We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel, excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton Red

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamilton Red
Ranked #49 of 167 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The room was very clean and new. No view, but that was to be expected, and not a big deal.

All amenities were of a very a high standard, no faults at all.

We had breakfast included both mornings, which was also great, with generous portions and simple delicious food.

The hotel is located near convenience stores and a number of restaurants, and it is only a short walk to the nearest subway station. Location wise, no problems.

The only thing I could suggest that would be an improvement would be if there were computers available so guests could check email or use the internet.

Would certainly stay again, and look forward to visiting Nagoya in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liamjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    45
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
22
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights during our trip in Japan in order to commute to the grand prix. We were thrilled with the hotel. Friendly reception staff who were very helpful, clean and spacious rooms (with proper bathrooms - compared to the port-a-loo ones we've come accross). I haven't got a bad word to say about this hotel and would be back there if we visit nagoya again.

The only confusing thing that you might want to know is that there are two hamiton hotels in nagoya. they are sister hotels- and both have been rebranded recently.

Hamilton Red = the Hamilton hotel
Hamilton Black was the Hamilton Annex Hotel.

We ended up at the wrong one for check in and they were very helpful.

We did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on that. But check in and out htey were more than helpful and they give you an LAN cable for internet if you have a laptop. Free!

All in all, fantastic hotel in a fantastic location. Right inbetween Fushimi station and Sakae so you can commute either way or just walk. Only a 5 min walk or so to Sakae to all the shops (but don't get lost i nthe underground bit - ) and there's a very nice bakery on the main road in sakae with red awning above the door (sorry forgot the name). We also went up the TV Tower which was brilliant. well worth it.

Directions: If you're getting into nagoya station, use the subway to Fushimi station and come out of exit 5. This brings you out onto the main road. Go to the end of the block and take the first left by the softbank shop. Keep straight and after a few blocks you're at hte Hamilton Red. Easy.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LPass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

Hamilton hotel is not one of those high-rise commercial hotels but it was a perfect accommodation for our 5 nights in Nagoya. We found this hotel in Tripadvisor and through the help of a Japanese friend who kindly went through hundreds of reviews on a Japanese travel website and finally recommended Hamilton Hotel to us.

PROs
-For the price we paid, rooms are spacious, modern, super clean, tasteful with big bathroom for a Japanese standard.
-Location is superb. Though a bit walking distance from Fushimi station (3-5 mins), we could easily walk to Sakae (10 mins) for shopping and dinning. We hardly used metro and spent most time walking to and from the hotel.
-Convenient stores were plenty. A big family mart can be spotted right across the hotel. Reputable restaurants are located within 800 meters radius. We literally walked to all our lunches and dinners.
-The front desk was very helpful. Most staff couldnt communicate with us but one male staff could and his English was fluent. He was on duty most of the time, so try to catch him for restaurant recommendations and directions - very informative.
-Free in-room highspeed internet throughout our stay.

CONs:
-Breakfast was not value for money. If you are not fussy, get yourself a quick breakfast from one of the convenient stores. Wide range of choices to choose from.
-Hamilton is a boutique hotel, so dont expect it to be fully facilitated like other five-star hotels.
-NagoyaTaxi was expensive. If you have big luggages, save your energy for those flights of stairs and long walkway at Fushimi station. Otherwise, you must be prepared to pay premium for taxi to and from the airport.

All in all, we were ever so satisfied with our stay. We had a tough time choosing the right hotel for our trip as many of the decent Nagoya hotels out there are either too expensive or too old for our liking. We must also thank the staff for letting us check in at 3pm although we actually paid for the late check-in promotion rate (7pm). If you can read Japanese, try booking with the hotel directly on their Japanese website, they give better rates there and it was worth every penny spent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger_sist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

I stayed at Hamilton Hotel 12-14 Aug 2008, and it was a satisfying stay tho a bit pricey.

(A) Plus
* The rooms are spacious & clean, & decor looks quite new.

* Only short walk to the nearest subway, with 24/7 convenience store just across the road.

(B) Negative
* the price is a bit costly, and we paid slightly higher than the advertised rate (22,000 Yen for 2 nites) due to the O-Bon holiday

* No free internet service at the lobby

hope this helps.

  • Liked — spacious, clean & modern rooms
  • Disliked — the costs compared to the limited facilities
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2006

I arrived very late in Nagoya and have pretty much no idea of where to stay. I headed straight in the direction of the lights to find some dodgy hotels (lets just say they rent rooms for hours and not days) and walked around the city worringly thinking I was gonna end up having to choose between the Hilton or the street. I end up walking down to the city's finantial district and found a very chic hotel called Hamilton in Sakae, Naka-Ku. I entered at around 01:30 and requested a room. The spoke no english whatsoever but kindly took my luggage to the very chic, clean and.. gosh, it just looked like heaven to me under tha cincumstances!. I paid 12.000 yens which is not specially cheap comparing to the hotels I had stayed at in Tokyo (in Ueno, a more traditional part of Tokyo with affordable family-run riokkans) and had a live-saving bath and slept in on of the most confortable beds my bones have met. Next day I left the room rested in a beautiful sunny summer day to find myself in the very vibrant finantial district area and things looked god as I enjoyed a coffee in a cafeteria's terrace.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MissMartinih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Hamilton Black
Hamilton Black
#68 of 167 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Nagoya Station
Hotel Trusty Nagoya
Hotel Trusty Nagoya
#27 of 167 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Princess Garden Hotel
Princess Garden Hotel
#61 of 167 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Nagoya Station
Fushimi Mont-Blanc Hotel
Fushimi Mont-Blanc Hotel
#62 of 167 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Sakae Tokyu REI Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Red

Property: Hamilton Red
Address: 2-7-5 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-0008, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station , Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 167 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Red 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN and Expedia so you can book your Hamilton Red reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Hotel Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing