We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Comfort Hotel Gifu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gifu
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Gifu
London
Level 6 Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 843 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel located close to the Tokaido main line station and one of the more modern hotels in the chain. To get extra room we booked a twin room which included a fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, a range of toiletries, free tea, coffee & orange juice from 3pm ‘till midnight, use of the microwave if you wanted to eat in, washer/dryer to clean your clothes and great internet. Only complaint would relate to the breakfast which didn't ever include all the choices advertised although at last after stays in 4 other Comfort Hotels we did finally get some kiwi fruit. They have an arrangement with the adjacent car park to park your car. Great functional hotel at a very good price

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    69
    27
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
12
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Walnut, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Comfort Gifu but we didn't do a thing in Gifu except eat and sleep. Armed with our JR passes, we daytripped to Kyoto, the Hida region, Nagoya, and Meiji Mura (via Meitetsu Railway - JR pass not valid). This hotel was perfectly located for such activity being right across from the JR station and three blocks from the Meitetsu station. The hotel itself suited us just fine. The reception personnel spoke english well and they honored our request for a non-smoking floor. Our room was about the size you'd expect in a Japanese biz hotel and was kept clean. The free breakfast was adequate, not elaborate, and wore thin only because of the length of our stay and the fact that we had the exact same items at the Comfort Hotel in Hakodate. We originally planned to stay in Nagoya but the establishments near JR Nagoya wanted 30,000 JPY a night, so we ended up paying less than half that amount at Comfort Gifu.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank UnclePaulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in a double room. The hotel is just steps from the JR Gifu station and retail shopping as well as many restaurants and bars. The rooms are small which is typical in Japan and there is no storage. It would be so easy and inexpensive for Japanese hoteliers to simple install shelves in their rooms, but business travelers don't need them apparently. I have never understood how management expects tourists to stay for several days without a dresser, drawers, shelves or even hooks!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlinfoolSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Ours was a twin room, with good layout, at the end of the corridor. We chose a larger (than most) room. The twin beds were double size, each about 1.3 metres wide. I estimate the LCD TV to be 32 inch screen. Internet is free. Hotel has a coin laundrey.
Complimentary breakfast is a buffet style, simple and of good quality, We enjoyed it as we are normally yoghurt, toast and coffee type people for breakfast.
The Comfort Inn is a two minute walk from JR Gifu station. Walking out of the station main entrance, it is to across the road to the left.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StanleyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Walking distance from JR and Meitetsu train stations. Filling breakfast with enough choice for a few days stay. Comfy beds and OK-sized room for an inexpensive hotel. All in all if you are not willing to pay for luxury elsewhere, this is a place to stay. Good value and good location to transport and dining area of Gifu town. We had a nice view of town with the snow-clad mountains in the background from our room window.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PINELights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2006

I stayed here for a few days in May 2005. The room was very small but clean. The staff spoke little english, but this is very common in japan.

The hotel is very close to train station and restaurants. And they provide buffet breakfast. No complain for 9000Yen/night for 2 people.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toronto_CanadaJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 14, 2005

Found this comfortable hotel in Gifu, after looking for accommodation in/or near Nagoya to be able to go to Expo.
The hotel is 20 mins from Nagoya and easy to get to by train.
The hotel is only a 2 minute walk from the Gifu Station and it is easy to walk to using the underpass to get to it (which you can see when you exit from the station).
This place is popular, they have English speaking staff who are delightful and extremely helpful. The room rate include continental b/fast which is really good, particularly the salad they serve.
Gifu has good shops....and if you are into clothing and materials, this is the place to go. Abundant restaurants are nearby.
The rooms are small but not so small that we could not find room to put ou two big heavy cases.
The rate for two nights 198000 JPY or $245.AU.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gifu hotels
Gifu Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Gifu
Gifu Station
Hotel Resol Gifu
Hotel Resol Gifu
#8 of 29 in Gifu
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miyako Hotel Gifu
#2 of 29 in Gifu
242 reviews
Hotel Ilcredo Gifu
#9 of 29 in Gifu
38 reviews
Gifu Station
Gifu Washington Hotel Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gifu

Property: Comfort Hotel Gifu
Address: 6-6 Yoshino-machi, Gifu 500-8844, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Gifu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gifu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gifu 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Gifu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing