We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Takayama Kanko Hotel
Ranked #37 of 186 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked a two night stay in this traditional ryokan. The staff is awesome, very helpful and good english is spoken. The room was VERY large and well equipped. The only drawback is the location of the hotel which is far from the city center but offers a spectacular view!). If you arrive by train, there is free shuttle service to the hotel. To call for the shuttle, you can use the payphone in the train station. They will come pick you up within 10-15 minutes. The hotel also serves free coffee, water and tea. There are some massage chairs, mangas, plenty of vending machines, a gift shop with some snacks. The provided personal care products are of very high quality. Free wi-fi and a computer are available in the lobby. There are three onsens. We used both the public and the private onsens (there is a 3000¥ fee for the use and reservation of the private onsen) . I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mastervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 120 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel took a bit of searching out on the web and although might have been a gamble it turned out even better than expected. Top marks for great location on small hill with great views, good Japanese tatami style, staff helpfulness and ... not one but 3 Onsen baths to choose from for late evening open air views of the city or morning re-invigoration before the most stylish and delicious Japanese breakfasts we have ever enjoyed, in a Kimono! Takayama is a joy to explore by foot or on rental cycle and the nearby Folk Village has wonderful wooden houses in a lovely setting to help you imagine the old Japan, with shoji, stoves and beautifully framed views of the trees. We definitely hope to return and see more of the Japanese 'Alps' and enjoy another stay at Hagi Takayami on the hill.

Room Tip: Either side is good - both have good views of town and mountains. Top floor probably best. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our stay was from Feb 15 2013. Thanks to Japanese Guest Houses, our reservations at Hagi Takayama were all taken care of. They arranged our shuttle pick up at 3.05pm (pick up is just outside the Washington Hotel, across the road on the right side, from the Takayama Station). Its about a 15min ride.

The ryokan has lovely views of the landscape because its located higher up on a hill. We were treated to beautiful snowy scenes from the large windows around the ryokan, as well as from our 16tatami mat room balcony on the 3rd floor. The whole place is very clean and cozy.

We would like to say a special thank you to Mr. Hiroshi Kawabe for his attentive & helpful service throughout our 5 night stay.

MEALS
Good kaiseki dinners with portions that were just nice for both of us. Tender slices of Hida beef.
Our meals were in the restaurant where great and friendly staff attended to the guests. When we were there during the winter, the latest dinner time was at 7pm. The cuisine was a good selection with very fresh ingredients and they changed the dishes every night for us, which was great.

Breakfast is between 7am-8.30am (that means it ends at 8.30am altho one can sit around for a while till about 8.45am). We are not used to having breakfast so early, but on hindsight it was good to have a much longer day ahead of us if we ate at 7.50am.. Again, very thoughtful of them to change the main dishes during our stay eg it was nice to have 2fried eggs with ham on our 3rd morning.

Breakfast is semi buffet – each of us had our own personal tray of special items and we could also help ourselves to the free flow of beverages, croquettes, salad, porridge etc at the side table.

ONSEN
1. They have a public INDOOR onsen with lovely views on the 4th floor (6am – 9.30am is for men, 3pm – midnight is for ladies). Interesting wall designs in the wash area.

On the same 4th floor is a private onsen bath where reservation and charge is needed. Morning 6am-9.45am are for the men and afternoon 4pm – 11.45pm are for the ladies. We didn’t try it so no comments.

There are another 2 public indoor & attached outdoor onsens near the annex – a short walkway from the ground floor (or a quick dash in the freezing cold). Each bath is interchanged between men and ladies daily. Morning times are 6am-9.30am & 3pm-midnight. We really enjoyed the outdoor rock pool esp with the snowy view.

The dressing rooms in the onsens have a very good selection of toiletries.

SIGHTS
As it was snowing and pretty cold most of the days (around -5 degrees C to 10 degrees C) we were more than contented to stay in, relax, catch up on all our reading, soak in the onsen early, just enjoying the accommodation. The views from the large window panes were lovely.

We did visit the Night illumination of the Hida Folk Museum – blessed with nice clear sky that night – it was an enjoyable outing. The ryokan has its own shuttle that took us there at 7.30pm and fetched us back at 8.20pm.

Pros: High on a hill with lovely views from their large windows. Everything was great for us and we will definitely return again.

Lovely snowy landscapes in winter but a little too cold for strolling. So it depends what you are looking for. This season is great for us because we just want to rest and relax and get away from the noise and hustle bustle back home.

Cons: Its too far to walk down to the little streets. So you will have to depend on the morning shuttle to get down to the little city for your strolls (last shuttle 10am). The afternoon shuttle starts at 3.05pm. In between, you will need to take a taxi.

TIPS: If you are planning on taking a train to Takayama – take note if travelling on a weekend. We came directly from the International airport in Nagoya to Nagoya station on a Friday morning (Feb 15).

Our SIA flight from Singapore landed at 8.30am. We cleared customs and immigration quickly and caught the Sky Express train at 9:07am to Nagoya station.

We reached the Nagoya Train Reservation Ticketing counter at 10.05am and managed to catch the 10:47am Limited Express Wide Hida View to Takayama.

If we had not caught the 10:47am train, we would have had a very very long wait for the 4th train, arriving at Takayama very very late. That’s because the next 3 trains after ours were fully booked.

We arrived Takayama at 1:10pm. The scenery (later half) from the train windows during the journey are pretty scenic. We had lunch at a quaint soba/ramen shop opp the street (get a map from the Tourist Information office just outside the Takayama station).

On our return journey from Nagoya station to the airport – Our flights was 10.30am and we caught the 7:20am Sky Express.

Its really worth paying a little more for the Sky Express train. We noticed that the other trains and platforms were pretty packed by 7.15am.

Room Tip: We had a room with the city view - very open wide views to the mts afar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank traveljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is Ryokan, huge, clean with all the beauties of Ryokans. GREAT ONSEN. Super clean. Breakfast included. Great price and amazing attention. Amazing views. A little far from the town if it's snowing and you want to walk down. The English manager Yuki was so sweet! If I ever go to Takayama, will go there again for sure! Loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paolilla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked as a package with ANA flights, so it was quite cheap. The hotel is located on the mountain but there is a shuttle bus from hotel to Takayama JR station which you can get off at the morning market if you want. You also could use taxi if you arrive after 9 pm, the price was 880 yen for me (from JR station). There were outdoor onsens in another building that were very great, and one onsen at the top floor with nice view. They also have private onsen for couples or families with additional fee.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toeinoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Brought my family to Takayama to experience a traditional Japanese Inn (Ryokan).

Hagi Takayama is a modern Ryokan. All the modern conveniences (TV, private bathroom, ref) but room has tatami (woven mat) floor and paper walls. They give you a Yukata (summer version of a kimono) and you can pretend to be a samurai noble all day. The Ryokan sits on a hill overlooking Takayama village which has an area where the old Japanese houses were preserved.

For dinner, they have different sets to choose from. I recommend going for the Shabu-shabu plan where they serve your meal in your room. A waitress comes in and sets a table as if it were a work of art. We extended dinner with Hida Beef which is one of the best steaks we ever had.

You can bring with you a bottle of wine which you may get from duty free coming in. Groceries, surprisingly have cheap wines, too. The room has a ref so you can stow some sake and snacks you may get in the town's morning market which runs mornings near the river. Handicrafts, snacks, beverages, and whatnots are on sale, fleamarket style.

The place has onsens (hot Japanese baths) both indoor and outdoor. You can rent a private bath for an hour or go to the public (for hotel guests) ones for free. I like the public ones because it is ourdoors and you immerse in a hot water pond made from boulders. Nothing like a 40-50 degree tub to get you to wind down at the end of the day.

At night, They convert your room into a bedroom. A gentleman and a lady come in and haul out the futons from a closet and lay it out on the tatami floor.

Room Tip: Get a room at the annex. I think they have better views of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geodino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 186 in Takayama
490 reviews
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#11 of 186 in Takayama
836 reviews
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 186 in Takayama
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hoshokaku
Hoshokaku
#19 of 186 in Takayama
178 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Takayama Green Hotel
Takayama Green Hotel
#13 of 186 in Takayama
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takayama Kanko Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takayama Kanko Hotel

Address: 280 Hachimanmachi, Takayama 506-0852, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 186 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Price Range: $117 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Takayama Kanko Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Takayama Kanko Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing