We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely host”
Review of Oyado Yoshinoya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oyado Yoshinoya
Ranked #4 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely host”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at Oyado Yoshinoya for 3 nights in Nov 2011. The family is very nice. The father didn't speak English but we managed to communicate with my little Japanese, he gave us a map. We arrived at lunch time and were very hungry, he showed us a soba shop and we had the best soba and tempura ever! We can never find that high quality of soba anywhere else. The food served at the minshuku was great and the family bath was very clean and very relaxing. Everyone in the family was friendly and helpful. Only one minus point is that sure room face the main road, we can here traffic at night. Next time we'll request a room in the back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
65
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We loved our two night stay at Oyado Yoshinoya. Our hosts were really lovely and made us feel very welcome, and the ryokan itself is great.

Our room was large, comfortable with lovely decorations, with very comfy futons. It was also a treat to use the hot spring.

Meals are optional extras and the food was great - we had delicious hoba miso with hida beef and lots of other delights.

The location is also excellent - although about a 10-15 minute walk from the station, it is very close to the Sanmachi district of Takayama.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at Oyado Yoshinoya as they have a good review on Trip Adviser. The owners of Yoshinoya were very kind and helpful. We have ordered non Japanese breakfast as my husband & kids were getting tired of eating rice in the morning. They were happily our request. The room was huge, but I guess e are lucky that we are the only guest. If it was high season, I don't think we could have a such a big room. The location was excellent. It located in the center of Takayama city in front of Betsuin so majority of sight seeing place are in the walking distance. But several things they can improve.

*They do not accept credit card. The payments are cash only. This is not easy as we have to carry high amount of cash.
*No coin Landry. The owner suggested to go the coin Landry near the station which is 15mins walk from Yoshinoya. Or we paid 500yen (normally 200yen for coin Landry) to do washing only there. I found it expensive and not easy. Especially if we went to coin Landry, we lose lots of time for washing.
*The room is clean enough but when I tried to hang the washed clothes I saw some dusts on top...
*Breakfast was getting less.
*No pick up. The summer is OK. Only 15mins walk from station. But in the winter with snow...nit easy. Especially with young kids.

They have a beautiful hot spring which we could use privately. The toilets are high tech Japanese toilet which you don't need to flush as automatically do it. But they can be better ...

お宿吉野屋は、Trip Adviserで良い口込みが沢山あったので決めました。オーナーは、親切で場所も高山の中心に近く別院の目の前です。私達の朝食変更のリクエストにも心良く聞いてくださいました。あえて幾つか気になった点。
*クレジットカードがつかない。
*コインランドリーがない。洗うだけで500円はちょっと。
*部屋はまぁまぁきれいだけど上の方にホコリが。たまたま洗濯物干す時見て気になった。
*送迎なし。夏は良いけど冬のしかも雪道は厳しい。

温泉もあってきれいなお風呂。トイレもきれいだけど、あえて3星。

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank makichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We arrived at the Oyado Yoshinoya and were greeted with smiles and a warm welcome. The place is a Minshuku - a Bed and Breakfast, but a place with comfort and great food. We enjoyed two great breakfasts and attempted conversations through broken English and Japanse.

The location is round the corner from a local temple, which rings it's bell at 6am. Don't let it put you off, it is a great experience and the family that welcomed us were great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twofourseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This is our second stay at Oyado Yoshinoya - it has been 3 years since we stayed here and this visit we took another family member. The owners are just the most delightful and helpful people and the place has also been renovated with new bathrooms and toilets. There is a great bath downstairs to luxuriate in. The 3 of us shared a large room and slept on the traditonal futons although I think they placed another lot of padding under mine which was great.
We stayed for 2 nights and this time we enjoyed the most fantastic dinner - freshly prepared, tasty and so many different dishes to experience. Our son could not get over it. Lots of photos. Breakfast is wonderful too. The old town of Takayama is so easy to get around and you can walk or catch buses if need be, although Oyado Yoshinoya is so central so can stroll around the town easily. It is such a wonderful Japanese experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swarovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Takayama is a place you should try to spend a couple of days in if you decide to visit Japan – it’s got a great old town area and the nearby Hida Folk Village is well worth a good half-day trip.
We spent two nights there in late September 2011 and stayed at this minshuku in order to try to get a taste of the “real” Japanese experience. I must admit that, in spite of glowing Trip Advisor reviews, I did have some reservations in terms of how different it might be and how difficult communication might be with the owners.

Well this middle-aged Englishman needn’t have worried! The family that runs it (centred around an older couple who seemed to do most of the work) made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.

No, they don’t speak English well but that didn’t matter. Our basic stock of Japanese phrases, along with their limited list of English sentences and a lot of sign language meant we had no real lost in translation moments.

They were also very understanding concerning our level of cultural awareness and I’m sure they smiled their way through a few faux pas we managed to commit. In particular, knowing exactly where you can and can’t put your shoes was the source of some confusion for us.

The room was great: two futons, a table and two cushions just about sum it up. Minimalists and feng shui experts can lap it up. Oh, there is a tv too but I don’t think we turned that on once during our stay.

The food was a real standout. We chose the option including both evening meal and breakfast: given that much of Takayama seemed to close after 7pm, this was a good decision. All the meals were brilliant with a variety of dishes including a taste of the local Hida beef speciality.

Note that toilet and bathroom facilities are shared but they are kept so scrupulously clean I came to the conclusion that the Japanese simply must not shed bodily hair in the same way us “gaijin” do! Also, the owners are on duty in the evening to make sure everyone gets the share of the bathroom facilities.

Bathing in Japan is an art-form in itself so make sure you know the ins-and-outs of what to do before you go. Basically you shower, wash and rinse yourself (VERY thoroughly) before climbing in the bath. The bathing part is really just to “chill”.

A big surprise was the high-quality wi-fi connection in our room: for such a traditional place this was way ahead of some of the international hotels we also stayed in on this trip.

Definitely a different experience for a westerner but we were very well looked after: hence the score which was richly deserved.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwardknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Nice little ryokan. Great share bathrooms with very nice baths which you could use privately as a couple/family. All shared toilets and bathrooms were very clean and modern. Very friendly old couple which run this place but speak very little English so don't expect to have an in depth conversation. For info on the local area there is a great information centre at the train station. Great location right in the historic part of town. Had the evening meal one night which was good. Made my booking though their web site, but their reply email went though to my spam account which i don't know is a common problem or just a problem with my ISP.
Overall I would highly recommend this place. It was so nice that we extended our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wlgNZ320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#9 of 174 in Takayama
773 reviews
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 174 in Takayama
525 reviews
Takayama Station
Minshuku Kuwataniya
Minshuku Kuwataniya
#5 of 96 in Takayama
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hoshokaku
Hoshokaku
#21 of 174 in Takayama
160 reviews
Sumiyoshi Ryokan
#1 of 174 in Takayama
342 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 174 in Takayama
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyado Yoshinoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyado Yoshinoya

Property: Oyado Yoshinoya
Address: 2-89 Babamachi, Takayama 506-0838, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Oyado Yoshinoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing