We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveler rating
244
78
11
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
78
11
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern building sister restaurant tatami mats chose this place based royal suite old town steak dinner train station personal attendant entire stay japanese dinner sushi lady boss japanese socks wearing slippers matcha tea kaiseki meal
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 341 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2015

....from the pick up at the station with my name on the board to the personalized service when i entered this ryokan was amazing . The breakfast and dinner was fantastic , some of my favorite food i have had in Japan . I even want to the hot springs across the street and had a facial and full body oil massage . I think i fell asleep it was so relaxing . the location is fantastic . I walked down the street from the INN to a local sandwich shop and went shopping in a few of the local stores . There were so many choices around the INN . The location is great if you enjoy exploring as everything is within walking distance from this ryokan .There is even a shop on the 1st floor of the INN .
On the morning of checkout they drove my back to the train station . This was 1st Class Service !

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EatPrayTravel2426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2015

We loved our stay here and the fact that it was a traditional Ryokan but with some home comforts ie wifi and bathroom within the room. If you're in Japan you have to stay at least one night in a Ryokan and I would certainly recommend this one. Meals were included within our package and the food was delicious! We were also well looked after by (Yono??) who is a lovely sweet young lady and out of the 5 hotels we stayed in whilst being in Japan, this was the best experience!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SammyLondon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2015

Directions - Exit Takayama Station, turn right, cross the road at the traffic light, walk all the way straight and turn right (cross the road at the traffic light; there's a pretty western looking shop selling steak at the traffic junction) before the river bridge. Continue to walk down a little and you will see Honjinhiranoya on your right hand side.

Plus point - There is welcome tea as and when you return to the ryokan. You can arrange for them to send you off to Takayama station. This ryokan has personal bathroom and washroom. It snowed the day I left the ryokan (I went during Spring) - it was a pretty sight from your ryokan.

Could have been better : You have to pay for the additional drinks during breakfast/dinner. Food, in my opinion was okay but portion could have been bigger. You have to pay additional bath tax even if you didn't use their onsen. Anyway, people with tattoos are not allowed to use the onsen.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gnowkeenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2015

Of all the ryokans, large and small, from Kyushu to Hokkaido, I had stayed in, this ryokan must rate one of the best. Despite being members of a group of 18, we were given excellent service. Amenities include even a selection of socks to choose from. Meals were served in a large private room, almost like a hall. Breakfasts, choice of Japanese or international, were served individually to us. During a dinner, we had some vegetable dishes cooked on the spot, the staff put on a folk dance and there was even a demonstration of mochi pounding with us participating. The lady boss was there most of the time to ensure a good experience for us. Indeed, we had!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeezeetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2015

I agree with some other reviewers, one should not expect the usual 5* hotel facilities when staying at this ryokan (or most ryokan).

Pros: Centralized location, clean and comfortable room, pick up and drop off service from JR Station, good kaiseki dinner but what impressed me most was how far the staff would go to deliver great service: 1. My mom had a really bad flu and one of the staff accompanied us to the pharmacist and helped us with the translation, 2. I went to walk around the hotel with my siblings in the evening, it was drizzling that evening and our shoes got wet with some dirt sticking on them, the next morning, they were clean and dry!

Cons: The towel was a bit thin for me

Conclusion: I highly recommend this Ryokan to anyone who is planning to visit Takayama

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubblegirl2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
本陣平野屋, オーナー at Honjin Hiranoya Kachoan, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2015
Google Translation

先日はありがとうございました。
私たちの旅館の良いところをほめてくださり心から御礼申し上げます。
もっともっと努力いたします。
     おかみ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews