We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
30
85
29
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
30
85
29
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river west spray yukata taxi tour lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 152 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2018

Because of my condition a Non-smoking room is essential and the reservation staff were made aware of this fact. Despite this, even though I was staying in this property 4 days, upon check-in I was given a smoking room on a smoking floor anyway. Despite the sprays, the cigarette stench was noticeable on the couch, balcony drapes and carpet.
I had to ask to be moved to a Non-smoking room, and they complied, but moved me to a much smaller(and cheaper) room on a lower level at the back of the hotel.
The glass of the windows was matted over and could not be opened. There was a warning of insects entering the room if the windows were opened.
The carpet in this room was also quite dirty, and could have used a serious cleaning.

The hotel's French restaurant does not allow its guests(diners) to wear traditional Japanese kimono, but asks them to wear the yukata in the breakfast room, although this is not being enforced.

There is a free shuttle to the two main train stations, but I was never informed of this. Therefore I had to needlessly waste 1000's JPY on taxi fares.
Staff in the lobby café are nice.
Hotel is pretentious and essentially offers the same service as any other lower-priced hotel, although its rooms are bigger.

Room tip: The smoking room had a nice city view but no view at all in the Non-smoking room.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johannes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

The Japanese Style room was very spacious. It was quite comfortable sleeping on tatami. There was also a sofa on which you could sit and enjoy the view of the river. The Japanese set dinner was delicious too, even though I thought it was too much. The breakfast was decent too, they provide Japanese and Western style breakfast. However, I thought it was quite difficult to get to various place by foot (well if you don’t intend to take any transportation).

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Duc4sse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

very good location and service, precious onse, comfortable and large rooms and a marvelous SPA area, local product shop. Very clean and calm rooms, well isolated. very friendly and helpful reception. Different restaurants of high quality and stylefull atmosphere.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank pelzstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Upon entering this hotel, for a split second I felt like entering a Stalinist building somewhere in the old Soviet Union. Polished marble, huge hall and the impression of a somewhat faded glory. Here the comparison ends because the personnel is so exceedingly polite, friendly and ready to help that you are unmistakably in Japan. The rooms are western style with reasonably comfortable beds and your own bathroom. Breakfast is included and buffet-style so you can have a japanese or an occidental one.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Willem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016

We stayed one night in a western style deluxe twin. Arrival and check-in went smoothly. Our corner room had excellent views from the sixth floor of the Nagarawara River. A view of Gifu Castle is also visible. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable, with Japanese Yukatas for sleeping provided, free of charge, as is Wi-Fi. We enjoyed the main bar and the breakfast buffet (included) with both western and traditional food offered. The lobby has a large shop for souvenirs. Staff were very cordial and check-out was flawless.

Room tip: Upper Floor-6th, front side
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wsewell365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews