We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Reception from the Ryokan!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hodakaso Yamanoiori
Ranked #34 of 186 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I upgraded the package from a simple room to a package that is available just for the ladies (come with 1 free ice-cream, breakfast and dinner and choice of yukata to wear during your stay). Love it! Felt so welcome as the main board on the entrance would have your name, and at same time, they have designated shoe spaces for your boots too! Stayed in room 101. Food was wonderful and plentiful too! The staff were ever attentive, polite and accommodative too. The public bath at level 1 was really abit old with water dripping from the ceiling but soaking in the hot water was really refresh your day. Location was wonderful with walking distance to the Morning Market / JR Takayama Station / Sanmachi Old Street.

Occasionally 'toilet' smell from the pipes within the room but if you close the door to the main entrance of the room, you would not smell it at all!

Room Tip: Learning Japanese to communicate with the staff would enhance your stay even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fm_usagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 234 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had two nights here and were quite happy. Nice and handy to the station which is a big bonus when you are walking through the snow which by the way we loved. The front entry covered in a fresh layer of snow looked so good and welcoming. The staff at reception were ok but seemed a bit stressed especially when a very rude tour guide arrived just after us and demanded their full attention. The room was neat and tidy and functional and we enjoyed the baths each morning and night of our stay. We had breakfast there each morning which was Japanese and very nice and served by nice friendly ladies in traditional garb. We never had dinner there which you had to book for and we noticed it was very busy each night. We found a great restaurant nearby called Marasaki which was excellent and we ate there both nights.
We enjoyed our stay at this very traditional Ryokan and would stay there again when visiting the very interesting town of Takayama.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Its hard to find initially tucked down a small street but only 5 minutes walk from the station. Like any typical Japanese guesthouse you have to take off your shoes at the lobby entrance and put on a pair of slippers. Management dont speak English but get by with a series of prompt cards in English which is a good idea. Our room was typical Japanese-- twin beds on the floor but these were not futons almost a cross between Japanese and Western. Reasonably comfortable. You get 2 pillows, one very hard and the other very soft. If you are tall , anything over 5 foot 9 in the old language then watch out you dont take the top of your head off with the low ceiling panels. Bathroom is OK. You get a fridge and a small TV which is no good if you dont speak Japanese. One big disappointment for us was no kettle. You get a thermos / urn of hot water, it keeps hot for a while but when empty or cools off you have to go downstairs to the kitchen and get it refilled. The place is very noisy. The downstairs eating room doubles as a restaurant for the locals and is busy, noisy and smoky. We requested a no smoking room which we got but cooking odours and cigarette smoke vents upstairs to the accomodation area. Very unpleasant.
The place as a whole is old and somewhat rundown. It resembles more of a backpackers than a viable hotel option. You should look for other options in town. It wasnt cheap at 9500 Y / night and thats with no meals included. My wife and I are not overly fussy but we thought the place was very ordinary. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I left my suitcase at the lobby since the check in was strictly 4pm. The only strange thing occurred to me was my arrival was pretty early at 11am but i found no one willing to attend to me as i called up the staffs and knocked on the reception desk upon arrival. I speak Japanese so i thought i could receive a more warm reception as i saw from others' postings here the staffs were mostly elderly and speak very little English. No one was manning the counter when i arrived but after 10min feeling bewildered, a big mid age woman came and quickly do the neccessary.
Location wise was very convenient since it is just 200m or less from the Takayama train station. Turn left as you exit the station till you reach a traffic light. Cross the road and head right immediately. Walk about 100m you will see a signage West Kokubun at another traffic light in front of you. Turn left and walk another 50-60m. The ryokan is on your left.
Room was basic but warm on an extremely cold Takayama winter. It was below freezing point outside but the heater was really warm inside the room. There is a small little garden in the middle of the room providing great views. Nice complimentary snacks and tea provided for guests.
Had a great stay in Hodakasoyamaori

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We love our stay at Hodakaso!

Great location - about 5-8 minutes walk from Takayama Station, tucked away in a small street.

Great service - smiles all around, even though they speak little English it didn't matter. Very kind and showed us to our room.

Great ryokan - the lobby is nice and neat with some spaces to sit, there is a small area where you can sit and chill, there is a restaurant for the dinner/breakfast package, and of course the public bath for men & women separated. A great place.

AWESOME room - our room was huge compared to all the other Japanese hotels (but this is a ryokan, so of course), there is a little area where you can sit (2 people) with hot water, green tea and snacks prepared, overlooking a very nice little Japanese garden, our own private one too! It was snowing that day, so just sitting and watching the snowfall was... beautiful. The bathroom has a small but deep bath tub that you can make into your own little "onsen". We love the room, love the yukata provided, and it was winter but we were warm enough with the heating and AC (but yes, the rest of the room gets really cold, only the sleeping area will be warm).

Reasonable price - we chose a room with our own private bath and toilet, and chose to include the breakfast option. We paid about AU$120 per room for the night. Considering the full Japanese breakfast treat and the size of the room and location of the place, I'd say that's a very reasonable price indeed. Our most expensive stay in Japan, but worth every penny!

Mind you, it is our first ryokan experience, but I would definitely return if we do visit Takayama again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemisslooksee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed one night at the ryokan Hodakaso Yamanoiori, and we had a contrasted experience. It was nice to stay in a place with a local Japanese touch, and location and service were quite good. However we cannot help but mention that the room was only partially heated (in particular, in our room, the bathroom and shower were not) and with the cold temperatures we experienced, it was a bit of a pain! On the other hand, we can imagine that in spring and fall, this part of the room, which opens on a small indoor patio, must be really nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Location: Fantastic location. It's only a 5 - 8 mins walking distance from Takayama station. The Nohi bus terminal to Shirakawago and Kanazawa is just beside the Takayama station. It is located in the centre of Takayama, you can walk to most major tourist spots easily.

Room: I choose a Japanese futon bedroom. It's big. The toilet and bathroom is separated from the bedroom and because of this, the air from the heater (in the bedroom) cannot reach another side. This makes the toilet and bathroom very cold.

Staff: Most of them are at least 40 or maybe 50 years old. They can only speak minimal English. I asked the pocket wifi company to send the device to Hodakaso as I had no time to collect it from airport. I wrote a few emails (Japanese and English) to Hodakaso and no reply from them at all. End up I asked booking.com to pass my message to them.

Dining: We opt for half board option. We love the dinner and traditional japanese breakfast so much. It's delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iva I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 186 in Takayama
557 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Country Hotel Takayama
#18 of 186 in Takayama
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takayama Station
Ryokan Murayama
Ryokan Murayama
#25 of 186 in Takayama
154 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hoshokaku
Hoshokaku
#19 of 186 in Takayama
178 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#2 of 186 in Takayama
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodakaso Yamanoiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodakaso Yamanoiori

Address: 1-58 Hatsudamachi, Takayama 506-0008, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Takayama
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
Price Range: $57 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodakaso Yamanoiori 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hodakaso Yamanoiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodakaso Yamanoiori Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing