We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel for its class” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of the b nagoya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
the b nagoya
Ranked #9 of 166 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel for its class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My choice for staying in Nagoya came down to the Chisun or the "b", and I believe I made the right choice with the latter. A friend stayed at the Chisun and said it was too noisy, but we had no such trouble at the "b".

The room at the "b" was clean, and we may have lucked out with a top floor corner, as it came with a view and may have been more spacious than others (judging by other reviews on this site). The location is great, quite close to Sakae Station's underground mall area, and only a few minutes from Nagoya Station on the subway.

The only negative for me was the shower pressure and inconsistent water heat. This may be partially due to being on an upper floor, but I missed the usual hotel-stay pleasure of relaxing under a hot shower--too busy adjusting the temperature.

The breakfast buffet was nothing special, but it filled me up and is worth it if you just want fuel for wandering.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyleazabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your generous comment on the b nagoya.

I was disappointed to hear however about our shower. When Group guests happen to use showers at the same timing, the water pressure and temperature of showers might be affected and temporarily become unstable. I take this opportunity and check showers of all rooms.

Thank you again for your time for the precious review and we look forward to your next stay.


Best regards,
Kunio Saiki
Hotel Manager
the b nagoya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    257
    64
    11
    2
See reviews for
83
78
100
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto,Ont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

the rooms and bathrooms are very small. Good location 5 min walk from EXIT 13 of Sakae station, 2 stations from Nagoya station. It costs around 1200 yen to the hotel from Nagoya ST. There are many Department stores on the other side of the street and many small, good restaurants behind the hotels. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k2vh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at the b nagoya.

Good location is one of our strength and I was delighted to hear that the quality of our staff's service exceeded your expectation.

As for room size, we offer various sizes of rooms from 14m2 to 22m2. Superior Double and Superior Twin rooms are larger rooms so may I recommend you to try these rooms next time.

We look forward to your next visit to Nagoya.


Best regards,
Kunio Saiki
Hotel Manager
the b nagoya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location is very convenient: several department stores are just on the opposite side of the park and 2 blocks from the subway. We arrived by train and took taxi (10 minutes ride) from the station but went back using the subway. Overall I quite enjoyed Nagoya after spending some time in the very touristic Kyoto (we were in Japan during the Sakura season).

The city feels authentic and lively, but it's still relatively compact compared to for example Tokyo.

The hotel itself is pretty standard and it aimed towards business travelers and people who don't aim to spend a lot of time in the hotel. The rooms are quite small and plain. Receptionists spoke pretty fluent English and were very helpful (for example recommended a very good and affordable sushi place nearby).

The lobby was actually quite nice and they offer complimentary drinks and Wi-Fi there. Breakfast was also a positive surprise with decent Japanese and European offering.
We paid around 82 EUR per night and think it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janne_hki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for you for your positive comment on our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Nagoya. Our hotel focuses on providing a comfortable space for our guest to come back and relax during their visit to this fascinating city Nagoya.

We all hope you will come back again and stay with us.
Again, thank you for the time to review the b nagoya.

Best regards,
Kunio Saiki
Hotel Manager
the b nagoya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here end of Sep/early Oct and like many of you I have been reading tripadvisor reviews before going to the hotel to understand what I would be expecting. Certain photos posted left me the impression that the rooms were relatively spacious. However upon arrival, we were given a very compact (Tokyo?) sized hotel room where there is only room to walk and the two beds put together against the wall.

If you're planning to bring a big suitcase for your trip perhaps you may need to request/book a bigger room.

Other than that, the staff were courteous. Although most of their appeared to speak acceptable fluency of English, they might have had trouble interpreting our request and changed our room with our belongings moved without us being informed (a different working cultures I suppose?). It wasn't a big deal for us nor were we upset, but it certainly surprised us a little.

The location is good. It's opposite to many department stores and near to some of the main shopping places and just 2 stops to Nagoya Station. There is a convenience store just downstairs so you will never be starved (we were there during a typhoon!)

Will I stay again? Hmm... gotta think that through.

Room Tip: Non-smokers, make sure you state that you want a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nodnarb0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
齋木 国夫, 支配人 at the b nagoya, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for the time to review the b nagoya.

Our hotel offers 3 types - single, double and twin rooms. One of our hotel's concept is to provide our customers a bed room for comfortable and relaxing sleep, so the size of the bed(s) in guest rooms are all semi-double (W1200mm) or larger ones. This arrangement may result in smaller free area in a room. The sizes of the rooms are on our HP. Please refer to this information for your reference. We would appreciate your understanding. Thank you.

As for the room change arrangement, I sincerely apologize for miscommunication by our staff. We do inform our house guests in advance if our staff is to move their luggage. I have advised all staff to ensure this would not happen again.

Thank you again for your precious comment.


Best regards,
Kunio Saiki
Hotel Manager
the b nagoya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Walking distance of Metro station this business hotel is in a good location. The staff were very helpful with good English. Room very small but clean. The laundry room is very useful if you are on a long trip. The washer/driers can be programmed for a 4 hour cycle allowing you to see the sights of Nagoya. We used the luggage forwarding service throughout Japan, £12 for one medium suitcase, very useful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewan456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
齋木 国夫, 営業ディレクター at the b nagoya, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

All of our b hotels are in good locations offering great access to the most of attractions and restaurants in the area. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the b nagoya.

We provide a variety of services to make your stay comfortable including the laundry room you mentioned, coffee station and internet corner in the lobby etc. And as you highlighted, we also assist to arrange the delivery service (Takkyu-bin) which is now one of the well-received services in Japan among travelers with many/heavy luggage.

We hope you will be back and stay with us again.


Best regards
Y. Saito
on behalf of Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was a guest at The B Nagoya for two nights recently and I was very satisfied with it. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. They staff were very helpful (helped me ship my luggage to Narita and stored some other bags) and spoke English well. The internet service (wired) was fast and effective. The hotel also has a Lawson convenience store in the basement. The Nagoya subway is about 2 blocks away.

The hotel could stand to renovate their bathrooms. I stayed in two different rooms and both of them had pitted sinks in the bathroom...it wasn't a huge issue because the bathrooms were clean but seemed out of place in this otherwise nice hotel.

I would still recommend this hotel. I thought it was a good value in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dls251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

We are pleased you found the hotel suitable for your stay in Nagoya. As you have highlighted, the hotel is only a short walk from the Nagoya subway line that connects directly with the Bullet Train station. The hotel also is ideally located for shopping, dining and entertainment.

We appreciate your feedback on the bathrooms and we are currently working through a plan to refurbish the bathrooms.

Again, thank you for your positive feedback.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at The b Nagoya Hotel on two occasions and we had a fantastic stay.

Good and friendly service, very clean rooms, very comfortable bed, good internet connection (cable, no wifi), free wifi and internet service in the reception area including free tea and coffee, the laundry service (3 washing machines available) was good and cheap too. The offered body soap, shampoo and conditioner were shisheido products (= very good quality).

The hotel is only two subway stations away from Nagoya main train station and 3 minutes away by walk from the subway station „Sakae“. The location was perfect as it was centrally located and close to restaurants and shops.

Of course, the bed and bathroom were small but that's how the hotel rooms are in Japan. ;-)

They offered the nicest bedrooms we’ve seen in our 4 weeks in Japan. Two thumbs up for The b Nagoya Hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view and more day light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank good-vibes-4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya" and thank you for the "two thumbs up"!

We are very pleased you found our hotel to be the best business hotel during your 4 week visit to Japan.

As you have highlighted, the hotel is ideally located in the main shopping, entertainment and dining district of Nagoya. Its also only a short walk to the subway station, 2 stations from the main Nagoya Bullet train station.

Our "b" hotels across Japan offer free internet in the guest rooms (wired) and free wireless internet in the hotel lobbies. We also offer complimentary coffee in all hotel lobbies.

Again, thank you for your great review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Hotel MyStays Nagoya Sakae
Nagoya Station
Nishitetsu Inn Nagoyanishiki
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#7 of 166 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b nagoya

Property: the b nagoya
Address: 4-15-23 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-0008, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nagoya
#7 Best Value Hotel in Nagoya
#15 Business Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b nagoya 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the b Nagoya is ideally located in the downtown area of Sakae facing the leafy Hisaya Street. It is situated in the centre of the business, sightseeing and shopping precincts and is just a few minutes from two major subway stations, Sakae and Yabacho making the hotel ideal for the business or leisure traveler. The 'Lawson' which is located on the first floor of the building is open 24 hours and will make your stay more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and JAPANiCAN so you can book your the b nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Nagoya Hotel Nagoya
b Hotel Nagoya
The b Hotel Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing