We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ZenHotels.com
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
76
105
51
23
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
76
105
51
23
13
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 268 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great ryokan located just about 5 mins from the Takayama station (via bus or train). Great shopping (old street) and temples all just within walking distance. Great service and the best hida beef served during dinner.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoshihiko88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This smallish onsen hotel was a five minute walk from Takayama station and reasonably priced at 4500 yen including breakfast: we had the Japanese style breakfast, which is essentially unlimited miso soup and rice, an egg, and a primitive-style miso-and-onion grilled on a leaf. There is also a western breakfast, and a Hida beef dinner is an option for a substantial extra charge. The staff are very friendly and some speak English; the place seems to attract many foreigners (though that is true of Takayama in general). There is a smallish, clean public bath with slightly sulfurous hot spring water. Our room was Japanese style with futons on top of a folding mattress pad; unfortunately the futon was quite thin and the segments of mattress pad did not come together to make a very flat surface, so I found the result rather painful (though my wife wasn't bothered).

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrippyEdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

It is true that the property is NOT brand spanking new, but it is incredibly clean and run by the most genuinely nice people who will accommodate your every request. Our room was sort of a mix of a japanese/western room and was airy and clean. We were welcome with warm green tea (pretty standard in ryokans and hotels) but also the traditional japanese sweets, which kept appearing in our fridge every afternoon after we would come back from sightseeing. Very centrally located to the train station, so you don't have to lug your luggage up the hill or far into town. Might not be as atmospheric as staying by the temples, but this is an easy walk to the morning markets, traditionally preserved streets, as well as the temples. It is a great value for what you get, especially if you consider the delicious breakfast (definitely do the japanese vs. western) you get every morning.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greengabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Over 3 trips to Japan, increasing my accom. spend each time (no longer hostel budget), I finally opted for a genuine ryokan, that seemed reasonably priced! I got it right! This place is definitely a bit dated, but I wasn't looking for 5 star polish...rustic suits me. I was travelling with my 70+yo parents and wanted to give them a bit of a genuine experience and this place did that! When they say it is 5 minutes walk from the station...they are correct...even slow! The staff were great - helpful, observant...giving help where they saw it was needed without being asked. Their English was adequate, but my little bit of Japanese did help...even if only to show thanks and clarify our understandings. We were given 2 suites of rooms-amazing! An 8 tatami suite and a 10....each suite with a small sitting verandah with view(even if only a tree), separate basin, toilet and bathing area (Japanese style shower + deep bath). Meals were amazing, with assistance given when needed such as the process of preparing shabu-shabu and baking on magnolia leaf. The onsen was internal but I didn't get time to try it as we spent a lot of time aroung Takayama.....a great place!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We travel to Japan from 1st May and left on 14th May, staying 6 different hotel and ryokan during our trip.

JTB Malaysia assisted us to book this Ryokan, Hodakaso Yama-no Iori. Oh My God!! A totally splendid and unforgetable experience. In my 14 days of Japan trip, I could not forget abt the food in this ryokan, the friendliness of all Ojisama and Obasama from reception til the dining hall.

The moment we step into the Ryokan main door, we saw our name and a few names of other guest: Welcome xxxxxx.

The Ojisama in reception, even though not savy in english, helps us in every way he can, to explain the interesting place in Takayama, walking distance, time required and etc for us. In fact, we do not have high expectation on Japanese to be able to converse in English fluently. Before we head to Takayama, the hospitality of the Japanese in Tokyo had proven to us that they do not need fantastic english to answer our questions, especially in terms of asking for directions. We have met many Japanese, who lead us to the destination we wanted to head to.

The obasama in kitchen, as well as the one who give us brief introduction about the hotel, are all soo friendly. During our dining, they will come to check with us every now and then, to ensure the meat does not overcooked, the heat of hot stone is not too strong, miso soup is well done, rice is sufficient, and etc.

My god, the dinner served, is the best japanese meal that I have ever tried. The dinner, which consist of thinly cut Hida beef, beef cutlets, vegetables, udons/soba, sashimi, salad, sweet sake as appetizer, miso soup, cold dish and desserts, were very very delicious. The thinly cut hida beef, grilled on hot stone for less than 1 minute on each side, mixed with the special sauce, melt in mouth. Superb!!!

The room was clean, traditionally decorated. We stayed in room 201, it might not have very nice view from the window, but who cares, this is the traditional feeling that my husband and I wanted.

We are planning to visit Japan again, next year, we will sure visit Takayama and Shirakawago, again, and for sure we will stay in this hotel, again.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joebaby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews