We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient to Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya
Ranked #54 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient to Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here fir 2 nights as part of a group, chosen for the proximity to the JR station as we were going on a day trip to Toyama and then on to Sakaminato to catch the ferry to Vladivostok. We did not find the city or hotel set up for tourists more of a business hotel. On the Thursday there was a reasonable restaurant in the hotel but this was closed on Friday night and there were not many places to eat nearby other than at the railway station. We had a small room with an outlook onto a small courtyard completely surrounded by high concrete walls, it would have been dark and dingy if we had been spending much time in the room. The bathroom was very small and so cramped, the sink plug was worn out so the universal plug we brought to use in Russia was pressed into service. Interesting walk around the hotel but too far to walk to the Pagoda. Best thing we did was go up to the top floor of the Station/hotel building and have tea seating at a table which looked directly out the window, Nagoya spread out before us, expensive but well worth the experience. As usual in Japanese hotels, slippers and robes and bathroom amenities were included.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are larger and some have small balconies but more traffic noise. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    72
    42
    6
    6
See reviews for
22
10
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Use sakuradori exit but once exited go down staircase right in front and use underground pathway to reach exit nearest to hotel. I think it is exit A1. Once exited A1, you are at a main road, turn right walk pass a few convenient store hotel is on your right. Can use mainroad also once exit from jr cherry exit but dusty and heavy traffic may bother your walk especiallu if you are dragging your luggages with youngs or elderly.
Wifi in room only once you are out of your room you can't access it.
Twin Room is just enough size for luggage and one person walking pathway and toilet is too small in my personal view. But amenities, cleanliness and staff are great!
I send my luggage (in the morning 1day before check out day) using hotel's luggage delivery service costs only RM43 bucks to tokyo hotel sunroute shinjuku. All worth it as it save my strength for continuous travelling. Luggage arrived even before I reach the hotel for check in.
Check out branded shopping LV etc..opposite jr nagoya stn and takashimaya inside the stn since it is within your eyesight. Also when are walking using undergrd pathway as mentioned above when reaching exit A1, look for the yakitori cafe bar that advertise 80yen only per stick of yakitori. It surely fulfill your taste bud for dinner. Spend your lunch time there too as their smooth and chewvy udon and the tasteful teriyaki rice don is 2nd to none for its price. I think it is only yen500-600 per bowl.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YendChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed in this typical Japanese business hotel for a night in March 2013. It is near Nagoya JR station with a 10 min walk with luggage, locates at the main road (which means you can find it very easily).

It is small but the size is okay in Japanese standard actually (bigger than another chain business hotel I stayed in Kanazawa). The lobby looks nice and the room is clean and functional. I booked the hotel at a very reasonable price too.

I recommend Sunroute Hotel to all if you are fine with Jap business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It is very close to Nagoya station, so access to any part of the city is very convenient, as you can get train, bus and cab.
The room have enough space, cannot say spacious but enough space. Has all the regular Japanese standard amenities of hot pot, green tea, dryer etc.
There was a single window with not much view which has also become standard in big cities in Japan.
Bathrooms are again compact, but this has become the standard size in Japan, so cannot complain. They have bathtub and a GREAT shower. Really enjoyed the shower. What was good was the amount of complimentary extra stuff they have supplied in the bathroom was very fulfilling.
Maybe because we were in a group we had a buffet style complimentary breakfast. It had a nice variety and very satisfying. They served the breakfast in the restaurant on the ground floor.
As for the stay it was very pleasant and had no problem.
This is pretty standard place according to Japanese hotel standard and wouldn't mind staying here again.
Nothing that unique and extraordinary compared to other hotels that I have stayed in Nagoya.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superdoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Easy to find and close to Nagoya Station. The hotel itself follows the settings of the other hotels in the Sunroute chain: They are simple, clean, and straightforward no-frills business hotel. Simple check-in and check-out (at the right times).Helpfull staff, speaking good enough English to help you around. This particular Sunroute hotel is still very fresh and holds quite a good standard. Keep in mind that this is NOT a luxury hotel, but a business class hotel. That means no concierge and no room service. As usual in Japan there are lots of vending machines and convinient stores closeby. All rooms have both wired and WI-FI in all rooms and are FREE OF CHARGE. All-in-all a great value for the money you pay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed in a twin room for one night in April. Nice crisp design. Clean room. Foot light underneath the desk but won't affect your sleeping quality. You got everything you need. Cute little water-boiler kept on a pull-out tray. Breakfast cafe OK. Convenient stores near hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

covenient for JP and nagoya metro, not bad biz hotel, small room but cozy.
2 metro stations from night/entertainment area

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
#31 of 163 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu Inn Nagoya Sakuradori
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Mercure Nagoya Cypress
Mercure Nagoya Cypress
#33 of 163 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu Inn Nagoya Ekimae
Nagoya Station
Nishitetsu Inn Nagoyanishiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya
Address: 2-35-24 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya 450-0002, Aichi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing