We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Deserves Some Time”

Toyota Commemorative Museum of Industry and Technology
Ranked #1 of 334 things to do in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This Place Deserves Some Time”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I am usually good for a couple of hours at a museum, but after two and a half hours at this one, I still had lots I wanted to see. Unfortunately, I had to leave at closing time. I thought the museum would be basically an auto museum, but I was mistaken. Much of my time was spent in the textile part of the museum. I have an interest in textiles, so I was delighted to discover how a cotton gin works, what ramie looks like and how it's used, and how cotton gets from the bale to the pillow case. The textile exhibit is massive, and presenters guide you along and invite you to touch and to try things for yourself. Between the textile section and the auto section is the machine tool area, with a casting, forging, and cutting demonstration. The automobile exhibit is amazing, with a detailed assembly line, examples of Toyotas, beginning with the very first model with its classy front grille, and much more. I just didn't have time. Before closing, the museum starts playing Auld Lang Syne. Time to go. Hey! I'd love to go back! It's only 500 yen! Great value for money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    375
    67
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“But Where Are the Cars?”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Toyoda made his name and money in the textile machinery trade so a significant portion of the display is devoted to that. Probably not what people go there expecting to see. Some cars were on display and a range of manufacturing machinery which were accessible by push-button for the visitor to operate. The area of the display which were absent were the experimental prototype ideas. The other great disappointment was the gift shop. Lollies, sweet treats and model cars of many and various makes were in abundance (a few were Toyotas). They sold a couple of T-shirts but not much of anything for a Toyota fan. Not me, my father who has owned nothing but Toyotas since 1976. Not even a monument to the Corolla (world best seller if I'm not wrong).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanderering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toyota, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Okay if you like cars”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A great place to learn about the history of Toyota Motors Corporation but the thing that I found most interesting is the antique cars from all around the word. These cars are just beautiful!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank taopix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great English Tour and Exhibition”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

If it is convenient for you, go on Sunday afternoon at 2 pm for the roughly 90 minute English speaking tour. Our guide spoke perfect English and was very informative. They hit all of the key points of the museum and the best part is that it is included in the 500Y entry fee. This place is really a steal for 500Y and as an engineer, it is a great deeply technical exhibition. This would also be a great place to bring kids.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dmrgt03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very interesting for engineering buffs and children”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This museum features the growth of Toyota as a weaving machine and automobile manufacturer. They have an outstanding hands-on children's section. It was a little to engineering focused for me, but my husband loved it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EdDoc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toyota Commemorative Museum of Industry and Technology also viewed

Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture
 

Been to Toyota Commemorative Museum of Industry and Technology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing