We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Location, Terrible Guesthouse”

Nagoya Guesthouse Otohaya
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nagoya Guesthouse Otohaya
Ranked #29 of 33 Specialty lodging in Nagoya
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The hostel is overall poor. It is a fair distance from Nagoya Station by foot. The receptionist, was friendly and spoke average English. The room (a private twin) was very basic. It featured uneven wooden flooring, a bunk bed, a gasoline heater, a rocking chair, air conditioning unit and a small balcony. The bunk bed was absolutely awful. It was very hard, as the extremely thin mattress provided was useless. Also, I don't think the sheets had been washed, as it smelt horrible. The room while spacious, has no storage areas like a shelf or table. We stayed on the second level and there was a shared shower on our level and a shared toilet on the level below. The toilet was also terrible. The toilet room smelt and there was no toilet paper. As a result I had to buy tissue from a far away convenience store. The shower looked really bad, hence I didn't use it, although I imagine it wouldn't be good. The hostel is far away from nearly everything. Also, due to it's weird location, there aren't any transport links. There are also hardly any good food places around the area. The best I found was a convenience store and a Mister Donut about 15 minutes by foot. I really don't recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. There are plenty of other options in Nagoya and also places closer to the stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamupdate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 24 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hostel was cheap but not good at all. It was very hot and the air-con was useless. The air-con was only allowed at night. Very few bathrooms and toilets. One bathroom was so bad I could not believe I was in Japan. It was like a third world country. Dirty and everything was broken. Quite far from everything. No real public transport. Had to walk everywhere. It was close to brothels, so if you are a guy, you will get hassled at night. The dorm I stayed in was quite overcrowded. NOT RECOMMENDED!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Umang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for one night, having chosen it for its location. In reality, it is really not that close to the city centre, or JR Nagoya station. If you have a lot of luggage, I would suggest you leave it in a locker at the station and carry the stuff you need here in a day-pack. That is, if you want to come here after what I'm about to say. I've never seen bed bugs before, and when I turned up, and saw a couple of unassuming brown insects on the tatami mat, I simply brushed them away. Fast forward to the next couple of days, when I gradually discovered my arms and legs were covered with 30+ little bite marks. It has been 4 days since I left that hostel, and the itching bites compelled me to search for reviews on this hostel so I can write and warn others of my experience. Good luck!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleMsCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hostel-staff was friendly, and we met some nice people there. The decoration of the guesthouse is awesome. Nevertheless, they really have to work on the hygiene. The bathroom and toilet were dirty and smelled bad. The access to public transport is OK, and you are very close to a shopping street and the Osu-Kannon temple.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrauHumbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The owner and the staffs were not really welcoming. They told the guests to feel free to drink the expired canned drinks in the box on the floor. They never intended to give a hand when I was carrying my 20-kg luggage up their narrow and dim stairs for three flights. The room was so dark that I couldn't even read my guide book to plan for the next day. The bathroom was extremely terrible..dirty and stinks and dark, like it has never been cleaned, and no toilet seat. On top of it, the staff gave me wrong information on buying tickets, which costed me over 4000 yen.
I have had much much better guesthouse experience with even cheaper price. it is definitely my biggest mistake to have stayed here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kanakannna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
Thank 851naotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
1.2 mi away
Glocal Nagoya Hostel, Cafe and Bar
0.9 mi away
Hostel Wasabi Nagoya Ekimae
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse Mado
Guesthouse Mado
#9 of 33 in Nagoya
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Nagoya Travelers Hostel
Nagoya Travelers Hostel
#3 of 33 in Nagoya
50 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cafe Restaurant & Guest House Nishiasahi
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hostel Nico
#12 of 33 in Nagoya
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nagoya Guesthouse Otohaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagoya Guesthouse Otohaya

Address: 3-3-2 Meiekiminami, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya 450-0003, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Specialty lodging in Nagoya
Price Range: $21 - $978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otohaya Guest-House is the oldest running guest-house in Nagoya. In October 2016 it was purchased by a new owner, and is now in the process of a full-renovation to improve both facilities and activities available. Otohaya is welcome to all types of guests, and has both dormitories and private rooms available. Guests are welcome to relax in the common dining area as well as the comfortable `manga room` downstairs. In the commmon areas are board-games, video games, couches, instruments - we are well known for providing a fun and relaxing atmosphere for guests from all around the world. We have japanese and english speaking staff available, as well as tourist information for the surrounding area. Situated in the centre of Nagoya, we are within walking distance of both Nagoya Station and Osu Kannon. If you like, we also have bicycles available for rental - so you can explore Nagoya at your own pace. Nagoya itself is a hub of Japan - sitting on the shinkansen line between Tokyo and Kyoto/Osaka, and also being the main gateway into places such as Takayama, Shirakawa-Go, and Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Nagoya Guesthouse Otohaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing