We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oyado Yoshinoya
Nearby Hotels
Takayama Green Hotel(Takayama)
$465
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hoshokaku(Takayama)
$396
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Tsuyukusa(Takayama)(Great Value!)
$174
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$328
$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Takayama Ouan(Takayama)
$293
$283
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Ryokan 
Sumiyoshi Ryokan(Takayama)
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Wanosato(Takayama)
$688
$585
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
$621
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ryu Resort &Spa(Takayama)
$508
$359
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
$587
$550
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
91
17
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
17
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselderly coupleshared facilitiesnice bathshida beeftatami matsricetrain stationevery morningthird floorold housestayed here for nightstraditional japanese experienceshared toiletgreat hostsindoor onsengreat ryokanjapanese breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 112 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 as part of a side 3 day trip from Tokyo.

Lovely friendly couple who own this who made us both feel very at home (their grandson is ridiculously cute).

The onsen baths are a real plus, as it poured with rain when we were there it was really nice to relax in one of the hot baths. there is one for 2 people and one for four people so just choose which suits you best.

Location is great, short walk to the main streets and things to see and about a 15 minute walk to the train station (or a 650 yen taxi ride). Wifi in rooms was great and felt v traditional to be sleeping on the tatami mats.

Breakfast was nice as we got to try rice, green tea, boiled eggs, fish and on one day a small portion of the Hida beef. However they do do a western style breakfast on day 2 which was abit random, and not great - would have preferred just to stick to the Japanese breakfast menu but would imagine it was due to them feeling people would prefer to feel more at home.

Our thoughts were that you are on holiday in the middle of the Japanese Alps so why do you want to be eating what you would at home ?!? but that is purely personal opinion so judge for yourself.

Only downside:

Food in the evenings - we found that alot of the restaurants in Takayama close very early and we often struggled to find places to eat in the evening. So best to eat here in the guesthouse or eat earlier in the day, we found a really nice french cafe called Cafe Flore so ended up eating a big lunch here most days then having something light from the range of '7/11' shops dotted about for tea.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mojito80186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We chose this minshuku over the others because it seem to offer a more authentic local feel...and we were spot on.

The place is managed mainly by an elderly couple who speaks very little English. That said, we still managed to get directions to restaurants and tell them about our day (with lots of hand signs) even though we don't understand Japanese language. They made us feel very welcome and it felt like a home to us. The place is clean and well maintained. They have a lovely indoor hot spring bath that can be locked for private use.

We got a large room facing the road but the noise didn't bother us since Takayama is a relatively quiet town. The mattress is rather thin and the pillows quite flat so one might get backache if you're not used to sleeping on tatami floor. Perhaps you can ask for more mattresses and pillows if required.

Breakfast and dinner were excellent, both include Hida beef and dinner came with many courses plus a sashimi dish. In the evening, we see a baby and a young child with them...probably their grandchildren but they were not noisy during the 3 nights we were there.

The minshuku is about 15 mins walk from Takayama station with the morning market and old town street about midway. Overall a wonderful experience and we will still choose stay with them if we visit Takayama again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this ryokan in April, it was unusually cold and we experienced typhoon like rain as well as snow during our 3 day stay! They were so friendly and helpful we couldn't have asked for more really - for example, on the day of the torrential rain there was nothing much we could do so I asked if there was an onsen nearby. They arranged pick up for us and even had the heater on in our room when we got back, knowing what time we were due!
The food was delicious too,I would definitely recommend eating in one night, breakfast was lovely too although it could be a bit of a culture shock if you've never had traditional Japanese breakfast before.

Overall we really liked this traditional (and very clean) ryokan, the bath is an added bonus to relax after walking around the beautiful town!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Restlessindeptford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Staying in Oyado Yoshinoya has been a beautiful experience.
We were warmly welcomed by the family who own and run this ryokan, and although they speak really very little english, we felt so warmly welcomed and felt like we were coming "home". What a lovely way to feel about a place!

Our room was immaculate, with tatami mats and futons which were really comfortable. There were spare blankets and pillows in the room, but we were very warm. We were given towels and a kimono, and the owner came up to our room and showed us through the times for the onsen, breakfast, dinner times etc. We were also given an english walking map of Takayama which was very useful.

Our room was made up daily, we could have hot green tea in our room, a little treat was left for us each morning, and it just felt really beautiful.

There is wi-fi, a heater/air con and TV in the room.

We did not eat dinner here, but we ate breakfast each morning and it was an absolute pleasure, and a really really big beautiful meal! We enjoyed a large variety of delicate foods, and cooked our hida beef on the little burner. Breakfast was 1000 yen, absolutely worth it!

The location is fantastic, with the main street at your doorstep, the morning markets minutes away and the preserved streets just around the corner. Its also a 15 minute walk to the train station, or if you have alot of luggage, 650 yen in a taxi.

It felt authentic and homely and I am definately coming back to Takayama and staying here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForeverTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Oyado Yoshinoya for four nights on our three week holiday to Japan. We had only planned on staying two nights but upon arriving in Takayama and seeing what a delight this accommodation was, we immediately doubled the length of our stay.

The guesthouse owners were welcoming, warm and incredibly hospitable- even presenting us with a gift on our first night because we were on our honeymoon. All of the others guests during our stay were from Japan, mostly from Nagoya, and were equally as warm and welcoming as the guesthouse onwers themselves. With the help of google translater, we even spent one evening eating and then chatting with a family of four who were visiting Takayama for the long weekend from Nagoya.

Our room was very spacious, by Japanese and Western standards, and was cleaned daily with fresh towels and robes put out each day and the indoor onsen was a lovely way to end each day.

We had meals for two of the four days and these were delicious and a much more affordable way to enjoy local Hida beef than the alternative of going to a restaurant. We experienced some confusion around how to tackle the many dishes presented to us at breakfast but were gently shown how to heat and eat the various foods on offer.

All in all it was an absolute pleasure to be welcomed into this cosy guesthouse.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KimberleyLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews