We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ryokan experience”
Review of Oyado Yoshinoya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oyado Yoshinoya
Ranked #4 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great ryokan experience”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hosts of this ryokan are such lovely people. They make you feel welcome and the place has a feeling of home.

The "family" baths are a great way to relax after the exertion of sightseeing.

There are also a lot of restaurants around the area so the location is convenient too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milliem98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
65
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here to explore the area.
I will easily stay here again, the interior is nice, toilet and room is clean and bed is thick and comfy.
We loved the onsen which can be used privately with your family or partner.
the owner is an old couple who really welcoming and gave a good guide for the ryokan facility and exploring the area.
I always had good chat with the old man who run the ryokan even though I can only speak a little jap we just keep talking.
Location is very close to the old private house streets.
Well, great town, great ryokan, and great host. Arigatou gozaimasu

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We took two rooms for a two nights stay. My room smelt a bit musty but we got used to it. It faced the main road but we didn't have any issue with noise. Our request for lower floor rooms were met and we were put on the second floor. The minshuku was cosy and really felt like we were staying in our own house. Despite obviously being an old house, the toilets were nice and felt new. Being a 7 roomed lodging Oyado Yoshinoya had ample supply of toilets and bathrooms. Two female toilets on our floor and seperate male one. Two baths on the first floor plus I think, more toilets. Sinks on each floor. Downstairs equipt with 3 hair dryers. The bathroom were common baths but lockable. One for two and the other one slightly larger, for four bathers. Not sure what is on the top floor. The onsens were of a good size. Long enough for us to spread out.

The Japanese style room was of a good size. Even with the futons laid out there was still space for the coffee table and two cushions. Excellent futons, really comfy and fluffy. There was also a common room with a laptop with internet access which doubled as a smoking area. Wifi in all rooms as well.

We didn't opt for meal plan. Thus, can't comment.

Location is great since it is located near the historical areas as well as the main shopping street. Abundance of restaurants nearby. The bus from the station stops almost right in front of the minshuku. Thus, we took the bus both ways from and back to the station.

Over all, it was a pleasure staying here and I would return if I am ever in Takayama again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We took a little detour to Takayama in order to attend the festival (well worth it if you're considering it for next year - just remember to be there on the first night of the festival). We chose this ryokan based on the reviews on TA and were sooo glad that we did.

The lady who owns the ryokan is incredibly welcoming despite speaking very little English. She literally cannot do enough for you, and was so helpful in showing us where to go to experience the highlights of the festival (at night, the floats go past the bottom of the road where the ryokan is located - very handy!).

The room was a decent size, and was the most beautifully decorated room we stayed in for our whole trip in Japan. You could tell the owner has put a lot of love into the ryokan. Super-comfy futons, elegant japanese prints, a little table and beautiful cushions, and a clever wardrobe space to store your luggage. Our room also looked out onto the street, but there was absolutely no problem with traffic noise.

There are communal shower rooms and onsens, although they are 'family rooms', so private once the door is locked. it's completely acceptable to shower together with your family/partner (and probably best advised if you don't want to start causing a queue!).

The package came with breakfast and dinner, which managed to be simple and incredibly tasty at the same time. The owner does the cooking, and serves up Hida steak as part of the meal so you get to sample the famous beef.

I was actually sad to leave because of the fantastic hospitality. If you want to experience a traditional ryokan, do not look any further.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
534 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at this very traditional and charming ryokan. The owners were very welcoming despite very little English but we managed to communicate the essentials. Our welcome was amazing with a very detailed orientation to the ryokan including individual onsens.
The location was brilliant, right in the centre of everything and the bathrooms great.
Breakfast was an experience in itself with a very traditional and generous Japanese breakfast.
Some people may find the steep stairs a little daunting or a bathroom not on the top floor.
A charming stay in a very quaint and interesting town with fantastic hosts!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I come from the Philippines but I have been in Japan for a while now for studies. I recently came from a Takayama-Shirakawago-Kanazawa trip which lasted for 4 nights and 5 days. The first leg of the trip was at Takayama and I am very much pleased that I stayed (2 nights) at this ryokan. I think the best thing about this place was the cozy and homey atmosphere to it. Despite the cold weather and heavy snowfall, the place provided "warmth" not only because of the good food (e.g. the famous hoba miso), hot bath, and simple yet comfortable rooms but also because of the personal touch of the owners (Mr/s. Watanabe) as well as the friendly atmosphere created by this small space. Since the ryokan only has few rooms, which means only a number of guests at any given time, and since everyone has to share the toilet and bath, and eat meals at the same dining room, I also got a chance to get to know other guests. During breakfast on my last day, I had a wonderful chat with an American spouse. Also, the place is conveniently located very near sightseeing spots in Takayama. In fact, the ryokan is just in front of a famous temple (Takayama Betsuin). However, it is around a 20-minute walk from the train station/bus terminal. If you don't mind walking, it is a good nice walk along souvernir shops and restaurants. If you do, you can just hop on a taxi. If any case you plan to travel to Takayama, a stay at Oyado Yoshinoya will ultimately complete the experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKenneth_2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just spent 4 nights here & it was great. We had told the owners we'd be late, which was no problem - 640 yen taxi ride from the station as it was cold and dark. Our room was toasty & we were in time for the lovely hot bath.
The gentleman (never got their names!) gave us maps & tons of info without overloading us. We've been to Takayama before but didn't want to shut him up! The ryokan very close to the historic area and there are some nice walks in the Higashi-yama area up the hill as you turn right out of the front door.
We didn't book any meals, but he knocked on the door at 8am every day with two coffees, plus a yoghurt for our daughter - not sure if we were just lucky though, no one else seems to have mentioned this. We arrived on a Monday and found that most of the town is closed on Tuesdays (not unusual in small town Japan for everyone to have the same day off but it was like a ghost town). There's a curry place round the back of the Oyado, keep going past the library and it's on your right- open Tuesdays!

Although the building looks quite old, the rooms are newly renovated & very clean - could have just used a small towel rail as there was nowhere to hang towels after the bath. Also it's the only shoes-off place I've ever stayed in where there are no slippers!

There are two kids (grand kids?) who come in with their mother every day, I think she helps clean, but they weren't noisy & very cute. The baby was strapped to granny's back & wrapped in quilts.

It was great to be in a little town with no chain eateries in sight, not even Japanese ones & we only spotted two convenience stores. We had breakfast twice a couple of doors away for 400 yen- coffee, slab of toast & boiled egg. Menu only in Japanese- just ask for the "morning set".

Beautiful in winter - enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HkPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#8 of 174 in Takayama
750 reviews
Sumiyoshi Ryokan
#1 of 174 in Takayama
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 174 in Takayama
481 reviews
Rickshaw Inn
#3 of 96 in Takayama
229 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Ryokan Tanabe
Ryokan Tanabe
#4 of 174 in Takayama
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyado Yoshinoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyado Yoshinoya

Property: Oyado Yoshinoya
Address: 2-89 Babamachi, Takayama 506-0838, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Oyado Yoshinoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing