We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my favorite guesthouse in Takayama” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oyado Yoshinoya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oyado Yoshinoya
Ranked #3 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“my favorite guesthouse in Takayama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hello everyone,
I come from Taiwan. I stayed at Yoshinoya for 2 nights in Jan 2013.
It's a WARM, FRIENDLY and very CLEAN guesthouse. I like the building and the tatami rooms very much. The hot spring baths are wonderful and the meals are good. Thank you, Yoshinoya.
You have to stay at Yoshinoya when you are in Takayama-shi.
みなさん、こんにちは、
私は台湾から来ています。私は2013年1月に2泊吉野家に滞在しました。
それは暖かく、フレンドリーと非常にきれいなゲストハウスです。私は建物と非常に畳の部屋が好きです。温泉は素晴らしいですし、食事が良いです。 、吉野家をありがとうございます。
あなたは、高山市にあるときに吉野家に滞在する必要があります。

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flying1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
64
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and it was our favourite part of the holiday. The couple were so friendly and they even gave us a little wedding gift! The Japanese-style room we stayed in was a good size and the toilets were very modern and clean. The baths which use hot spring water were lovely too with a cute peeing tanuki raccoon tap!

The facilities here were probably the best of all the minshuku we stayed in. There was a washing machine which you can use for a small charge and there was a laptop available for use as well as wifi in our room, none of which we got elsewhere.

The location is perfect - a few minutes walk from the old streets and also close to the temple and park walk which we would highly recommend.

Breakfast was good but we decided to eat out in the evening because we had eaten so much ryokan style food on our trip and Takayama was the first place we stayed with lots of restaurants. We went to a great yaki-niku restaurant nearby and also a nice modern Japanese restaurant across the river. But last orders were at 830pm so go early.

The couple were so welcoming it was like a home from home.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank misspeppichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 as part of a side 3 day trip from Tokyo.

Lovely friendly couple who own this who made us both feel very at home (their grandson is ridiculously cute).

The onsen baths are a real plus, as it poured with rain when we were there it was really nice to relax in one of the hot baths. there is one for 2 people and one for four people so just choose which suits you best.

Location is great, short walk to the main streets and things to see and about a 15 minute walk to the train station (or a 650 yen taxi ride). Wifi in rooms was great and felt v traditional to be sleeping on the tatami mats.

Breakfast was nice as we got to try rice, green tea, boiled eggs, fish and on one day a small portion of the Hida beef. However they do do a western style breakfast on day 2 which was abit random, and not great - would have preferred just to stick to the Japanese breakfast menu but would imagine it was due to them feeling people would prefer to feel more at home.

Our thoughts were that you are on holiday in the middle of the Japanese Alps so why do you want to be eating what you would at home ?!? but that is purely personal opinion so judge for yourself.

Only downside:

Food in the evenings - we found that alot of the restaurants in Takayama close very early and we often struggled to find places to eat in the evening. So best to eat here in the guesthouse or eat earlier in the day, we found a really nice french cafe called Cafe Flore so ended up eating a big lunch here most days then having something light from the range of '7/11' shops dotted about for tea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojito80186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We chose this minshuku over the others because it seem to offer a more authentic local feel...and we were spot on.

The place is managed mainly by an elderly couple who speaks very little English. That said, we still managed to get directions to restaurants and tell them about our day (with lots of hand signs) even though we don't understand Japanese language. They made us feel very welcome and it felt like a home to us. The place is clean and well maintained. They have a lovely indoor hot spring bath that can be locked for private use.

We got a large room facing the road but the noise didn't bother us since Takayama is a relatively quiet town. The mattress is rather thin and the pillows quite flat so one might get backache if you're not used to sleeping on tatami floor. Perhaps you can ask for more mattresses and pillows if required.

Breakfast and dinner were excellent, both include Hida beef and dinner came with many courses plus a sashimi dish. In the evening, we see a baby and a young child with them...probably their grandchildren but they were not noisy during the 3 nights we were there.

The minshuku is about 15 mins walk from Takayama station with the morning market and old town street about midway. Overall a wonderful experience and we will still choose stay with them if we visit Takayama again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this ryokan in April, it was unusually cold and we experienced typhoon like rain as well as snow during our 3 day stay! They were so friendly and helpful we couldn't have asked for more really - for example, on the day of the torrential rain there was nothing much we could do so I asked if there was an onsen nearby. They arranged pick up for us and even had the heater on in our room when we got back, knowing what time we were due!
The food was delicious too,I would definitely recommend eating in one night, breakfast was lovely too although it could be a bit of a culture shock if you've never had traditional Japanese breakfast before.

Overall we really liked this traditional (and very clean) ryokan, the bath is an added bonus to relax after walking around the beautiful town!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Restlessindeptford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Staying in Oyado Yoshinoya has been a beautiful experience.
We were warmly welcomed by the family who own and run this ryokan, and although they speak really very little english, we felt so warmly welcomed and felt like we were coming "home". What a lovely way to feel about a place!

Our room was immaculate, with tatami mats and futons which were really comfortable. There were spare blankets and pillows in the room, but we were very warm. We were given towels and a kimono, and the owner came up to our room and showed us through the times for the onsen, breakfast, dinner times etc. We were also given an english walking map of Takayama which was very useful.

Our room was made up daily, we could have hot green tea in our room, a little treat was left for us each morning, and it just felt really beautiful.

There is wi-fi, a heater/air con and TV in the room.

We did not eat dinner here, but we ate breakfast each morning and it was an absolute pleasure, and a really really big beautiful meal! We enjoyed a large variety of delicate foods, and cooked our hida beef on the little burner. Breakfast was 1000 yen, absolutely worth it!

The location is fantastic, with the main street at your doorstep, the morning markets minutes away and the preserved streets just around the corner. Its also a 15 minute walk to the train station, or if you have alot of luggage, 650 yen in a taxi.

It felt authentic and homely and I am definately coming back to Takayama and staying here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForeverTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Oyado Yoshinoya for four nights on our three week holiday to Japan. We had only planned on staying two nights but upon arriving in Takayama and seeing what a delight this accommodation was, we immediately doubled the length of our stay.

The guesthouse owners were welcoming, warm and incredibly hospitable- even presenting us with a gift on our first night because we were on our honeymoon. All of the others guests during our stay were from Japan, mostly from Nagoya, and were equally as warm and welcoming as the guesthouse onwers themselves. With the help of google translater, we even spent one evening eating and then chatting with a family of four who were visiting Takayama for the long weekend from Nagoya.

Our room was very spacious, by Japanese and Western standards, and was cleaned daily with fresh towels and robes put out each day and the indoor onsen was a lovely way to end each day.

We had meals for two of the four days and these were delicious and a much more affordable way to enjoy local Hida beef than the alternative of going to a restaurant. We experienced some confusion around how to tackle the many dishes presented to us at breakfast but were gently shown how to heat and eat the various foods on offer.

All in all it was an absolute pleasure to be welcomed into this cosy guesthouse.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberleyLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#9 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no yume
Oyado Koto no yume
#3 of 173 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Ryokan Asunaro
Ryokan Asunaro
#5 of 173 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Sumiyoshi Ryokan
#1 of 173 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyado Yoshinoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyado Yoshinoya

Property: Oyado Yoshinoya
Address: 2-89 Babamachi, Takayama 506-0838, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Oyado Yoshinoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing