します。

決してトリップアドバイザーの為に仕事をしているわけではない事をご了承くださいませ。

この度は大変失礼いたしました。

寿々や 白川哲平 拝

To MGpariiis

Thank you for coming to Suzuya restaurant.
At first, we are sorry there is a point which is not reach as good service.

We had a meeting with Suzuya staff about your comment.
1 price. We try to improve our menu, cut waste, and improvement amount and quality.
Price is maintain the present condition.

2 customer base. Recently foreign traveler are increasing. Foreign people’s rate are high.
We want many kind of people come our restaurant that is our motto. I think April, May, September and October these season is on season of Takayama.
Now June, we have a many free seat.

3 friendly, I think that is mine problem. I am sorry about this, I try to be more gentle serve.

And we have never worked for trip advisor. Our working for our customers,

We apologize about your bad situation.

Suzuaya restaurant.
Teppei Shirakawa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suzuya restaurant also viewed

Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Suzuya restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.