We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”
Review of the b nagoya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
the b nagoya
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The access is very ease, about 3 minutes from exit 13 of Sakae station. This exit, doesn´t have an automatic escalator. If you are with heavy luggage, you´ll use another exit with an elevator.
Near you can visit Oasis 21 and TV Tower. You can reach other attractions of the Nagoya city very easily, like Nagoya Castle and Nagoya Port Aquarium. The Nagoya Station is also close to Sakae. If you want to eat, there are several options near the hotel. If you want to go shopping or walk around, Sakae is the best in Nagoya.
The hotel is clean, the breakfast is great, specially the Japanese options. If you don´t like Japanese food there are other options.
The room is small, but everything you need you can find. Free wi-fi is another reason to stay in the hotel.
The only problem, but not a huge problem is that the staff is not fluent in English. But they are very helpful and you have the information you need.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirdstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time review "the b nagoya".

We are glad you found the location convenient and easily accessible from the Subway Station. As you have highlighted, the hotel is located in the Sakae area, and this is the key entertainment, shopping and dining hub of Nagoya.

Beyond the great sites you have mentioned in your review, the hotel sits directly opposite the Matsuzakaya and Mitsukoshi shopping malls.

Thank you for you compliments about the breakfast, and free wireless internet available in the lobby. We also offer complimentary wired internet access in all of our rooms.

Please check our our "b hotels" Facebook page for regular specials just for our Fans.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
There are newer reviews for the b nagoya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 514 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

Recently booked two rooms at the b. We were pleasantly surprised by the location: directly next to the large underground station Sakae. The location was also good for walk to shopping and to Nagoya castle on a brisk sunny day. Please note the small rooms which were fine for us, really what do you need a large room for? Free coffee and tea in the lobby were a plus. Efficient operation with little luxury; however, warm and inviting. The traveler photos here on Tripadvisor are spot-on. We actually walked back to the train station since it was so nice out, maybe too long for many travelers at 30 minutes. Excellent value with special rate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordKelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

We are pleased you found the location ideal for your visit to Nagoya. As you mentioned, the hotel is located in the main shopping, entertainment and dining district of Nagoya city. Also as you highlighted, the hotel is only a short distance from the subway station and this station is two stops to the main Nagoya Shinkansen (Bullet Train) station.

All of our "b hotels" across Japan offer complimentary coffee in the lobby and we are pleased you enjoyed this service.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Clean rooms, clean shower and toilet. Of course really small as most Japanese business hotels. About 5 minutes to get to the subway, so pretty handy, convenience store just up the road (but where isn't there a convenience store in Nagoya?). Good staff, but a bit pricey. Tends to get booked out on weekends so if you are planning on staying then book well ahead.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ururoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

As you have highlighted, the hotel is ideally located nearby the subway station and in the heart of the Sakae business, shopping and entertainment area. This is the ideal location for all activities in Nagoya.

It is true that Saturdays are busy in Nagoya so it is best to book ahead. A great tip for all travelers.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

location is everything, 5 min walk from oasis21, 3 mins walk from Sakae station exit. opposite to a lot of shoppings and department store. street at the back of the hotel has some night area, but major area is about 10 minutes walk. Room is a bit rundown. small as usual, but spacier than NYC standard. an average business hotel room. just acceptable for a 3 star. price is Y7500 at the time. amenities are not fully optioned like the other hotels we stayed offer.

Room Tip: rooms in front has wide street view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tunwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

We are glad you found the location ideal for your stay in Nagoya. As you highlighted, the hotel is a short walk from the subway station and directly opposite to major shopping malls.

Thank you for mentioning the front rooms with great views. These rooms overlook the park and gardens directly in front of the hotel.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Best regards

Clive Murray

Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the the b nagoya. Was terrific value for a room with a king size bed, especially in a business hotel where they're usually not even available. Our only other kings were at the two five star hotels we stayed during our holiday.

The b was in a good location for access to the subway line and the main shopping areas although only steps (that we could find, and lots of them) up out of the subway.

Very strict with their 3pm check-in time but will store your bags and have them waiting in your room when you come back and check-in. Terrific! A free coffee machine in the lobby that you can grab a very decent coffee from. Very nice staff at reception with a very different, more 'casual' manner, very different to the formal manner you get most places.

Comfy bed, TINY bathroom, really good breakfast that if it's not included in your rate you must pay for down at reception and get a voucher.

We stopped in Nagoya specifically to do the Toyota Factory tour and although it was a long trek out there, both the tour and the rest of Nagoya, were well worth the two night stay.

No hesitation in recommending the b nagoya.

If you're in Nagoya on a weekend buy an ECO pass from the ticket machines at stations. Only JPY600 pp for unlimited use of subways and buses, including the tourist loop service. Amazing value.

Room Tip: The king room is worth the tiny amount extra but if you want much more room you have to book a twin
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pandaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

We are pleased you found the king size bed to your liking. It is true that most business style hotels don't offer this type of bedding, but the b nagoya has larger rooms than comparable hotels, thus we are able to offer this option.

As you highlighted, the hotel is minutes walk from the subway station, and major shopping malls are located directly across the road from the hotel.

Again, many business hotels offer a limited style of breakfast, however b nagoya offers a full buffet.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The B Nagoya was OK. I couldn't find directions online, so we got a bit lost getting there. So here are some. From the airport (Chubu) take Mitetsu Chikko line to Kanayama (790 yen) then transfer to the Meijo line (230?) and go a few stops to Sakae. Sakae station is large, take exit 13 and walk straight from the exit, the B Nagoya will be on your left a couple blocks down.

The service here was OK. We encountered one person who spoke English quite well, but if she wasn't working and you had a problem it could be very difficult. The rooms are small, and I wouldn't want to stay for a long time. I wish they provided a dehumidifier for the room like some other hotels because everything seemed to be a little bit damp.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

We appreciate your comments regarding the directions. Our hotel website has these directions, but after your comment, we will review these to ensure they adequately explain the best means to access "the b nagoya" from the airport.

I wish to highlight that dehumidifiers are available upon request by contacting Housekeeping.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The B Nagoya is 2 blocks from Sakae Subway station exit 13. Walk -3 blocks across from the hotel entrance, you will find many restaurants and shops.

The hotel room is standard Japanese business hotel size about 10 sq ft. The beds are on the harder side but still comfortable. Our room was quiet and clean. Housekeeping seems very fast at making up rooms daily. There is tub and shower in the small bathroom. The shampoo, conditioner, and bath soap the hotel provides are very good. Of course, toilet seat warmer/ wash is the standard. Free wired internet access in the room is fast and stable.

We liked taking elevators down to the first floor to by pass all the action in the 2nd floor lobby. There is a Lawson convenient store around the right corner facing the hotel entrance, where you can get quick meals, drinks, and snacks all day.

The B Nagoya is a great value for the location and comfortable stay. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorkeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on "the b nagoya".

We are pleased you found the hotel to your liking and the location superb. Located in the Sakae area of Nagoya, the hotel is centrally placed within walking distance of all major transport options, bars and restaurants and directly opposite the main shopping malls.

Just to clarify the room size, the smallest room is 14m2.

Again, thank you for your positive comments.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Hotel Trusty Nagoya Sakae
#26 of 171 in Nagoya
196 reviews
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Hotel MyStays Nagoya Sakae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#7 of 171 in Nagoya
714 reviews
Nagoya Station
Nishitetsu Inn Nagoyanishiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b nagoya

Address: 4-15-23 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-0008, Aichi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nagoya
#8 Best Value Hotel in Nagoya
#15 Business Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range: $53 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — the b nagoya 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the b Nagoya is ideally located in the downtown area of Sakae facing the leafy Hisaya Street. It is situated in the centre of the business, sightseeing and shopping precincts and is just a few minutes from two major subway stations, Sakae and Yabacho making the hotel ideal for the business or leisure traveler. The 'Lawson' which is located on the first floor of the building is open 24 hours and will make your stay more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your the b nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Nagoya Hotel Nagoya
b Hotel Nagoya
The b Hotel Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing