We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$43
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$51
View deal
FindHotel
$41
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/21
Booking.com$49
Hotels.com$43
Agoda.com$67
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveler rating
70
251
170
27
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
70
251
170
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family mart great location economy twin the bus old town single room convenience store the ground floor hotel is located non smoking basic amenities tourist spots booked this hotel jr station english heater
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 540 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

An average hotel with very small rooms. Rooms look old albeit clean. Location is good as it is just across the Takayama station and walking distance to most tourist attractions. Family Mart is downstairs.
Hotel will suffice is you are planning to catch a few zzzs after a whole day out sight seeing and if you only care about location.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudirmanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What u shd expect: just opposite of train station! Family mart downstair v convenient! V clean. But room is v small (it's japan). Walking to town takes several mins. Overall was a good, will stay again for next visit to tagayama.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKKBoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was travelling with a friend and chose this place amongst other similar competitors because of its laundromat (washer and dryer) - often an important feature during a visit to japan when you don't have time to wait for things to dry! The room itself was tiny - but that in itself is a japan experience, as long as you're not anxious to open your luggage a lot. it's the common tiny pre-fab bathroom, a TV and LAN modem mounted on the shelf (bring your own network cable). i could have done without the odour of cigarette smoke, however. not unusual to japan, but others have separate non-smoking rooms so you don't have the smell of past occupants. The staff were polite and nice, like in many parts of japan. There are two free internet terminals in the lobby and a host of tourist brochures. The true standout, however, is the location.

It's a very business oriented hotel - several work crews were put up by their company when we were there - so as long as you understand that, it's an ideal spot for an overnight stay given it's across the road from the station.

It's about 10 minutes walk from Takayama's old town (it's main tourist attraction if you don't count the Hida village - which we skipped as we'd just been to Shirakawago).

Room tip: See if you can get a non-smoking room that you can check first.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The positive was the location: right across from the train station. Unfortunately, there is not much more positive to say about the place: the room was extremely small, which in a way is expected from a japanese hotel in this price range, but there was barely room for our luggage. The worst part was however the overall standard of the room: The carpet was filthy, the walls were stained, and the bed spreads were stained and greasy. Also, small flies and spiders were our room mates, - we never found out from where they came (did not dare to look under the bed).
The bathroom was the modular type and ok standard, except from the ventilation which was very dirty.
Internet was not available in the room, but PC's were available free of charge in the lobby. Coin operated laundry as well as a massage chair were also available. Breakfast was available for an additional charge in a small cafeteria on the ground floor, but we did not test the quality of this.
Overall, a cheap hotel, but not a nice one!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelToMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel as we could not book the previous one we had. It is directly across from Takayama train station and made walking to all the local attractions and restaurants really easy.
As stated the rooms are very small, clean and inexpensive.
The staff were friendly and attentive. I would recommend this hotel due to its location.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki64Queensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews