We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly better class of Japanese business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of the b nagoya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
the b nagoya
Ranked #8 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Slightly better class of Japanese business hotel”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Clean rooms, clean shower and toilet. Of course really small as most Japanese business hotels. About 5 minutes to get to the subway, so pretty handy, convenience store just up the road (but where isn't there a convenience store in Nagoya?). Good staff, but a bit pricey. Tends to get booked out on weekends so if you are planning on staying then book well ahead.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ururoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

As you have highlighted, the hotel is ideally located nearby the subway station and in the heart of the Sakae business, shopping and entertainment area. This is the ideal location for all activities in Nagoya.

It is true that Saturdays are busy in Nagoya so it is best to book ahead. A great tip for all travelers.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    273
    73
    11
    3
See reviews for
95
81
106
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

location is everything, 5 min walk from oasis21, 3 mins walk from Sakae station exit. opposite to a lot of shoppings and department store. street at the back of the hotel has some night area, but major area is about 10 minutes walk. Room is a bit rundown. small as usual, but spacier than NYC standard. an average business hotel room. just acceptable for a 3 star. price is Y7500 at the time. amenities are not fully optioned like the other hotels we stayed offer.

Room Tip: rooms in front has wide street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

We are glad you found the location ideal for your stay in Nagoya. As you highlighted, the hotel is a short walk from the subway station and directly opposite to major shopping malls.

Thank you for mentioning the front rooms with great views. These rooms overlook the park and gardens directly in front of the hotel.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Best regards

Clive Murray

Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the the b nagoya. Was terrific value for a room with a king size bed, especially in a business hotel where they're usually not even available. Our only other kings were at the two five star hotels we stayed during our holiday.

The b was in a good location for access to the subway line and the main shopping areas although only steps (that we could find, and lots of them) up out of the subway.

Very strict with their 3pm check-in time but will store your bags and have them waiting in your room when you come back and check-in. Terrific! A free coffee machine in the lobby that you can grab a very decent coffee from. Very nice staff at reception with a very different, more 'casual' manner, very different to the formal manner you get most places.

Comfy bed, TINY bathroom, really good breakfast that if it's not included in your rate you must pay for down at reception and get a voucher.

We stopped in Nagoya specifically to do the Toyota Factory tour and although it was a long trek out there, both the tour and the rest of Nagoya, were well worth the two night stay.

No hesitation in recommending the b nagoya.

If you're in Nagoya on a weekend buy an ECO pass from the ticket machines at stations. Only JPY600 pp for unlimited use of subways and buses, including the tourist loop service. Amazing value.

Room Tip: The king room is worth the tiny amount extra but if you want much more room you have to book a twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pandaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

We are pleased you found the king size bed to your liking. It is true that most business style hotels don't offer this type of bedding, but the b nagoya has larger rooms than comparable hotels, thus we are able to offer this option.

As you highlighted, the hotel is minutes walk from the subway station, and major shopping malls are located directly across the road from the hotel.

Again, many business hotels offer a limited style of breakfast, however b nagoya offers a full buffet.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The B Nagoya was OK. I couldn't find directions online, so we got a bit lost getting there. So here are some. From the airport (Chubu) take Mitetsu Chikko line to Kanayama (790 yen) then transfer to the Meijo line (230?) and go a few stops to Sakae. Sakae station is large, take exit 13 and walk straight from the exit, the B Nagoya will be on your left a couple blocks down.

The service here was OK. We encountered one person who spoke English quite well, but if she wasn't working and you had a problem it could be very difficult. The rooms are small, and I wouldn't want to stay for a long time. I wish they provided a dehumidifier for the room like some other hotels because everything seemed to be a little bit damp.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

We appreciate your comments regarding the directions. Our hotel website has these directions, but after your comment, we will review these to ensure they adequately explain the best means to access "the b nagoya" from the airport.

I wish to highlight that dehumidifiers are available upon request by contacting Housekeeping.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The B Nagoya is 2 blocks from Sakae Subway station exit 13. Walk -3 blocks across from the hotel entrance, you will find many restaurants and shops.

The hotel room is standard Japanese business hotel size about 10 sq ft. The beds are on the harder side but still comfortable. Our room was quiet and clean. Housekeeping seems very fast at making up rooms daily. There is tub and shower in the small bathroom. The shampoo, conditioner, and bath soap the hotel provides are very good. Of course, toilet seat warmer/ wash is the standard. Free wired internet access in the room is fast and stable.

We liked taking elevators down to the first floor to by pass all the action in the 2nd floor lobby. There is a Lawson convenient store around the right corner facing the hotel entrance, where you can get quick meals, drinks, and snacks all day.

The B Nagoya is a great value for the location and comfortable stay. We will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on "the b nagoya".

We are pleased you found the hotel to your liking and the location superb. Located in the Sakae area of Nagoya, the hotel is centrally placed within walking distance of all major transport options, bars and restaurants and directly opposite the main shopping malls.

Just to clarify the room size, the smallest room is 14m2.

Again, thank you for your positive comments.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed at the B over golden week 2011 while visiting our daughter who lives & works in Nagoya.
The hotel is great value for money with a lovely breakfast and clean rooms with a king size or twin beds. The hotel is in a good central location in Sakae near the underground station. This makes it easy to get around but you are also near all the shops, bars and restaurants.
The reception staff at the B were nice and polite, they didn't speak a huge amount of English but I think they understood quite a bit and we managed to check in, buy breakfast tickets (as we were room only) and get by reasonably well.
The breakfast has a good selection of food. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissants, toast, scrambled egg, fruit juice and coffee and a Japanese selection of dishes as well. Served until 10.00 in the morning, it’s a great way to start the day.
The king size bed was comfortable although it took up most of the room but we didn't spend a lot of time in there. The mini fridge and kettle were also useful.
My only complaint was the lack of a wardrobe and drawers. All we got was an area on the wall with one short rail and a few coat hangers. I suppose if only staying a couple of days this is fine. We took extra hangers so we coped.
The bathroom is small but has everything you need and plenty of supplies which are replenished regularly.
All in all a good place to stay nothing fancy but everything functional and clean at a price that is hard to beat in Nagoya. I would definitely recommend the B and will stay there again when next in town.

Room Tip: Take extra hangers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

As you have mentioned, the hotel is ideally located near all major subway stations and located in the center of the shopping and entertainment districts.

We appreciate your positive words regarding the room and excellent breakfast. "the b nagoya" consistently rates in the top 10 hotels in Nagoya on TripAdvisor.

Again, thank you for your review of "the b nagoya".

Kind regards


Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I really enjoyed the hotel in Sakae area of Nagoya. The hotel is newish and the room was very spacious compared to most business hotels in Japan. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkawa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on "the b nagoya".

We are pleased you found the hotel to your liking.

"the b nagoya" is ideally located in the Sakae district of Nagoya, in the heart of the key, business, entertainment and shopping areas.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Best regards


Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Hotel MyStays Nagoya Sakae
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Nagoya Station
Nishitetsu Inn Nagoyanishiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#7 of 168 in Nagoya
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b nagoya

Property: the b nagoya
Address: 4-15-23 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-0008, Aichi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nagoya
#15 Business Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b nagoya 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the b Nagoya is ideally located in the downtown area of Sakae facing the leafy Hisaya Street. It is situated in the centre of the business, sightseeing and shopping precincts and is just a few minutes from two major subway stations, Sakae and Yabacho making the hotel ideal for the business or leisure traveler. The 'Lawson' which is located on the first floor of the building is open 24 hours and will make your stay more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Rakuten, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your the b nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Nagoya Hotel Nagoya
b Hotel Nagoya
The b Hotel Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing