We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Nearby Hotels
Wanosato(Takayama)
$549
$484
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
$672
$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Takayama Ouan(Takayama)
$202
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Hida Hotel Plaza(Takayama)
$236
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hoshokaku(Takayama)
$239
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Best Western Hotel Takayama(Takayama)(Great Value!)
$140
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Ryokan Asunaro(Takayama)
$165
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Oyado Koto no Yume(Takayama)
$154
$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Takayama Green Hotel(Takayama)
$160
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
$420
$371
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
150
246
70
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
246
70
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorold towntrain stationkitty cornerbedside tablewriting deskrooftop onsenjapanese businesspost officenice hotelopen air bathsmall roomwithin walking distancedining area isaverage sizejapanese standardsfemale onsen
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 477 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel has a superb location. It is three blocks from the railroad station and about five blocks from the historic section of Takayama. There are plenty of restaurants and coffee houses in easy walking distance. It is also kitty-corner from the main post office, which means ATM access for people who bank in non-Japanese banks. The rooms are small, but well-maintained. Our double bed room had one side of the bed against the wall. The bathroom is a marvel of efficient use of a small space. As seems to be standard in Japanese hotels, the wi-fi is free and very fast (at least 10 Mb/sec downstream and upstream). We did not use the onsen, which is a feature of the hotel. In short, if you are looking for a convenient, basic hotel at a moderate price, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Please read this review knowing I see this through Western eyes.....good location, close to the train station, close to downtown shopping and old village touring.
The room is large by Japanese standards, the bathroom is very small with a low ceiling, I am 6ft. 1". All was very clean, comfortable bed, a bit hard but that is my preference, so no complaints from me on that point.
The breakfast, not included, is available for a reasonable price. Japanese as well as more Western style food is available, be in line a little early because the breakfast rom fills up quickly.
The spa/public bath on the top floor is good, out door area and indoor soaking tubs as well. If you are not familiar with the customs of communal bathing do yourself a favor and investigate before going...my fellow Americans tend to be rather prudish in my humble opinion and can be off put by this experience, I on the other hand am not and quite enjoy soaking in the mineral baths and good conversations with those who speak English, try it......you'll like it!
All in all a good place to stay and for the cost you really can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Get in breakfast line early
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed for 1 night, the hotel is located within 5 mins of the Tateyama station which we found it easily. And the hotel is also closed to local attraction.
We were given a room on the 2nd floor but there wasn't any problem with noise as the town was very quiet at night. I like the onsen the the roof, very nice and clean n especially the outdoor onsen. Small but good enough for a good bath.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. I should say that we stayed in other simple hotels like this in several locations across Japan and so I am comparing the service here to hotels in a similar price range and style.

We found the hotel underwhelming, predominantly because of the the staff. Overall, staff were more unfriendly than other hotels we stayed in. Not many smiles or welcomes. At check-in, we were not allowed to change from a breakfast plan to a non-breakfast plan at check in, which was not so much a problem in itself but no apology, alternative, or explanation was given, in line with general customer service. Staff also insist you start clearing up your dishes 15 minutes before the end of breakfast, which is a bit off putting. We let the hotel know on booking that it was our honeymoon and didn't think anything of the fact that no-one congratulated us etc (we had received a free drink/room on highest floor at all the other hotels we stayed at but didn't expect it). However, we did hope for a one hour later check-out - but were told we would be charged.

The hotel has a good location for the station and town and the onsen on the roof are a lovely bonus with great views. The rooms are very small (common in japan but still smaller than elsewhere we stayed). The pillows were especially uncomfy but then again we didn't ask if they could change them.

There's nothing really wrong with this hotel, but it did make us realise how much the welcome to a hotel can make a difference.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Travellingratbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Location of this hotel is slightly off the Takayama JR train station and bus terminal. Takes a good 10 minutes if you're not familiar with the area to get there from either. Close proximity to the old town area.

Decor of the reception area can only be described as simple & clean. Minimalist, almost. The same can be said about that of the corridors on the guest room floors. No pictures, no fancy upholstery. Our room was adequately spacious although the pillows were a little small and thin.

The draw of the hotel was the onsen on the 9th floor, which included an outdoor portion. Fancy soaking in therapeutic hot spring water with a view of the town and the surrounding mountain range.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews